🎨 Featured VAG Artists Part 1 - JANE LEWIS

in #art6 years ago


This is the first in a series about the Artists in my Visionary Art Network.
More than the definition of “Visionary”, the network encompasses Surreal, Outsider, Fantastic Realist, Magic Realist and related art forms as well.

I have been involved with curating artists since 2009, initially founding a private network on the Ning Platform, and shortly thereafter a public website, the VISIONARY ART GALLERY to showcase these artists. I posted here ABOUT US to explain who we are. More information, and links to previous related posts you will find at the end of this blog.

The first artist I present in this series is:

JANE LEWIS



I only yesterday fixed this page, after a conversation I had with @carolineschell about visiting the gallery of Nick Treadwell in Vienna next week - he has several works by Jane Lewis in his collection.

JANE LEWIS
JANE LEWIS

ARTIST’S STATEMENT

I began drawing and painting in early childhood and have continued to work as an artist all my adult life. My work has been shown in solo and group exhibitions throughout the UK and also internationally. Paintings and prints are in a number of public collections and numerous private collections. Articles about my work and reproductions of my images have appeared in many art catalogues, magazines and books - most recently “A Singular Vision, 50 Years of British Painting at the Portal Gallery” (Prestel Books) - and significantly with Bloodaxe Books, who have used more than 20 paintings as covers for their poetry publications.

Over the years I have worked in watercolour, etching, pastel, digital and most drawing media - and constantly in oil on canvas. My pictures present images both ambiguous and subtly surreal. There is often a sense of narrative, though the narrative is usually my own - and there can be a sense of a story within, of subversion through painted illusion. My figure and still life paintings and prints are a combination of actual and invented people and objects arranged into a composition of the imagination.
Jane Lewis

Visit her page at the Visionary Art Gallery

JANE LEWIS - select images


I had previously blogged about the Visionary Art Gallery - see these links:


VISIONARY ART GALLERY

VISIONARY ART GALLERY - UPDATES

VISIONARY ART GALLERY ON TWITTER
NOTE: I post many Steemit artists posts that fit the genre here

VISIONARY ART GALLERY UPDATES, GIGER, COPYRIGHT INFO AND MORE

VISIONARY ARTISTS ON STEEMIT
NOTE: several more have joined us on Steemit since that post

ÜBER KÜNSTLER UND KUNSTSCHAFFENDE AUF STEEMIT - post in German



visitmywebsite-small200.gif

1900788_10152341248401477_1109107304_o-500sm.jpg
with @carolineschell - photo by @gric

Note: I am an Austrian Artist living in Vienna
I post many of my blogs under the tag #steemit-austria


About my Work

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72