DRAWITBETTER CONTEST: Mountain (Move and Improve)

in #drawitbetter7 years ago

"Life is like hiking on the mountains, you will know that you are going up if you're having a hard time in your journey. Remember it's easier to go down. So just keep on moving and pushing." -William Luzadas

The new theme of drawitbetter contest of @sirsensei is about mountains. I feel hesitant to join cause it was like 15 years ago since the last time I draw mountains. I can still remember I just used common crayons that time, thanks to my ever supportive best friend @jacinta.sevilla for motivating me to join the contest. It is my second decent art work when I decided to draw again.

FB_IMG_1516509609919.jpg

I'm not a pro.

Even tho this is one of the my few attempts to use water color as a medium, I did try my best and I am happy of the results, I cant believe I made a good output.

Yes, cheer yourself if you don't think your works are good then how will people think it is also good?

My first attempts this month using water colors.


Here are the materials that I used

  • Water color brush (Flat #8 and Pointed #4)
  • Watercolour pad
  • WaterColor cake (SIMBALION)

Last week I just received my first earnings from my strawberryart. I decided to buy art materials to pursue my passion in arts. I was so thankful to the art supplies shop owner for teaching me which brush and watercolor I should pick. She said water color brushes might be a little expensive than acrylic paint brush cause they are way softer so the paper wont be damaged and to be able to absorb more water. Indeed they feel like make up brush. My first attempt was really bad cause I was using brushes for acrylic paint, they are rough and hard. A water color pad is way better than an ordinary sketch pad you wont have problems in reapplying color and brushing on it.


Water color SELFIE



HERE IS HOW I DRAW IT


Wet your pad
Since I'm trying to create a very light texture, it's best to wet the pad first. Blending colors are way easier it the pad is more moist. I'm using my flat brush, bigger flat brush is way better and faster.



Choosing colors and creating the sky
I made a chart here and I just realized you don't need fifty, hundreds or thousands of color cakes specially for beginners, well actually pro artist even just mix some basic colors to produce the color that they want.


The rule in water color

Start from the lightest color

I used blue for the sky, just a pinch to make it faint lighter. Also brown/raw sienna on the middle part of the pad to make a pale sunset effect.
It is easier to hide some mistakes if you start from lightest to darkest.

Use a pallet to mix colors or it will damage or stain your color cakes like this.

(



❸Paint the mountains


The farthest mountain is the lightest. The peak of the mountains should be the darkest and make a fading effect of color by adding water on your brush.

Opps! Adding white color wont help.

I just found out that it is better to draw by pinning the paper in the wall because it will push down the color from dark alps to lighter color of the mountain's body.

Tip!

Every ridges of mountain should be dried enough so it wont make some smudges while starting to a new set of alps.

Use a hair drier to dry up your colors faster don over do it. Just low heat cause I noticed it will make a some unwanted bent on your pad. So be careful.


Repeat the process of painting the mountains.



❹Details
For the last step I made a half black mountain to give the art piece more like a misty and faint sunset look. Darkest color should be the last, so ye I messed up my my art with this I'm glad it still look decent. Put lesser water to give more saturated and intense color. Also don't worry if you don't have the complete set of brush. Push your brush deeper to make the details bigger and wider and be light on your brush if you want thinner and details. I used my pointed brush on detailing. Just one at a time soon we can build a complete set of brush. The shop owner also told me just buy the brush that you usually use well depends on what kind of painting you regularly do.


Just imagine you are checking papers when doing the grass.



DONE!!!


Special thanks to Ekaterina Smirnova her tutorial really helped me a lot.


You can also check my friends' amazing art works

@jacinta.sevilla

@noellesevilla

@abs-pointilisim

@korinkrafting

@chinitacharmer



You can also check this amazing people

@long888

@birjudanak

@eldzthireb

@g10a

@lebron2016

@mermaidvampire

@surpassinggoogle



Haven't voted for a witness? Vote our supportive witnesses

@steemgigs

@surpassinggoogle



I hope you enjoyed my work. Please comment down if you have some suggestions to make my work better.


Domo Arigatou!


THANK YOU!



Sort:  

Ty for sharing! Very nice methods :)

Wow you are an artist a pro one. Will follow you wanna learn more. I am glad you liked it. Thank you so much.

I love your mountains! The pic has an overall oriental feel. Best of luck Jerl!

Sobrang detailed friend, with vids pa, pinawisan ako magbasa. hehe

Thank you. Im so noob pa compared sayo. I feel honored na ma appreciate mo.

Whachu talkin bout, kagaling nga ng ginawa mo! Weeew, more drawings to come!

Yes more drawings to come

Such amazing drawing :3

Thanks fot being supportive. I'm glad you loved it.

Wow! Another masterpiece from you Fukums! Very nicely done! I hope you get curied again! 😍😍😍 All the best on the contest! 🎉🎊

Hello!
I followed you.
I like your blog so easy to understand.

Thank you. I am glad you liked it.

So amazing! <3

Thanks for giving it some love.

Wow! Nice bae!!!

Thanks bae. :3

Wow this is good! I am also new in watercolor, and I badly want to join the contest! But i don't know if I can still make it huhu

You can still follow @sirsensei he have a lot of contest like almost every week or @jacinta.sevilla

Yes yes followed them both. Thank you

Hi, a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you for your entry & good luck!

Iba jud ang friends ni Jazzy! ♡♡♡ it deserve to curied! Super proud!

Thanks @lebron2016 very supportive. I'm glad to have you. You are good too specially in writting. Im kinda bad at it.

Haha. I'm guilty with that 'coz it's ironic for me. It is you who write so good.❤❤❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54