An Open Letter to You (My Animation Journey)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

22028_10153431454521221_9195638375902665419_n.jpg

Sipping a hot cuppa coffee as I pen this letter down

To Animators, Artists, Steemians

Having been on Steemit for 142 Days, I've come to know many people from various backgrounds. Both coming and going. There are many times just a hi-bye, but also times when new friendships are forged. I enjoy talking to people most often behind the keyboard. As an INTJ, I usually don't mix around much in crowded spaces. Steemit has given me this platform that also allows me to connect with lovely people from all around the world. Whether sharing the same passion or just a good conversation.

To the ends of the earth

When I got on Steemit, all I had on my mind was to share my animation experiences and lessons I've learned to everyone. It was definitely a tough start when I had to work my way up without anyone guiding me. I was blur and didn't know where I was headed. Never heard of #curie, nor #OCD-resteem. All I knew was that I wanted to post something using my expertise. Hence, coming out with a first Steemit 3D Logo for #teammalaysia.

steemit logo(teammalaysia).jpg


Animation does play a big part in my life. I remember the younger years when I watched my first ever animated featured film "Toy Story". I was amazed... That movie was a gamechanger for the animation industry and that was a huge step in progress.

I remember telling my mum,"Mum! One day I want to do that!". Without realizing what 'that' was, I just knew that the passion has been ignited ever since. My parents would rent me those old VCR tapes for our movie nights. Remember the ones where you have to blow at the film strip to clear the dust?

gabriel-petry-249921.jpg

Yips, I love watching 'The little Mermaid', 'Hercules', Hunchback of Notredame" and many other animated films on the VCR. These were the films that involved a lot of traditional animation, drawing pages after pages with a lightbox underneath. Like a flip-book. Nowadays, everything is done on the PC.

Over the years, my passion was distracted by what many people claim it to be "Successful Jobs". My teacher would always tell us this.

"Kids, next time when you grow up, you have to be successful. To be successful, you must either be a doctor, a lawyer, an architect, or an engineer. Nothing else."

This was ingrained in my mind but I later realized that I can't study. I don't like physics, I don't like Mathematics, I don't like to memorize formulas. This wasn't working for me.

Fortunately, my parents were always very supportive of me. I told them that I wanted to study animation, and I would be happy just doing that in my hometown. Animation wasn't a big thing back then and not many universities offered such courses. For Asian countries, sometimes it was looked down upon because you study 'art'.

1404498_10152031784496221_337719137_o (1).jpg

My first digital painting

Pushing aside all the stereotypical mindset, I pursued what I wanted to do. I'm thankful that my family was able to fund my university fees in Kuala Lumpur, the Capital of Malaysia.

Was it tough?

It was, because the creative industry in Malaysia is always being exploited. Animation is still a fairly new medium in Malaysia. So during my university years, I never knew what I was going to do after I graduated. Would there be a job offer? Or should I just probably find another industry to work in.

I would always remind myself of the "Toy Story" that ignited my passion towards animation. So I kept going. And you know what? You should too! From a fellow animator to another, If you really love what you're doing and you believe in it, never give up. As cliche as it may sound, it's true. You should always try to better your skills, it won't take just a day but it's a lifelong learning process.

Everyday be inspired by the things around you

Always give your best in the work that you're doing, no matter what it is! My first few years upon graduating, I was stumped because I was selected to intern with an advertising agency. Back then, my friends all got job offers from animation studios. I was the only one headed towards an advertising agency. Like why?! Everyone would be doing awesome movies and games and I would be doing some shitty ad campaign for clients.

Truth be told, those years working with the advertising company was the best working years of my life! I've learned many soft skills which they don't teach in an animation company. I've learned to deal with clients, to create proposals and pitches, I've learn to manage a small team and to brainstorm ideas. All these things that an animation company wouldn't teach you. I am also glad to have met new people who are now my good friends.

10560433_10154642732465372_4826843491624541137_o.jpg

A bunch of amazing creatives

What I'm trying to say here is, constantly put your best foot forward. Even if you may not like what you're doing now, give your best. It also says a lot about your character.


6 years have passed, and I'm finally doing what I love doing. It is satisfying to see kids who watched my animation on TV laugh and smile. People who actually appreciates my work. The days when I can cheer a crying kid up with one of my slapstick animations on youtube. As I look back and reminisce at the path I've taken. I thank God for putting me there. For the people who've come into my life. Just recently, I've also received good news from my boss. :) But that shall wait.

I aim to continue writing more guides, tutorials and experiences that the animation industry has taught me on Steemit. Recently, I've written a few guides and lessons that you may want to read up too.

Creating your demoreel

Recharge your Passion

Life of every Character

These are just a few and I hope that these posts will benefit you one way or another. I also hope for the best in everything you do. I started off as a nobody, but I'm planning to be a somebody in the animation world.

Love,
zord


Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on my artworks, photography & animations.

I'm also open for

Personalized Steemit Profile Banner,logos & GIFs

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Sketches_Footer.jpg

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.



APP.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your journey and a bit of yourself. Yes it is not easy to the take the less trodden path, but now you are reaping your rewards for daring to follow your dreams.

Being an animator in Japan has always been my dream and was almost going to animation school but I didn't have the funds to do so. Animation and art were also looked down in the Philippines because it didn't have a stable income. In Japan, animation is everywhere but the income is still low. Nonetheless I still dreamed of being one. I had artblock and never drew one line for 3 years and Steemit helped me recover. I almost gave up my dream because I'm not getting any younger but everytime I watch anime, they just keep on reminding me of what I really love. Whether I become an animator by profession or just a hobby, I will be one. This post was very inspiring and you are one of the kind of people that I wanna be as an animator. Looking forward to more animation and inspiring posts. More power to you!!

Whether an animator by profession or not, nvr lose that dream of yours. :) Thank you for the kind words. I wish you continue to post your artwork on Steemit. I have gave you a follow! Hoping to see more great posts from you.

What I'm trying to say here is, constantly put your best foot forward. Even if you may not like what you're doing now, give your best. It also says a lot about your character.

This is so true, and I am glad that you pursued what you truly desired. All the best in the new journey that you are about to embark on with lots of coffee fix! Cannot wait to hear more updates about the good news you've received from your boss. :D

Thank you @heartscally. Now go easy on the bandwidth k? :D

LOLOLOL!!! I will, I will. (I hope)

I am so glad you did pursue your passion and your first digital painting is lovely. Also putting your best foot forward and believing in yourself always pays you well in the long run and that's what it is doing for you now. Great post!

True story! Thank you @sharoonyasir!

wow, what a great story! I decided to read your article because you were so kind to me on #steemitbloggers. You have a very inspiring story and I am happy I found you here on steemit. I know life doesn't always give you the path you want, but know that it usually gives you the path you need. So I am glad you decided to stay positive in life and in the job you didn't intend on having, because being grateful in situations like that will make your life that much better! ;) Thanks for the amazing read!
following

Hey! I'm glad to have met you too through #steemitbloggers. So true. Thank you for dropping by and reading my post. I hope to catch up more with you soon in discord aite.

followed back

I have thought that it was a waste for me to stop doing animation but I realize that I don't specifically enjoy animation, I enjoy creating. Art, music, heck even knitting and crochet! Keep at it man, never waver :)

Thanks! Hehe. I like ur logo design. They're amazing

Aww thanks :)

VCR... Wow! I love watching the Disney cartoon, and most of all the Baja Hitam with my brother.
All the best in everything you do! ❤️💖💗💕🐳

aaa Baja Hitam, I still remember I use to record on VCR cartoons and movies also.

I am new to steemit. Almost same story to mine. 2010 animation is not that popular in my hometown. I enrolled and finished a degree in business. When I meet steemit. I joined contests and it fueled up my motivation to draw again now as a teacher in business administration I wanna enroll myself on short time courses in animation or visual graphics. I believe its not too late for me to do what I love. I feel down cause I can see a lot of good artist here I feel so left behind, but your post really made my day. Please check my artwork I would be happy if you check them out and will love to hear your suggestions. Following you now.

I will check your blog out! Hey don't worry, use this opportunity to be motivated and inspired by the other artists. :) And most importantly just enjoy this journey on Steemit of yours. Gave u a follow.

Thank you so much, I am so happy you noticed me. Trying to be visible on steemit and following artist like you. Steemit is my new facebook now.

Not only are you very talented, but you're also incredibly inspirational. You've inspired me hugely this afternoon! I totally know what you mean about trying to be a creative when your family and your environment aren't totally on board with that. Thank you for sharing this very well written piece. I'm living in KL right now btw :-)

Ohhh thank you! I'm glad that I was able to inspire you in anyway possible. Ohh? Are u working in KL for long? or? If you are, we can meetup and I can intro you to other Steemians

Yes I would love that! I've been here 2 years and i'm actually planning to organise a meet-up in KL soon, especially for those people in Malaysia who are not connected with the #teammalaysia group yet! Would absolutely love your help with this! :-) I was thinking early March or when do you suggest? Also in touch with Bitrocker, but think he's a bit too busy at the moment :-)

Ahhh, Have u joined our #teammalaysia discord yet?

Yes I believe so, but i'm not really using discord tbh

Ahhh, couldn't find you there. It'll be easier if we want to plan for meetups and can chat with you there. What about our #teammalaysia facebook page?

Ok great idea. I'll join the Facebook page. Thanks for the tip :-)

yeaps. I'll talk to you there :)

Great post.

Animation is a really hard discipline to get into and you other post on creating a demo reel is great.

You should consider a post on staying focused.

Thanks for the idea. :) I will think about. Thank you for reading my posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87