Surreal Art Contest: My Entry "The Whale"

in #surrealart7 years ago (edited)

Here is my entry for the #surrealart contest hosted by @sethlinson.

jan21surrealart.jpg

I love the ideal of surrealism. I already, in most of my art, have a bit of whimsy and sometimes the absurd. For this challenge, however, I wanted to go full tilt surreal, i.e. the unlikely.

Here is a closer look of the figure and bit of the whale to show brushwork/lines.

jan21surrealartcloseup.jpg

I also really wanted to include a whale in the piece as we know we are always curious about the workings of whales in the crypto world.

I also wanted a dreamy quality which I tried to express through brushstroke and line work.

If others are interested in entering this fun contest you can simply go here. I think today is the dead line however.

I hope your day is surreal in a a joyful way.

Sort:  

incredible, hope you continue to work and realize your dreams

Beautiful and imaginative 💭

Thank you so much, since it was a surreal challenge I really went for it.

I especially love the umbrella boat!

Thank you, and I wanted a bit of water in it as if you could wonder, is the umbrella boat sinking? Did the whale fly in to save her? Etc, but surreal art is so open for interpretation that's what I really love.

I lovvvvvve this! Your colors are just the best, and the image is so imaginative and alive. Best of luck to you!

Thank you. I really like colour and often use bold, I wanted this to have a dreamy candy floss/cotton candy feel to it. I am so glad you like it.

Love your whimsical and delightful image @donnadavisart I'm a fan of the surreal and abstract art forms and would be interested in entering these types of contests in the future so I will look out for them. (Following)

They really are fun and a great way to meet the other artists of Steemit. I mainly do it to get to meet others and a chance for us to share our work. Do take up a few in the future!

I will. Thank you @donnadavisart Nice to meet you.

cool surreal- like the idea behind the Picture - great painting :-)

Thank you so much. And congrats we both got Honorable mention and won some steem for our entries in the LIGHT art. Yours was amazing.

great @donnadasivart, and the way she tickles his belly, he also can be huge balloon in her hand :)

Yes I thought of him as balloon like but she could be jumping up to tickle him to get a lift as her umbrella boat is going down. :)

beautiful work. i love the whales

Thank you so much. This challenge has made me want to do many more surreal pieces.

Thanks again for participating in the Surreal Art Contest! Your work has been featured in the most recent showcase of entries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60562.69
ETH 2903.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34