My Autistic Son, The Emerging ArtiststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

P_20170515_204224_vHDR_On.jpg
The artist and his artwork

Ever since my son Jonathan has been diagnosed as autistic, friends and relatives have asked me this question, “Does Jonathan have any savant skills?” I used to tell them that not all autists have savant skills. Perhaps they have been watching movies like “Rain Man” or “Mercury Rising” where autists were portrayed as having special skills like mathematics or were able to break complicated codes. But how I wished that Jonathan really have some sort of special skills. One thing which my wife Roselind and I noticed was that Jonathan was very good at doing jig saw puzzles. However other than that, as far as we could discern, Jonathan did not possess any savant skills.

Jonathan has very short attention span, so whenever we give him coloring pencils or crayon, he would simply scribble. Most of the time, he would just scribble without even looking. It really took a lot of time and effort for Jonathan to be able to concentrate on what he was drawing or coloring. Even now, his work is very erratic. At times he is able to concentrate for a short time and at most times his eyes are not looking at what his hands are doing. Despite that Jonathan has managed to produce a few interesting drawings. The drawings are unique and in some ways represent how he sees the world around him and his understanding of his environment.
P_20170515_203849_vHDR_On.jpg

I am very grateful that one of his drawings has been chosen by Spring, a shopping complex in Kuching to be reproduced and displayed on one of its fire doors. Jonathan was among one of the few students at the Kuching Autistic Association, whose artwork had been chosen. The Association and I are very thankful to Spring for its efforts to introduce the art work of autists to the community of Kuching. This will help to create more awareness about autism as well as some of the skills that autists have. Hopefully more corporations will joined in and society will be more understanding and willing to accept people with autism.
P_20170515_203929_vHDR_On.jpg

Cheers
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, resteem and follow me

Sort:  

In another way you are blessed.

In life, a lot depends on how we see things. In some ways I do indeed feel blessed. Thanks for stopping by

If I ever stop by Kuching, I must definitely take a picture with Jonathan's artwork.

There's just something about this drawing that makes me feel like there's more being expressed than what I can detect.

Yes, we believe that Jonathan definitely has more potential to be tapped. Thank you for your encouragement.

Oh wow! This is so amazing!! I mean, what an achievement to be recognized. Great work, Jonathan!

If you find the time, I hope you would get the chance to read my ongoing series A Day in the Clouds. It's a fictional novel that's dedicated to my nephew that is suspected of having autism as well. Right now, he's still considered having Global Developmental Delay, but the diagnosis maybe changing soon.

The proceeds for that story go directly to him, and for studies that help people like Jonathan. Your son has such a wonderful gift! I can only imagine how proud you must be of him :D

Oh Yes Jonathan can do more with more help. All the best to your nephew too.

oh this is so inspiring, just the artwork on its own is incredible. Its very raw yet intricate at the same time.
I think you should get him into graffiti, there might just be a great street artist hidden in him !!

Thanks. In addition to displaying his artwork, we hope to create more awareness on autism.

I have to say that the drawing of your son touched me, because I think it's a very expressive work! I love the colors that he used and how the fish stay in the artwork, I think your son has talent in art!
Thanks for share this story, all my hugs to you and to your son 💚

Thanks. We are trying to nurture his talents.

This is an exceptional piece of artwork @postitivesteem!!! Quite a complex and well-balanced image. I love the composition, and the layers and depths of color are quite impressive. There is definitely more here than meets the eye...something to tune into and pay attention to.

I am grateful that you shared this post with us. May you all be blessed with more joy on this journey.

Thanks for the compliments. We will work with him to develop his potential further.

Good move!!! There is definitely something of great value going on in there!

Hello, so I'm here following your link

Good to get this level of exposure, keep it up ;)
Upvoted and started following

Loved your sense of humor.
Thanks for following me.
Do check out another artwork done by my autistic son.

https://steemit.com/art/@positivesteem/i-wish-i-understand-featuring-my-autistic-son-s-artwork-and-my-poem

Thank you for your kind words. It is not easy but my wife and I are very much encouraged by Jonathan's progress. We are taking things one day at a time.

Such is life, the only way to get by with anything is one breath at a time, when you are trying to keep your steps in line.

Amazing art by your son!

Thanks for the compliments and your support

That's very cool! I like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56373.71
ETH 2972.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12