An Art Museum: Somewhere in South Africa

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I locked the car three times- as if that would make it more secure. I then laid my hands on the hood as if I was saying my final goodbyes and with each irresponsible step away from my only asset, insecurity slithered further and further up my leg and over my back until it had wrapped itself around my throat. There was no secure parking just a dusty a street decorated with litter and an overwhelming absence of any other cars, perhaps they knew something I didn't, I thought. But before I could knit my concerns into words, my sister's gentle voice drenched in excitement exclaimed, "I can't wait to experience all the art!"

The Pretoria Art Museum, a dream world where the past and present collide and where reality is re-imagined into its truest form. The Art Museum provides a dwelling for both urban and rural art in the form of paintings, sculptures, graphics, tapestries, photographs and ceramics. I wish my words were big enough or beautiful enough to encapsulate everything I saw but unfortunately, they aren't.

I can show you better than I can tell you:

Sort:  

A fellow Souf Affriken!! Welcome my friend, good luck on here.

With writing and content like that, you're gonna go far!

please feel welcome to contact me if you need any help at all!!

💓💓💓

Thank you so much!!! I just had quick browse at your page and I'm excited to learn more about you and I'll definitely keep in contact!

Yay! That will be awesome 💓

Have you joined discord? There is an awesome channel called Minnow Support Project.

I explain how to join in my post below. It's a great community and there are even two bots that will upvote your posts for you

If you join - tag me in the #general channel me and I will show you the ropes

Check your wallet 😻 I've sent you the 0.002SBD you need to register with the bots

🔽🔽🔽

https://steemit.com/bounties/@princessmewmew/woohoo-hardfork-19-in-my-face-minnows-are-thriving-join-minnow-support-project

Interesting opening (enjoyed the slithering 😎), and those photos are terrific. Die Antwoort as part of someone else's art - fascinating idea.

I was very nervous to say the least but I enjoyed taking in all the art. Die Antwoord's eccentric style make them walking works of art in my opinion :)

I can understand why you were nervous! I really enjoyed the sculptures, by the way. And yes, I suppose Die Antwoord's style does make them walking works of art - performance art, visual art...I'm still working on being able to cope with them as musical artists...call me a melodist....

I like the wooden carving best, 3rd pic down. Checking on you bro, looking good. Resteemed this to share downline.

I enjoyed the reading, and must remark on your verbal picture painting as well. My HS honor's English teachers would have aced you in creative writing... but I bet your's already did.

Keep it up man, in no time, you'll be a rock star here.

Thank you!! Your comments are always the most encouraging. The wooden carving is also one of my favourites.

To be honest for the majority of my schooling I didn't do well in creative writing at all but if you say my writing is good, I'll take your word for it.

Your writing is fantastic man, I actually only spotted one error in the whole thing, and as a former English major (dropout) I tend to notice them. You missed a single comma in the whole piece. And that could merely have been a typo.

Excellent work. Again, the mark of a good writer is painting pictures with words and I saw you park your car and leave it in my head. I felt your feelings about the shabby parking location and could relate from parking in big cities myself, in sketchy locations.

THAT is the goal, and you nailed it.

Welcome to Steemit! You will rock here! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Thanks! Will do :)

Welcome @willy-donz to Steemit. I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

I like the first and third pic. The first reminds me of women wearing high heels

Funny it also reminds me of that :)

Great introduction my friend!! :) welcome to the family

Thank you very much, glad to be here. I can't wait to read your posts

welcome and enjoy!

Awesome art

Yes some of the pieces were so surreal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13