Surreal Art Contest: Entries (Part 3)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

contest3.jpg

Greetings fellow artists and art-lovers. We're more than half way to the deadline of my Surreal Art Contest. That means if you're interested in contributing for a chance to win from a pool of 20 SBD worth of prizes, there is still some time left to create a surreal artwork.

I'll be showcasing every piece of submitted artwork. Whether or not these pieces end up being winners, they all deserve some time in the spotlight. In previous showcases I only looked at 3 submissions, but now the art is rolling in at much faster rate than I expected so I'll be showing at least 5 in this and all upcoming showcases.

And here they are!


1

This coloured pencil drawing was done by @ralr11. The piece, called Silence, depicts a man, buried up to the neck in sand. His mouth is taped over, so he can say nothing of the fire raging in the background. A dove emerges from behind his head and in front of him lies a set of opened chains.

There's certainly a lot to consider about this piece. I hope you'll head over to the original post and give it an upvote.


2

The beautiful Metamorphosis was created by @juliakponsford. The beautiful and chillingly icy-expressioned butterfly woman flies through a world of vivid colour and unnatural forms. Her wings are draped off of her needle-arms like liquid curtains.

It's truly a striking work of art, and I hope you'll navigate over to her original post to drop an upvote.


3

Our third piece of the day comes from @ferjart. I myself have been doing a lot of figures and nudes lately (as anyone who follows my blog has surely noticed), so this artwork really spoke to me. Bodily Oceans is a digital drawing of a nude woman, but at various points on her body, the skin disappears to reveal a glimmering blue waterway underneath filled with jellyfish-like bubbles of energy.

Make sure you give an upvote to the original post, here.


4

This next piece, by @anonymous takes a problem of modern culture and technology head-on... please excuse the terrible pun. Like an alien facehugger, the cellphone has attached itself to the face of its host, forming a parasitic relationship.

To see the process behind this artwork check out this post.

EDIT: I have just been made aware that this piece was copied from the work of another artist.

My reverse image search didn't catch it, but someone else did. It's unfortunate when this sort of this happens and I wish I had caught it sooner. Please only submit original content to this contest. @anonymous' entry will not be eligible to win any prizes in the contest.


5

Last, but certainly not least, is a digitally manipulated photo by @axeman. The Sad Angel sits on a lonely wooden chair staring out to the sea. Her arms and black wings are outstretched, but she remains seated. Despite the fact that this piece is made up of photographic sources, it has an almost charcoal-like quality, giving it that traditional art feel.

If you like what you see here, let the artist know by upvoting his content.


Bonus Art

Continuing with the trend, I've done another piece of surreal art. I hope you all like it! This one wasn't much more than a quick sketch.

Broken Window.jpg

The drawing is called Broken Window and you can see its original post here.


That's it for today. I'll be sharing more of the submissions tomorrow. Stay tuned!

I'd like to say a big thanks to all those who have participated so far. Remember, there's still time if you want to join and 20 SBD worth of prizes to be won! Enter the contest here.

~Seth

Previous Entry Showcases

Sort:  

Until when is this contest? 🙂 Surreal art has always been the subject of my art. Im interested to join 🙂

The deadline was a few hours ago. But not to worry, just follow my blog. I'll be doing plenty more contests in the future!

Alright! I’ll join the next one! Keep making them fun and cool contests. It keeps the Steemit community alive 👍🏻

Wooow! Incredible jobs! Art really is something magical that unites us all who feel and love the art👽💚

Thanks for the comment, but I think it could use an edit ;)

EDIT: Looks like you got it.

Great collection here... all of them worth upvotes... thanks for showcasing @sethlinson!

Beautiful illustrous art..
Wish i could learn how to

Lovely art pieces.

Some of them are disturbingly true :p

Thank you for showing us this and for the great initiative this contest is.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50