Tarot Friday#6 – learning, growing and divine blessing, "The High Priest"

in #art7 years ago

Friday again, and time for the next card in my deck from the temple of the secrets. In our "journey of the fool", a soul came into this world in the form of a new born child. We met the divine and the earthly parents and for the child, now a time of learning lays ahead... talking, walking and all the things parents teach their babies.

As this child gets older, it will go to school and here as well, it will learn all kinds of things. Hopefully it will get equipped with everything it needs to get along in the society, into which it was born. So, in this journey called our life, this card "V - The High Priest" represents learning and the teacher.

hohepriester-1.jpg

The color purple stands for the divine blessings. The figure is anchored in its world views, solid like a nail and its faith and beliefs, whatever they might be, surround it like a protective coat. The figure is looking upwards towards the light, representing its high standards and its search for wisdom and knowledge, which is also shown by the key.

hohepriester-2.jpg

Up until the card "The Emperor", I painted my Tarot cards in the proper order and followed the traditional contents rather closely. After that, I painted the cards more based on my intuition and whenever the picture formed in front of my inner eye. However, to avoid confusion, for the "journey of the fool", I will continue to post these Major Arcana in the order following their number and position in the deck.


If you are interested in the aspects of divination, please make sure to
visit @mystikmoongypsy and @tarotbyfergus

Tarot Panorama-Klein.jpg

Temple of the secrets, total size of artwork is 15ft by 45ft, unfinished



pfeil-1.jpg

If you'd like to take a look at previous cards, you can use the following links:

"0- The Fool"

"I - The Magician"

"II - The High Priestess"

"III - The Empress"

"IV - The Emperor"



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork. The original cards are roughly
20"x40" and painted on glass in "Hinterglas" technique as described here

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg

Sort:  

Once again absolutely wonderful!

Another great one. I really enjoy seeing these. I can even appreciate the way your cards might feel, with their long and slender dimensions. To me, I'm seeing more reds and pinks than purples, but I love the way the violet spectrum ventures into the red territory as well as the blue.

Thank you very much again, for your kind words. You are right, it goes into the pinkish direction quite a bit... maybe its more a meant to be purple ;-) ...its just the way the knowledge I had of the card blended with what I saw... so to speak..

Gotcha, yeah, so much is "seen" in cards like these. There's a certain invisible presence.

I have enjoyed a thorough description and explanation. needless to say artwork itself is great and execution very convincing. I also like how a new soul is born from an old body with those more mature hands framing inexperienced soul. Or it might be just me who sees it this way :)

Thank you as always for your kind words! Your interpretation is very much to the point, as the hands are in fact guiding and protecting. Its all on several levels and everything in this card takes on a variety of meanings. The figure can actually be the inexperienced soul as well as the wise seeker of deep knowledge himself.

Me being right is just but a proof of your professional execution as it communicates the idea clearly.

Looking towards the light... and the purple.

Now I see! 🙏🏽

Yes, and isn't it something, that we both posted this similar element at almost the same time?

Beautiful!! This is my card. The High Priest is also known as the Hierophant and Chiron, the wounded healer. I love your explanation and your skillful painting.

Sorry I mist your nice comment... many thanks for your kind words!

A truly inspired and highly original way to depict the Jachin/Boaz principles of this fifth card.

You seem to have profound knowledge of the subject, so I rally value your appreciation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34