Woods, Meadow and Lake | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting

in #art6 years ago

Woods meadows and lake final.jpg

Hi dear Steemians! Today I would like to share an artwork of woods, meadow and lake. This artwork was inspired by Lindsey (Thefrugalcrafter). You can view her artwork here. I made my painting a little different compared to her's as I painted some of the areas on my artwork differently especially the trees and mountains.

Tools and Materials

  • A good quality artblock that can absorb water
  • Buncho water colours
  • Paint brushes
  • 2 containers of water (one to mix paint and one to clean brush)
  • A tissue paper - important for lifting technique and to absorb excess paint / water

Step by Step Tutorial

P_20181120_210531_HDR.jpg

First of all, I used the wet-on-wet technique by picking some water using a medium flat brush and brushing it on my paper. Be careful not to apply too much of water. In case you feel that your paper is almost drenched wet, just use a piece of tissue and absorb the excess water. After wetting my paper, I used the same brush and picked up some light blue paint and applied it gently on the wet areas of the paper. It is best to paint it slightly darker than you would like it to be because water colour dries lighter than how it looks when it is wet.

P_20181120_210839_HDR.jpg

Then, I quickly grabbed a piece of tissue paper and lifted some of the paint on certain areas to make clouds. It is completely up to you how you would like your clouds to appear. My personal preference is in clumps of diagonal direction.

P_20181120_211848_HDR.jpg

I switched to a small round brush and painted some blue mountains. This is a flat layer without any dimensions.

P_20181121_003600_HDR.jpg

Before the paint dry, I used my brush to push most of the paint to the left side of the mountains so that I can create some shadows and highlights. Then, I painted some light blue for the lake.

P_20181121_005413_HDR.jpg

I painted the grass textured ground with green. I mixed the dark green, light green and yellow to make different shades of green. I wanted the bottom one third of the painting to be in a vibrant colour so I painted mostly yellow on that area.

P_20181121_012538_HDR.jpg

I used a small flat brush and painted some vertical looking longer grass like parts. Though they do look like long grasses, they are supposed to be the background of what I am going to add next. I mixed some dark blue with the dark green to further emphasize the shadows of this area.

P_20181121_015126_HDR.jpg

Then, once it was dried, I painted some trees in shapes that were close to cones in dark green. In order to make it darker to emphasize on some shadows, I added some dark blue and brown too especially at the bottom areas using a small round brush. I also painted more dilute light blue on the lake area.

1.jpg

I made some strokes using light green on the yellowish green areas of the painting. I did mix some dark green and golden brown here and there to make some parts darker and some warmer as the light green was on the cooler side of the colour wheel. After that, I painted little red and yellow flowers all over the yellowish green area. As you can see on the picture above, I also brushed some water on the middle parts of the lake and brushed most of the paint to the edges of the lake to give the middle parts some highlight. Then, I went back to the trees and added more highlights with a light green as they looked flat before. I also made the shadows darker by adding a tiny bit of black to the dark green and dabbed it here and there.

2.jpg

I was not satisfied with the mountains as they were in a cool blue. So, I wet my small round brush and brushed it on the mountains. Then, I added some dilute black paint on the shadowy area. I also blended out the harsh lines around the mountain by painting a very small amount of water on them. Apart from that, I made some minor adjustments on green part of the background on the tree areas. I used the lifting technique to lift some paint off and added light green to give the background a slight contrast.

3.jpg

My painting is done. Hearts for reading my post so far x

P_20181126_143001_HDR - Copy - Copy.jpg

This is the completed painting. I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and I will be happy if you have learned something out of my tutorial. Thank you for checking it out and sending love and blessings to you x

If you like this post, please upvote and leave your feedback below.

If you would like to see more posts from me, follow me.
Stay tuned! xx

bitmoji-20180407075008.png


Click the Images to View My Recent Posts:

How to Paint a Rose | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Pencils


How to Paint Tokyo City Skyline | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


How to Draw a Realistic Eye | Step by Step Details | Time Lapse Video


How to Paint Fall Trees | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


How to Paint Clematis Flowers | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


How to Paint Monstera Leaves | Step by Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


Sunset Painting | Step-by-Step Tutorial | Water Colour Painting


steem artists.png


Follow me: @yashny

My Dtube Channel: Yashny

About me:

I'm a chill, happy go lucky person. I am a feminist. I love food, art, books, numbers, psychology and occult science. I am in the process of healing and diving into spirituality. I think life is a gift and we should appreciate the little things of life more. Everything that I post is a little piece of my life. I believe that everyone is carrying their own cross, so don't judge anyone and be kind!

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thank you for your support and encouragement
♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Sort:  

Hi there! I am a curator for the You Got Snekked curation project and this is just to let you know that...:

You got SNEKKED! ;)
Expect a certain Snek to come 'round and give you a bite soon ;)

@yougotsnekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 49th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64118.76
ETH 3519.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55