My Drawing as Advertising Poster in my Singularity World

in #drawing6 years ago

A poster advertising the benefits of the Mechanic with the Oraganic.

july17thumbnail.jpg

A poster I imagined on the walls of my Singularity world before the world quickly changed post Singularity.

july17poster.jpg

I made this with sketches first then digital pen and ink adding the font in photoshop.

The tag line "sing the body electric" is influenced first by Walt Whitman's poem of that name:

I sing the body electric,
The armies of those I love engirth me and I engirth them,
They will not let me off till I go with them, respond to them,
And discorrupt them, and charge them full with the charge of the soul.
...
If any thing is sacred the human body is sacred,
And the glory and sweet of a man is the token of manhood untainted,
And in man or woman a clean, strong, firm-fibred body, is more beautiful than the most beautiful face.

And of course one of my favourite original Twilight Zone episodes also entitled "I sing the body electric" by Ray Bradbury.

It is becoming ever real to me, this imagined post Singularity world. It is a fun place to dwell and walk around a bit. A sort of tourist in my own imaginings. And in so doing I cannot help but consider the world just on that cusp of the Singularity that explodes to create the post Singularity world I love to depict in my paintings.

I think drawings and black and white poster art a good source of study and fun to lay out the advertising that leads to this world.

I hope you all have a lovely day and start picking out the first implant you'd like: be it a memory enhancer, an implanted mobile phone, or perhaps those legs that give you the speed of a cheetah with the look of the supermodel.

If you like my odd world and my artwork please follow me, upvote, share, and by all means comment.


And check out my other posts, including my latest Singularity painting.


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Gosh, I adore the combined retro+future feel to this. Everything right down to the font and (well-inspired) tagline. I could see it in movie adaptation of your world where it keeps the same look, but the model's gaze follows the viewer, and the cogs turn every once in a while.

Ooh, I like the sound of that.

Ohhh, this is great, Donna! Very nice and classy poster. Love all those mechanical gears on her head and body :D.

-upvoted-

It's fun to make the advertising for my imagined world :)

Beautiful post! Definitely you captured a very classical art nouveau vibe with this, @donnadavisart :> But you put your own spin to it, making it a part of your Singularity world ! Love the composition and the stark inking style <3 I love her hair so much <3 <3 <3

Thanks so much @veryspider. I wanted to imagine the sort of advertising that might be tattered and old by the time my singularity ladies arrive on the scene at the stage they are in my my paintings, so I thought it'd be fun to play with some advertising posters. I have another I started awhile back I need to finish in colour.

I would print that poster all lucid laminated and stick it beside my fridge ;)

If I finish my bloody website you could just order it on there, I have to get that done! For now I better put it on society6 at least...work work work :)

O sooo Klimt, so great @donnadavisart, you are good in bW same as in color. Charmed with this one and your personal touch with those metal parts in her hair :)

Thanks, I love klimt! I really keep envisioning all this advertising for my Singularity world in that very Paris 1890s-1900s poster art like Mucha and Klimt inspired a bit, but a tad more scaled down. It's fun to do that's for certain.

So classy and effective. Maybe if ads were more like this today we'd actually buy more products, huh?

I like that all the gear-teeth aren't the same.

I'd need an 'upgrade' to get it exactly straight and even ;)

Donna, there is so much that I want to say but I have to say, simply just WOW. You continue to blow me away with your work. You can see the time and effort that goes into every little detail of your pieces. Then you top it off with a wonderful description.

Thank you @broncofan99 you are so kind. I do spend a lot of time on my art, but often it is joyous though sometimes it is frustration too, but that , to me, adds layers of ME into my work.

Great piece, as always <3
If I had to choose an implant/ prosthetic I'd probably choose to replace my eyes into a better seeing ones(my eyesight is terrible) which would also have a camera of the resolution of a human eye. That would be amazing.

Of course they'd be wifi enabled as well, but you'd probably see a lot more adverts ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56