๐Ÿ”Ž "Zoom in" - a closer look at the "Athena"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

As many of you probably know already, my main body of work is on glass. The backside to be precise, as I have described in "What is Hinterglas". I start with a pencil drawing and then continue with thin, transparent glazes of color.

In my recent works, I have put more emphasis on the drawing alone, as coloring it often pushes that part into the background... although it is actually a few nanometer closer to the viewer, once you turn the finished piece in the right direction.

Today I would like to present such a piece, where I only worked with graphite pencil and a light blue-ish gray background.

DSC_4837-1.jpg

"Athena on the Sun Chariot" was a commissioned piece. Athena is the clients favorite goddess and I put her on the sun chariot, as that created a connection to his wife.

To me it was also important to not just depict another statue like Greek goddess or, god forbid, some fantasy movie like super being. But I wanted to bring her into our time. And she is a warrior after all, so she had to have a weapon. I figured, today she wouldn't throw around a spear, so why not use a smart phone instead?

Patience please, huge files ahead

DSC_4837-2-2000x3669.jpg

click โ˜๏ธ๐Ÿ”Ž


Instead of the aegis, I gave her a semi mechanical armor:

DSC_4835-2000x2309.jpg

click โ˜๏ธ๐Ÿ”Ž


Instead of the spear she is often shown with, I gave her the handle bar to steer her sun chariot in her right hand. Since she is associated with the "owl", I placed one on the device.

DSC_4812-1.jpg

click โ˜๏ธ๐Ÿ”Ž


Did I mention that I like extreme vertical formats? I often use an aspect ratio of 1:2 or even 1:3. But here I took it a big step further. I usually associate ancient Greece with columns and therefore I wanted that to be an aspect in this painting. In the end, I found it best, to express that in the shape of it and made it 7,5x75 inches (20x200 cm), a whopping 1:10 aspect ratio!


DSC_4810-1.jpg

If you look close enough, you'll see, that of course, she is wearing high heels... (just a hint for another Greek "goddess"... ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰ Ms @ruth-girl)

And before you get disappointed with the sun chariot, let me explain, that I imagined it as a futuristic flying "segway", and one can only see the machinery of it.

DSC_4296.jpg

click โ˜๏ธ๐Ÿ”Ž


Of course, as with all my glass originals, I made the frame as well. The lower part is covered with aluminum leaf as a metal of our time. The upper part is olive wood, as Athena is also associated with the olive tree. The "crown" of the frame is made of five layers of olive wood and five layers of glass. In Tarot (I worked on a big artwork on the theme for several years) 5 represents the "divine" as in the V - The High Priest. Both materials together are 10, standing for destiny.

@mira13 and @sukhasanasister would be able to add a lot more about numerological aspects. To me the numbers represent major arcana of the Tarot and I use a more intuitive approach.



I enjoy reading your comments!

โค
If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All photos/scans by me of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

Need some SOL?

Sort: ย 

Good morning darling! Wow that extreme vertical and the beautiful frame really elevate this striking piece! I wish I could see where the new owners of this piece decide to hang it. I am not the biggest fan of the smartphone, or the platform heels ;), but overall this is gourgeous. Iโ€™m always in awe of all the clever detailds you โ€hideโ€ in your work.

Good morning ๐Ÿ˜˜

The painting found a really nice home. On a wall next to the "Revelation", in a mansion not far from Munich.

Haha... the smartphone.. well, a lot of people think, she is taking a selfie. I never even thought about that until someone asked me if this is what she did there.. Oh, what I would give to see you in platforms (giggle ๐Ÿคญ)

Itโ€™s in good company then :)

Iโ€™m thinking she is just starting catfights on twitter, being the goddess of war and all ;) The only platforms I would wear are those gilded ones with wheels ;)

Haha.. great imagination!

Alrighty.. on my way to my workshop, to start carving those LadySkates for you then. Size EU 37 if I remember correctly ๐Ÿ‘ฃ

Age hasn't worsen your memory๐Ÿ˜˜

Kinda spooky you asked me about the owner... they just stopped by for a surprise visit! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

One day Iโ€™ll be the one popping by unannounced ๐Ÿ˜›

A smartphone as a weapon... :) And that aspect ratio is craaaazy!
Wonderful, the things you do...
(But I hope she is a warrior, and not a worrier :) )

Oups.. someone actually read the text ;-) Thanks a lot for pointing that out and of course a big thank you for your compliments! ๐Ÿ˜

aside from the insane ratio, I love the frame!
On second thought, the ratio is not as crazy as first thought: there are certain places in a home where this (and nothing else) would fit perfectly.
also shared on twitter:
https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/990530355798138880

So, you live in a palace... I knew it! Thanks a lot, as always for sharing, Otto!

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Thank you for mentioning me in this beautiful and symbolically powerful work. Deeply grateful.
This extreme vertical formats suits perfectly the theme, along with the colors of the frame. The whole futuristic idea is a kind of a funny profecy, as far as I see how the things are developing. Your humor always finds the way to be exspressed. :)
It is a victory card, but the victory is not guaranteed. If we want to succed we have to behave in a certain way. And it is so in every area of life. The suggestion of the card is to take a driver seat , meaning, take an action, or series of actions. The chariotโ€™s journey is a gradual victory.
Just to put these two powerful ideas together is great, Sun Charriot and Athena as a charioteer. Well guided by your intuition. As it is a symbol for his wife, you sent the great message to both. Even when attraction is too high, like in the case when The Sun is the goal, keeping the golden middle is the key. I see your painting as a modern interpretation of aiming and keeping things within the neutralized opposities. Hard to achieve, but when, one is in one with everyone and everything.

Thank you so very much for your kind compliments and taking the interpretation to the next level. All that means a lot to me ๐ŸŒป

Another amazing piece. I love the way your mind works and that you have put the goddess in a modern yet fantastical context. So inspiring.

I also love the general shape of this piece, long and narrow, like she is slipping in and out of time or we are seeing her through a fantastical screen in the temple wherein we go to worship this Goddess.

The silver leaf against the warm wood is also so striking.

You always find such wonderful words with your beautiful comments and imagination. Thank you so much ๐Ÿ˜Š

I'm glad you like them, it's truly the subject matter that inspires my honest response. I love that we are living in a time where I can peer into the mind and world of someone with your vision thousands of miles away.

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Holla die Waldfee :-)
Absolut geniales Teil -
das Format ist cool ( ich liebe Hochformat schlank )-
das Motiv mal wieder TOP - Malerei meisterhaft
Du hast es einfach drauf - Immer ein AugengenuรŸ :-)
Der Rahmen - ohlala- der Rahmen ist superb -
hast den selbstgestrickt - (eigentlich ne dumme Frage )
aber der ist ja sowas von unique,
der allein hat schon Sammlerwert
tolle Handwerksarbeit !!!
resteemed

Dank Dir recht herzlich, wie immer. Ja, der Rahmen ist zu 90% von mir. Nur das Grundgerรผst hab ich vom Schreiner machen lassen, weil ich mir bei dem extremen Format nicht ganz sicher war...

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Hammerteil & Augenschmaus :-)

Beautifully designed. Very precise like clockwork. Thanks for explaining the meaning and concepts behind your work. The metal does speak of our time and love the connection to the greek column. The frame is slender and beautiful just like your drawing of the godess. Thanks for sharing :)

Thank you for looking at my work and for your kind comment :-)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you for your kind attention :-)

Brilliant. there are so many different elements in your works. Sometimes I look at them and believe that I already see the whole picture. Then I look again and discover something new again. And in this case I am happy to be wrong because each new surprise is a pleasant one.

Thanks a lot for telling me that. I really like such kind of art myself, when I can wander endlessly and always discover something new :-)

I LOVE this, the format to the painting is just so inventive and the shading work is amazing, so soft, I have tried so many times to do portraits and have just given up, its takes so much to get it to look right, you are so talented!

Hey, new profile pic.. almost didn't recognize you. The soft shading is a challenge, for me as well and particularly on glass. As to doing portraits, it just takes a lot of practice... I find hands even harder to do than faces.

hahaha yeah! Didn't like the old photo. I can imagine! I don't know how you do it! I think whenever I start one I want the finished product straight away and have no patience so give up! Need to work harder on that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54