Sharing my Work in Progress in pieces.

in #art6 years ago

Here is the sketch for the key player in my latest large Singularity piece.

july22thumbnail.jpg

I've had such fun sharing my other large piece over time that I've decided to do so with my latest larger piece as well.

I was going to wait until I began the basic underpainting and filling in to share snippets of the work, but realized from sketching and watercolour phase is also fun. I mean I am doing the work on it so why wouldn't I share it with you?

I am finding myself more and more intrigued by the world I have built for this series of paintings.

I truly feel, in many ways, as if I am 'painting a novel' but a sort of open-ended type of story. I remember as a child reading the 'choose your own adventrue' books where they would have three endings and you'd choose by going to the page cooresponding to your choice. Of course I always ended up reading all the endings, but I'd read my first choice First and it was always interesting to see how the various endings turned out.

In many ways the idea that we live our lives in endless strings of possibilities, constantly branching off to different realities that co exist but are unviewable all at once, has a sort of 'choose your own adventure' feel about it.

It's interesting to think of all those 'You' wandering around living different lives because of slight variations in daily choices, like turning left or right or taking that job or not.

But, I digress...

My point here is that I am really enjoying the "visual writing" of this storyline of a post-Singularity world. It's a much more free form way of creating a storyline, without having to work on plot development or story structure, or even character development. Although, I do endless sketches of the characters so in a way, I suppose that is character development.

I have written fiction for myself for fun and did enjoy it, but there is a freedom to this sort of 'writing'. An almost picture book in gallery form.

So, I hope that you will enjoy my various stages of this next work until it is unveiled as a finished piece. It is sometimes even a surprise to me, as along the way I'll make changes and it will spark the idea of a new character or even change the overall theme of the the 'story' in that particular piece.

Here she is with some colour, trying out colour. She might end up with differently coloured skin or maybe even a robotic element in her face, I'm not sure of that yet.
july22watercolour.jpg

Well, I had better get off to my day. It is a busy one. We are having heavy winds, dark skies and some showers today. The garden needs the rain, but not the wind. And I am off to my cottages and to face traffic on a Sunday on the Cape. I'll be glad to be back home, watching the rain and garden through my studio windows or possibly reading the evening away. We shall see.

I hope all of you have a fine Sunday and take a moment to 'imagine' all the 'you' out there living your parallel lives simultaneously with you. The ultimate 'choose your own adventure'.

If you like my work by all means upvote, resteem, and comment. I always appreciate comments.


And check out my other posts, including my latest Singularity painting.


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

@donnadavisart You have received a 100% upvote from @steembyday because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

This piece got a mention on "Twirble Tuesdays" today

Oh amazing. I'm honoured I'll have to check it out. I've been so busy hard to keep up with everyone in the Summer.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I love the detail that has gone into her face and especially the eyes area. I would be very curious to see how she would look if you went with the robotic or mechanical element in her face. Very interesting idea.

I'm having a think on that :)

She is promising so much already @donnadavisart. Love her determined expression and way she looks at viewer! Waiting, waiting...

I thought it'd be fun to share bits of this one from the early sketching and planning stage!

I wish it will be another masterpiece as you always do. It already looks superb.

Oh thank you so much.

the details are amazing!!! really nice work!!

Thanks a lot :)

MOST WELCOME :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55