Tea And RosessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

I just finished this, but it started many years ago with a challenge on CGTalk (as CGSociety was called back then). Since I was a moderator there I couldn't join the challenge, but I was still inspired to make some sketches.

TeaAndRosesSFWLo.jpg

So I made these - she's a willing victim, sacrificing herself, because the vampire was a loved one, and the vampire itself I tried to make it look ashamed, guilty, like he knows he's doing something really bad, but he can't stop.

legsuckersketch1.jpg
legsuckersketch3.jpg
legsuckersketch5.jpg
legsuckersketch8.jpg

But wasn't happy with them and abandoned the idea. I suspect now the emotions I tried for were too complex.

Fast forward a decade, I came across the old sketches, and was tempted to try again... I'm very stubborn you see. :)
So, same purply dark interior of a Victorian middle class sitting room, same young girl, but with a different pose, and with more bloodsuckers. Simpler emotions, more clearly expressed.

Objects in the foreground, tea pot and some dead roses, they are there for depth, for setting the scene, and for symbolism. Also for the visual rythm - note how the teapot kind of echoes the pose of the woman.

Objects in the background, I'm going for a room with so much clutter, heavy carpets and curtains that sounds are stifled. I imagine this struggle to be almost silent, she's done screaming and about to give up. Perhaps she's already given up, just looking at the barely visible blue sky one last time.

TeaAndRosesWIP1.jpg

TeaAndRosesWIP2.jpg

TeaAndRosesWIP3.jpg

And the final version:

TeaAndRosesSFWLo.jpg

I do self-upvote, but I wait so I'm not the first. I don't buy votes. Thanks for watching!

#fineartnow #steemitart

Sort:  

This is so good and you did all that in just 4 layers? 3 if you don't count the sketch. How exactly D:

Thank you! There is a step-by-step video narrated by me, which I will post here later. In there you will see me temporarily creating an additional layer for the gold on the teapot, then dropping it down to "Foreground" when I felt it was done or very close to done. I think I did that when working on the golden plate in the background also. Right at the end I added a layer called "Curtain".

I'm very concerned about keeping the layers to a minimum when working, it helps me work faster I think. I really dislike layer-masks and adjustment layers, and having 1 layer for every little change I make to something, and 1 layer for every little item even if their silhouettes don't touch... :) it confuses me and slows me down.

I see! Having a lot of layers is really confusing and merging them into one layer surely cleans it up. I was always been afraid of keeping stuff in one layer as I might make a mistake and damage the whole layer :x
I'd definitely would want to watch the step by step video!

This is amazingly gorgeous! It looks right out of my favourite card game Magic: The Gathering! Maybe you could consider getting work from them haha ;)

I don't know why but I really like the original one of the vampire biting her leg. The vampire had a certain sense of sorrow to his eyes as if he doesn't want to feed on her blood but he needed to while the woman was in pain but looked confident that what she was doing was the right thing.

Good stuff!

This is definitely another masterpiece from you @stahlberg. You managed to capture and portray the emotions of both characters succinctly

man this is great i wished i could draw and design like this. Although i can come up with characters in my mind there is no way i could do such amazing things!

Oooh wow, I kinda liked the discarded one, I think the idea of the self-sacrificing victim had potential, the other one while looks astonishing visually it doesn't reach me that much...just my thoughts

Whoa! This is very very cool....thanks for sharing the steps in it. Makes it that much more impressive what you did here. Great post.

wow its rly good! even ur first abandoned sketch i love both results ! new follower here ^.^

this was so insightful as a learning digital artist . Thank you for this walkthrough.

Ooh, I thought it was an allegorical representation of a person being held back from the light of reason by their superstitions :D

That's pretty good, I might use that next time someone asks :D

Amazing. How long did it take you to do that piece?
I can't never have that kind of patience somehow.

Thanks! about 10-15 hours I would say.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29