Cover for POLIS: The Trial of Socrates

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I painted this cover for jpgaltmiller's graphic novel POLIS: The Trial of Socrates
https://steemit.com/comics/@jpgaltmiller/polis-the-trial-of-socrates-graphic-novel-update-page-18-colored
This comic kicks ass, check it out. If you haven't read up on Socrates, here's your chance to learn something about him, with some cool graphic violence and action thrown in. :)

Those guys fighting were called hoplites, they're obviously all Greeks, but from different city-states. In this case I think it was Sparta (with the Lambda letter for Laconia on the shield), although depending on the time period and which sources to believe, shields could have been blank, or even personalized. Athenian shields were personalized, I think.

Of course in the background you see the hill Acropolis, with several temples, the most famous one Parthenon on the right.

You might also want to check out jpgaltmiller's other comic, Lesbian Zombies From Outer Space:
https://steemit.com/comics/@jpgaltmiller/lesbian-zombies-from-outer-space-pages-55-56-horror-comedy-graphic-novel

SocratesCoverLo.jpg

Here's the original sketch:

SocratesSketch1.jpg

And here's an alternate version that wasn't used:

SocratesCoverLo2.jpg

Thanks for watching!

Links to some of my other art:
SquichyThumb.jpg

TeaAndRosesThumb.jpg

Sort:  

Socrates is one of my two favorite philosophers (Nietzsche being the other), and this artwork is pretty awesome! I'll read the graphic novel soon!

I'd definitely be down for that conversation (Socrates and Nietzsche).

It's funny now that I think about it. Nietzsche has a lot of bad things to say about Socrates (though I think his criticisms apply more to Plato's version of Socrates than Socrates himself), yet they are similar in a lot of ways. They both went after the status quo of values of their particular times. Both tended to destroy without offering much to replace what they shattered...

Yes I like both of them but not because their philosophies match up! I think I like their authenticity most. Nietzsche is all about creation through destruction but I don't know if the same would apply to Socrates, being the one to start the whole western tradition.

Yay! It's finally there!
Awesome, I really like this comic and would really like to have a printed copy some day 😃
👏👏👏 Bravo! for that awesome cover art @stahlberg!

I like the red version....a mark of a more danger times

ah yes good point

Really great artwork. As a Greek i approve!

Thank you! :)

I was looking through my discord channel, and I thought: damn, that looks familiar. Ha!

Unbelievably awesome work, @stahlberg! Thanks so much for working with me on this. I'll upload on my end once I add the title/logo etc.

It was inspiring! Thank you! :)

Cool cover * ___ * Love how you really capture that ancient Greek vibe ! Good composition as well and the colours came out really lovely <3

upvotes

Funny I came accross Polis a few days ago. Did you guys set up a collaboration through Steemit?
Excellent art of course ;)

Thanks yes a few weeks ago he asked if I'd do this, offered to pay SBD, I accepted right away of course, it's such a cool project

how cool. Thanks for your reply!

Appears two of the pictures have not pulled through correctly @stahlberg your art is amazing and I enjoy historical art and fantasy. Comic strips tell amazing stories.

Came back to see the complete picture thanks, thoroughly enjoyed your art.

Another great job! The first looks more historical, the unused one looks more mystical

This is beautiful! I like the alternate version, it makes the whole picture looks even more historical and ancient. Excellent job, @stahlberg!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99