Announcing winners for “fox tales” week #2 and a new story image!

in #art7 years ago (edited)


If you love writing stories then this contest is for you! Write a one paragraph story about the image above and leave your entry in the comment section below. Be creative and think outside of the box! 


Here is last weeks image and winners from week#2! This weeks prize pool has been doubled thanks to @bleedpoet! 🎉 Congratulations to the winners and I hope to read more of your stories!!

1st place // @plushzilla

He gazed into the mirror. First thing he noticed were the curves - right there in the bright bold eyelashes and the full pouting lips. It was a surreal feeling; to most people the idea of an unfamiliar face staring back at you in the mirror stuff of nightmares and horror movies. Yet the face that stared back was beautiful, one that felt more familiar and comfortable but completely foreign to him. Mirrors do not lie; the radiant smile forming from the corner of his mouth adds the final curve to the portrait of a confident young woman.


2nd place // @ryunamist

"She looks so hideous. It's sad." I always knew people talked. But it never stung this much until I was all alone. Two months after I got my surgery, my husband left me. Well, he had already left me the day he saw that crooked nose and overly plumped lip. It was only the paper work and my shattered heart that kept us together until the divorce was finalized. He was never a man who loved, but I didn't know better. People used to say I was beautiful. And yet, he was never satisfied. Maybe he wanted something more, something better than everything he has ever seen. Repulsive, gruesome, ugly are some of the nicest words that reach my ears now. And when I'm all alone, weeping in the corner for hours before I get myself together, I sometimes stare at the mirror at the past me and wish I could be her again.


3rd place // @geenaizzy

She held the little mirror high over her head making sure that she covered her eye in the image with her thumb. Her magic was strong enough to be able to hurt herself if exposed. She stood still and waited for her persecutors to appear behind her. The moment they rounded the corner and discovered her she removed the finger from her reflection. Her eye emitted a laser beam that she aimed at the three men that were trying to chase her down and instantly they were burnt to shreds. She smiled as she stuck the mirror back into her coat pockets and turned around to walk through the ashes back home.

Today was such a crazy day!! I had planned to draw this afternoon but shit literally hit the fan and I was left handling a few personal matters. Things settled down in the evening and I was able to get this image drawn up. I’m a little surprised that I finished because I felt mentally drained. 

Anyway, I thought it would be nice to post some progress images and also point out that I make mistakes quite often. In the image above; I didn’t notice that I was shading in the wrong layer until I screenshot each one separately. 😣 I also noticed that I misspelled my own contest tag. HAH!

So, I’m bringing up the contest tag #foxtales for a reason. I’ve been debating about making additional changes to the contest rules by having writers make a separate post for their entries. The idea was sold to me after seeing @yusaymon’s entry for this very contest. I’d still like to have contestants post their entries in the comment section below since it has helped me a great deal. :)

Prizes:

1st // 5SBD

2nd // 3SBD

3rd // 1SBD

A portion of the prize pool is a contribution courtesy of @artwatch. Thanks so much for helping to sponsor this writing contest! Please give @artwatch a follow! 

Updated Contest Rules:


Resteem this post.

Create a separate post with your ONE PARAGRAPH stories and use the #foxtales tag.

Also, feel free to use the current story image.

Submit your post in the comment section below.

Maximum of 3 entries - only one story per person will qualify for a portion of the prize pool so everyone has a fair chance.

The length is to your interpretation. There is no real ‘rule’ of how long a paragraph is but I’d say to use your best judgement. If it doesn’t flow right and you know that it is indeed going over then edit your writing.

Deadline // Friday November 17th //  5:00 UTC

We’re now in our third week of fox tales and I already see myself creating better art. I feel so honored to have so many wonderful people writing stories to go along with my drawings. It’s become one of the highlights of my week! 💜


Thanks for stopping by and good luck to those who decide to participate!

Do you have any questions? 🦊

Sort:  

I'm not really confident about this, but I'll take my chance -.-
Here's my entry for this week :)
Click here

Awesome contest and a great art piece to inspire some writing @vermillionfox. My entry - https://steemit.com/foxtales/@cizzo/november-wind-fox-tales-3-contest-entry

Loving this contest! Here is my entry for this week.
I edited the post after I read the new rules, so I took out the story and made it in a post.
https://steemit.com/foxtales/@geenaizzy/fox-tales-contest-writing-prompt-week-3

Although I liked being able to read the entries in one place I understand that it might get too much when more people participate.

Hi @vermillionfox, this time I took a little bit of inspiration (actually quite a lot) from your writing and came up with a story that I imagined to be something that you might have drawn after reading it. That last story took a little bit of thinking, but this one just jumped out at me but it was still very enjoyable to write. Hope you enjoy it ;)

https://steemit.com/foxtales/@plushzilla/my-entry-for-the-fox-tales-contest-week-3

Hi @vermillionfox here's my entry for the competition, I hope everyone likes it. Edit notes:(I don't know why the link disappeared but I hope this makes it in time for the judging) https://steemit.com/foxtales/@jamesanity06/foxtales-week-3-entry-vengeance

Wow! Thank you so much for the second prize again. I'll submit my entries for this one soon. 😁 😁

I can’t wait to read it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51