😎 "Me" - the artist behind the artsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Don't remember, where I first saw that "artist behind the art". I think it was one of these challenges on a different social network somewhere. But I liked the idea and thought, maybe it is time for me, to reintroduce myself as well.

It should be clear by now, that Reinhard Schmid is my real name. I'm a visual artist, painter to be precise, and I live in the south of Germany.

For a group exhibition in Paris, the participating artists got the task of painting a self portrait, and since I love riding my motorcycle, this somehow became the underlying theme for my piece...

FlyWithMe-post.jpg

The flower I'm holding in one hand represents "beauty" as part of my job as an artist and in the other hand I'm holding, what I call my "GO" sign, in contrast to the stop sign we simply see to often.

Back in 2014 I received an award which is highly valued where I live, and they made a nice video clip, which gives a pretty good idea of who I am, and what I do...

sorry, in German only



My hair is a lot shorter than in the video today, but other than that, its pretty up to date.

RS-2016_DSC_4755.png


Just realizing, that there is hardly ever a picture of me without glasses or motorcycle outfit.. Alright, here is one. Guess it was simply too dark for sunglasses ;-)

DSC_0103-800x449.JPG

That was on a vacation by the beautiful Croatian Coast. When I'm at home, I usually spend most of my time painting or fixing a 300 year old house we bought 10 years ago. Since it was really cheap, it really needed a lot of renovation. But I except for plastering and a few other things, I actually like doing this kind of work. Particular everything with wood, I do by myself.

P1040019.jpg


P1030767-Mittel.jpg

Here I help building a café for my wife

IMG_0166-800x533.jpeg

I also like to "play" in the backyard with my '59 Deutz tractor

1852820314987.jpg

But every now and again, I actually have to work. I'm self employed for 30 years and my specialty as an artist, is to draw and paint on glass. This is my workspace:

20160107_DSC_4129_fb.jpg

and tools (some of them)...

DSC_7894-743x516.jpg

Since I really like working with wood, I also make the frames for my glass painting originals

DSC_4049.JPG

Did I mention, I love riding my Rocket?

DSC00747.jpeg

DSC00703.JPG

DSC00276.JPG

When the weather is decent, I also take my paintings to exhibitions this way

P1020348.JPG

And of course, for the shows I dress up a little

P1050195.JPG

IMG_9704.JPG

at the Grand Palais in Paris, with Lukas Kandl back in 2009

My wife and I we both love art and often go to museums and exhibitions, like „ Mythen, Menschen, Marionetten“ here, by Hans-Peter Müller und Alexandra Jontschewa.

001a.jpg



Alright, that's it for now... my girl is waiting ;-)

AnshuLesik-7145.png


Please take a look at my brother's beautiful hand made glass jewelry

rudomis.jpg



I enjoy reading your comments!

Ich freue mich auf Eure Kommentare

If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png

pfeil-3.png

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!

Alle meine Bilder auf Steemit
ACHTUNG! nsfw Bilder werden ohne Warnhinweis angezeigt!




sig-2017-1.png


Sort:  

This is a very nice presentation of you, I liked the video that represents you in your studio and I saw some beautiful works in passing. And what finesse always in your work. I am very impressed you even make your house! @reinhard-schmid

When I design the catalog for an exhibition, I always want to see the artist too, not only their work. Just to have a figure with the work, so it was logical, that I finally "disclose" myself too ;-) The house is more of a big endless adventure!

While not particularly talented myself as an artist, I can definitely appreciate the talent of others. Your home you've been working on seems like a great project too (that's more up my alley)

Being able to appreciate someone else's talents is very important to me too. I'm always in awe of what others can do!
Yeah, quite a project, that house. A friend once called it a feasible Hydra!

Your post made me smile 😊, thank you very good post

Glad you liked it, thank you 😊

Oh... very nice post! Always eager to see more that "the man behind the artwork" stuff....and I will be spending some time in next goming weeks, like wednesday to wedensday in Germany:)

Doesn't seem like the most attractive time to come to Germany... may I ask, where exactly you are going?

I'm from Finland, can't be worse :D quik stop in frankfurt and münchen and 5 or 6 days in Nürnberg.

I see. Munich and Nürnberg are both only some 200 km from here. Having some work on display at the Fürth theater!

Great! I definitely wanna see it. ..and just find it at the Stadttheater Fürth website. Ausstellung 3
Wolfgang Harms & Reinhard Schmid

Yep, that's it. I only have 3 glass originals there, since part of the concept is prints. But the building alone is worth seeing!

we visited Nürnberg every year, going to IWA OutdoorClassics "the world-leading trade fair for hunting, shooting sports, equipment for outdoor activities and for civilian and official security applications." More like business trip (although it is more fun to me) I hope we have time to visit Fürth.

Great post Reinhard! I´m one of the lucky one´s who got to meet you and Karin in person, and all I can say is: You both are lovely and likeable.
Are you woodturning those frame pieces yourself also?

Thank you Sigrid, and that definitely goes both ways!

Yes, I'm turning those pieces myself. Need a lot more practice though...

Thank you Reinhard :)
I asked because my brother does woodturning too (if you´re interested here is his website), therefore I know how much time and skill is needed. I´ve always liked your homemade custom frames a lot!

BOAHHHH! Ist natürlich eine ganz andere Liga :-o

Nice meeting you again :) Now I guess how you will come to Serbia at Pigmalion :) Thanks for video, nice to see your tools, some sharp one there you have @reinhard-schmid.

My pleasure! Yeah, thatw as the plan, but its not possible with the Rocket for several reasons. Hate it!!

Well, consider first visit as exploring ground, and I know you will like it. Than you will come again :)

That's pretty much what I thought. Although Otto always teases me, saying my bike could pull a trailer, it doesn't seem possible to haul a big painting. Plus I'd need all the space I have for my girl... and her shoes ;-)

Yes, yes, don't forget the shoes :)))
Trailer is not bed idea, Otto is thinking correct hahahaa...

Nice to have a little background. Thank you.

You are welcome. Maybe I should start an "artist behind the art" challenge here? Would you be in?

Sure! Sounds like a lovely idea.

Excellent! Please check this

Hey Reinhard, it's really nice to see behind the scenes into your life !
It is nice getting to know you better . Your ride is awesome, no wonder you love it ! Your wife looks like a nice lady too... so ..
CONGRATULATIONS ! :-)
enjoyed READING YOUR POST.jpg

Thank you! It was time to add a figure to the art.. glad you like my post!

Im not very artistic myself, but I do like to stand behind art and jump out when people stop to look at it. I kind of become part of the exhibit, you know. Live art. I'm like a sculpture behind the art, except I can't stand still for long.

Performance art so to speak 😜

Yes, but my performance is terrible!

LOL... you should make a video of it!

You better believe it! That award acknowledges more talent than your tiny, charming town can hold by itself. Thankfully big cities have invited you to exhibit your amazing craft (not to mention artistic talent). We may feel honored that you also treat us lowly Steemians to your treasures. An absolute delight to have been on a little tour of your work and play. Warmest greetings extended to your supporting and elegant other half (wife). I shall bear your tidy studio in mind forever more. Great things come out of great order!

Thanks so much, as always for your valuable and kind comment! It is me, who is honored, that my fellow steemians show this kind of appreciation for my work.
I like it, when my studio is so, that I could find everything in the dark, although its not always quite in that state.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60