Communicating With My Autistic Son Through Artistic Collaboration : Those Fallen Leaves

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I was amazed at the response I got when I posted these two articles My Autistic Son, The Emerging Artist and I Wish I Understand in Steemit regarding the artwork that my autistic son Jonathan had created. @longshot suggested that I draw back to Jonathan in order to express my feelings towards him. That seems like an excellent idea except that I don't really know how to draw. My experience with art has been terrible to say the least. My impression is that art has to be nice and beautiful in a very conventional way. And there is no way that I can create beautiful artwork. @ longshot's suggestion germinated in my mind and I was fortunate to come across @everlove and her artistic collaboration with the other artists in the Steemit community.

Since art seems to be the only thing that Jonathan is interested in, art can be a medium that I can used to communicate with Jonathan. Therefore my artwork does not have to be beautiful in the conventional sense, but I will be most happy as long as Jonathan is able to understand the message which I want to convey to him. This is a turning point, in my life, never could I imagine that I will take art seriously and start to produce artwork. But I am determined to get out of my comfort zone and try something new.

To prepare Jonathan for the art collaboration, first of all, I told him of the good response towards his artworks from the Steemit community. I informed him of the messages of love, support, encouragement and congratulations that were received. My wife Roselind and I read out each message to him. From this smile in his face, he seem to understand what we were saying. To those wonderful Steemians who send these beautiful messages, Jonathan and I would like to say a very big thank you. I would like to show my appreciation with a shout-out to @everlove, @longshot, @darthnava, @jameshsmitharts, @mariandavp, @headlessjess, @xxsenpaixsamaxx, @pointtojoin, @awesomianist, @jedau, @karenmckerrsie, @god-is-love, @anandkphoto, @ace108, @reddust, @ogoowinner, @flowerpowerart, @birdiewonder, @wordsword, @gbenga, @paniopan, @happy-doge, @tamsguitar, @silviabeneforti, @freeze, @jacobts, @elewarne, @locoestaban, @girlbeforemirror, @royalmarco, @drobinson, @aishwarya, @digitaldollar, @ackza, @bitcoinman,@clixmoney, @melooo182, @thatgrlbeth, @yusaymon, @nspart, @shellany, @sarahewaring, @alchemage, @originalsimulant, @orinklev, @kyriacos, @tengkuputeh, @gamer00, @mikenevitt, @ferrisducker and @akiyoshi.

I told Jonathan that we will be doing artwork together. My idea for our first collaboration came from our frequent visits to the park. While Jonathan walked in the park, he liked to pick up leaves; leaves that have fallen on the ground. These fallen leaves became our first collaboration.


This is the park where Jonathan likes to go and collects leaves there


Jonathan begun his artwork by preparing the background.


Jonathan putting glue on the leaves.


Jonathan selected these 3 leaves for this work. Is it the case of father leaf, mother leaf and Jonathan leaf?


Jonathan applying water colors on a leaf.


Jonathan's final drawing


And this is my work. I explained to Jonathan the heart represented my love for him, but the leaves are broken because of the heartaches we experienced.


This is our work together. I think Jonathan's work is more artistic

This is the poem that I have written for this artistic collaboration

Those Fallen Leaves

Those fallen leaves
Remind us of the preciousness of life
That we should treasure each moment
As our lives passes by

Those fallen leaves
Reminds us of the cycle of life
For in between birth, maturity and death
Are opportunities for us to leave our footprints

Those fallen leaves
Reminds us of the diversity of life
Leaves of assorted sizes, shapes and colors
Giving us unity in the diversity of mankind

Those fallen leaves
Reminds us of the sacrifice of life
Although wilted these leaves are just as beautiful
Just as our deeds live on after we are gone

Do check out some of my previous posts.

Gods We Created
7-steps To Success At Steemit: Sharing My Cheat Sheet
A Special Place In Our Hearts

Cheers
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, and follow me. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

Finally these pictures have shown up for me. Great post @positivesteem. What a blessing you have to tune into this divine being. I believe nurturing his expression will pay off on many levels. I

appreciate the shoutout and am grateful that I can provide some inspiration. Collaboration provides great opportunity to grow, to feel a part of something, and to let loose our inner expression. Thanks for sharing your journey.

Yes, I believe that this collaboration is beneficial to me and Jonathan

Incredible. This is the type of post I love to see. Jonathan's art is very beautiful. Continue to update us with whats next on his palette. God bless.

Thank you for your kind words. I intend to do more work with him as this is helping him as well as myself. Do follow me to see more post.

This is what i love to see. I'm a Mother of an Autistic Child its Amazing through Picture PECS I'm able to communicate with my non-verbal Son. Best wishes to You & Your Family "God Bless"

Many thanks for your best wishes. I also wish the best for you and your autistic child. Yes, there are various methods that we can use to reach out to our autistic children.

Reesteemed..!! This post put a smile on my face, in a resplendent way, like something heavenly .. your son is something incredible and your family too ...please keep posting and don´t hesitate to write me ... !!

With love Yu

Thank you so much for your message of love and support. Do follow me if you have not done so.

I´m following u my friend.

Thanks my friend

Thank you so much. Do follow me to see more of such post

Many autistic people have great talent and skill, they just don't express it the way others do. If you discover his special skill and develop it, they make great contributions to society. I upvote and follow.

Thanks for your support and for following me

Incredible. This is the type of post I love to see. Jonathan's art is very beautiful. Continue to update us with whats next on his palette. God bless.

Thank you so much for your encouragement. I intend to do more work with Jonathan, do follow me for more.

It's really heartwarming to see your collaboration.
The poem fits perfect to the painting. It's a great part of the collaboration.
The heart is a very good place to start with art, and you did a great "job"(it's not a job of course :)

You know I'm very conventional when it comes to art too. But now I'm on Steemit I really learn to appreciate other art forms. I guess it's the doing.

I like Jonathan's drawing too, and indeed one could think that he picked a father mother and Jonathan leave.

Thank you for writing me a reply, or else I might have missed it. I'm way behind on my feed. lol. But I wonder who isn't.

Keep on steemin'

May god bless you and your son!

Thank you so much for your kind words

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61232.75
ETH 2977.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60