Dragon drawing coloring contest winner

in #art7 years ago (edited)

bmd_thumbnail-framecolor.png

Last week I had posted a little picture of a dragon I had made that was never colored. I decided to have a coloring contest for fun to see what any community members would come up with and I was very pleasantly surprised.

It was exciting for me to see how everyone else approaches a drawing I did. It is pretty humbling actually because I looked at these many times thinking wow I never would have thought of that. It also helps me get different ideas on how I would approach other projects so I am grateful for that.

I decided everyone who entered is going to get a little something because It was a lot harder to decide on winner and placing than I thought it would be.

First the winner is @siragrays whos color combinations, subtle shading, creative use of the "sparkles" and color splotches in background was above and beyond to me. I am going to give her 6 sbd instead of 5 for all the effort and the win. Great work and I really appreciate you entering!

Second place and 4 sbd instead of 3 goes to @creativesoul. Was great to get a hand colored version of this and even as I write this I have a hard time not giving it "first" because this is a total winner to me. The awesome shading done by hand and the use of different colors all coordinated well is inspiring and something I never would have thought of. Love how horns and head were handled, the addition of the eyelashes and the glowing effect achieved through the darker color around edges. Thanks so much for coloring my picture and taking the time to enter!

Next is @atopy who is going to win 3 sbd instead of 2 for her work which included reducing the line weight and using shadow very well to make the limb "pop" a little more. Her coloring approach is very much similar to the way I would have probably done it. I included another version of hers that I absolutely loved as well that she changed the proportions of.

@artsygoddess will be getting 1 sbd for her entry and challenging herself to only using 2 colors and shades of those. I really liked that deep green and if I was coloring this now I would probably use the same color. Job well done and thank you for entering!

@cryplectibles will also be receiving 1 sbd for the creative entries which include this one below using the color scheme of the Joker from DC comics which I thought was a brilliant idea. Thank you so much!

Thanks so much for entering all I really appreciate it and I will be sending the SBD right after I post this! I may have to another one of these little contests in the future because it was very Inspiring!

steemit adventure logo.jpg
Hope you enjoyed and please check out some of my other illustrations!
Color character
Steemit Trading Card 5 @stellabelle
Steemit blockchain update graphic
War-Torn
Steembot

Sort:  

Great contest and congratulations to the winners. I like the simplicity of the contest, I think too often people are asking for to much and give too little. This reward to challenge ratio was a good balance.

Hey thank you! It was fun and I did not want some "big" contest where the people raise 10x more than they pay out and use it just to have a popular post. I appreciate you stopping by to comment that.

:D @steemitadventure thanks a lot for giving me this opportunity <3 I think that it was really fun, and I love doing projects like this, ( even if there isnt any price)
I love your art and you know that, I hope in the future we can do a collab, and I will be looking forward to your comics in the future.

:D I will use the SBD for yunk projects.

When I have something else worth coloring I will remember to have another, it was fun seeing what everyone came up with and very inspiring. When I come up with something in the future we will have a little colab your coloring was great!

Congratulations to the winners. Great artwork. I love @atopy entries!

I know the altered version looks better than my drawing lol thanks for checking it out

Congrats @siragrays ! What a great entry with those wings and the touch of the background. Great entries all around and love seeing different mediums used, really fun contest!

Thanks for entering, that joker color scheme was cool!

@siragrays I knew it all along!!!

I think the sparkles got me lol I had a super hard time between the top 3.

congratulations to all the winners!!

wiiiii....first contest I actually placed somewhere :D when u doing the next one? lol :D

Congratulations to everyone who entered and ty @steemitadventure for organising it ! :)

Yayy thanks for participating and I am looking forward to seeing more of your work in your blog.

Thank you for second place! I am very happy :D
Hope you have more of these 'mini contests' <3

Thanks so much for entering and that color job was fantastic and I can tell it took some time so really appreciate that! When I make something that fits I would gladly have another. Had much better entries than I thought I would.

One very well spent afternoon. Coloring it was a blast! <3

I am unsure if I will participate but I am your new follower
Keep it up

I planned on coloring it and ran out of time

I will have to make another one day :) Steemit and life makes time fly by fast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51