My Mixed Media Canvas Project - Part 7

in #art5 years ago

This post is a part of my series "My Mixed Media Canvas Project". In case you missed the previous articles, you can read them here:

Mixed Media Canvas Art - part 1
Mixed Media Canvas Art - Part 2
Mixed Media Canvas - Part 3
Mixed Media Canvas Art - Part 4
Mixed Media Canvas - Part 5
Mixed Media Canvas Art - part 6

In this step we will cover the latest texture elements with gesso. Gesso is a special material that hardens the surface and prepares it for painting. This is how our canvas will look after we cover with gesso.

1.jpg

And here is the gesso tube that I used and also some other pastes that I bought and I will use a little later on.

2.jpg

I am using two different brushes, the thicker one for larger surfaces, obviously. The most challenging part is to brush-on the lace and try to make it look neat, not very wrinkly. It will stiffen in 30 minutes or so.

3.jpg

Keep applying gesso on everything that I glued on the canvas: the beads, the silk flowers, etc.

4.jpg

Now let it dry for one hour or so. My studio is small, so after it dries I must hang the canvas up, til next time.

5.jpg

Patience, please! I will come back with more add-ons, some additional leaves, beads and maybe butterflies. After that, we will paint and finish the canvas! Stay tuned!

PS - I posted photos of this work-in-progress on my social media, and people ask me already how much it will cost? Ha, Ha, I have no idea how it will come out, and if I ever want to sell it. It is 5 x 4 feet, not-ship-able for sure!!!

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Really wonderful to see another progress in this project, @starjewel ! The application of gesso really gives the painting a new layer of texturing... It's really interesting ! I look forward to seeing the next step, for sure <3

I'm loving it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57