Surreal Art Contest: Entries (Part 8)

in #art7 years ago

contest7.jpg

This is the penultimate showcase of entries to my Surreal Art Contest. After tomorrow, I'll have presented every piece and it will be time to announce the winners!

Today I'll be commenting on seven entries.

And here they are!


1

Today's first piece is a piece by @theia7. Beneath the vibrant colours you can see figures and forms that are reminiscent Indigenous South and Central American tribal art, in my opinion anyway. According to the artist, the theme of the work is "Fear is our imagination, not reality but the Danger is real." So we should beat our fear with courage and strength. But we should be prepared ourselves against real danger.

Head on over to the original post to give it an upvote.


2

This drawing by @soulturtle is an interestic mix of the geometric and the flowing, of contructed and natural forms. The artist says, "I'm not yet talented enough to replicate the things I see in my mind. I sort of reverse-engineered this drawing using things that I could draw and combined them to form a surreal piece."

Well, I for one think this piece was quite a success. If you think so too, give it an upvote here.


3

In @rcupido21's drawing, a naked pregnant woman sits under a bright medical light. I'm not sure what's more strange, the fact that she's carrying an alien in her womb or the fact that her head is a giant question mark.

What do you think? Let the artist know on the original post.


4

The next piece is a digital painting called The Whale by @donnadavisart. A woman hold a floating whale above her head like a balloon while her umbrella sits on the sea like a boat. The soft, dreamlike background reminds me of the long dance sequence in Singing in the Rain.

I hope the artist takes that as the compliment I mean it to be. If you have any compliments, bring them over to the original post.


5

This painting by @fukumineko depicts a gray rabbit with a blond, human-like pony tail replacing one of its ears. It stands in front of two trees, one green and full of life, the other carries the red of autumn. The rabbit itself is covered in lipstick kisses. The image draws the connection between animals and fashion and cosmetics. It's designed as a message to stop cruelty to animals.

Check out the original post here to give an upvote.


6

This striking image by @artlover is called The Human Tree. In the shape of a great old oak, you'll find the forms of human limbs all leading back to the man at the trunk. The limbs carry human heads as their fruit. Quite disturbing if you ask me, but I like my art to be a little edgy! The artists intends to one day sculpt this piece. That will be something else!

Give it an upvote over at the original post.


7

Our last piece of the day is called Pod Playground by @jacinta.sevilla. The pod of dolphins swim through the black toward an unknown vanishing point. Some of the dolphins are gold and shiny, while others are full of stars. A woman standing on a swingset glides through the pod.

The artist created this piece to draw attention to wildlife that's hunted or treated cruelly. To learn more about the cause, or to simply leave an upvote or comment, check out her original post.


That's it for now. Tomorrow I'll reveal the last of the entries, and then the winners. Stay tuned!

I'd like to say a big thanks to all those who have participated in the contest. Stay tuned for my announcement of the winners and be on the lookout for more art contests.

~Seth

Previous Entry Showcases

Sort:  

Everything is just too pretty around here! Been drawing loads of inspiration from these various artists. 😊 I’m excited for the announcement of winners. 👏🏻

Thank you for introducing my work @sethlinson . I really enjoyed participating your contest.

Thank you for showing my art here :) and all are wonderful submissions.
🌻

Good friend, thank you very much to present my drawing, I like very much this contest and waited to the next. thanks

Thank you for including my piece today and I DO take that comparison as a compliment, I love that film and I love the production and sets, thank you very kindly for that.

No problem! It's what immediately came to mind. Granted, I absolutely adore Singing in the Rain so it doesn't take much to bring it up in my mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35