7 Steps To Success At Steemit: Sharing My Cheat Sheet (Every Comment Will Get A Vote From Me)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Lately there had been a dramatic increase in the number of new users on Steemit. This platform has gained much popularity and the influx of new users is expected to continue. Therefore I decided to update my previous article which I think will be able to help both new and experienced users to succeed at Steemit.

Succeeding at Steemit is not a matter of working hard only, you also need to work smart. As far as possible we need to stick to what works when it comes to writing quality content. The importance of quality content cannot be underestimated. It is through the posting of regular quality content that you will attract followers and build up your reputation. Since I have a regular day job, the free time that I have to write on Steemit is rather limited. Therefore I have to make productive use of my time so that I can write as many articles as I can. And this is where my cheat sheet comes in. As I wanted to give back to the Steemit community especially the newbies, I am sharing my cheat sheet which has been instrumental in helping me to write a lot of articles.

1 Visualize

Some of you may think this is baloney and can just move on to Step 2 but I find this useful. Normally I just visualize how much value my articles will be able to add value to my readers while I walk towards my computer and so it just take a minute or less. This simple visualization exercise puts me in the right frame of mind and helps me to be more confident as I write.

2 Get Right To It

There is no right or ideal time to start writing. Do not spend too long thinking about your ideas or trying to do too much research. I normally write my first draft or at least the framework of the article in one sitting. After my first draft, where there are information still missing then I do my research. At this time I am searching for specific information not doing general research.

3 Topics

I tend to write about topics which I feel strongly about and in this way my passion shows up in my writing. Put in your honest feelings and thoughts into your writing and your article appear more genuine. Be yourself and differentiate your writing from others.

4 Headline

This is crucial as I am competing for eyeballs and the headline draw the interest of the readers. Try to come up with at least 3 headlines and choose the best one. The preview sentence need to synchronize with the headline.

5 Image

The accompanying image is as important as the headline. We are visual beings and so any image that piques our interest will lead others to click on our article.

6 Tags

Make sure that the relevant tags are used so that it is easier for people to find your articles. You are allowed to used a maximum of 5 tags and you should make use of all 5. In choosing which tags to use, head to the trending tags page so that you will have an ideas which tags are trending. Do also consider using less competitive tags, so that your post will have less competition and can be found higher up on the page.

7 Baiting The Whale

We all want the whales to vote for our articles but when are they most active? This website will give some indication of the activity level of the whales. If possible post your articles when the whales are most active.

This cheat sheet works for me and has helped me tremendously to write quality content. Image how successful you can be if you produce a lot quality posts, which means that you score both on quantity and quality. You can personalize it to suit your own preferences. With your own cheat sheet, you can be more systematic and productive.

As I mentioned above, I will vote for any comments that you give. Do share your tips too so that we can help each other to be successful at Steemit.

Do check out some of my previous posts.

A Special Place In Our Hearts
Loneliness Is My Friend
Longing For A Love So True

Image Source

Cheers
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, resteem and follow me

Sort:  

Nice! I upvote a vast majority of the comments on my posts regularly. It's a nice boost for people.

I want to add #8 to the list: Don't blow up existing users with links to your posts and say I upvoted you, follow and upvote me - that is just poor taste

Those who want to post their links should do so in the correct channels like postpromotion channels in steemitchat and discourse. However I am quite thick faced, so if anyone says they like my post, I will invite them to follow me. So if you are not following me yet, do follow me.

Aren't we already following each other? I thought we were :-)

If this appears in your feed, then you are already following me.

It did and it does. That is how I saw it. It was your idea to follow one another a few weeks back. I feel like I'm just another blank face in the crowd now....hahaha

I am sure you have a lot of followers too. Ha ha
I remember chatting with you at steemitchat

Thanks for this. I wasn't sure if i was supposed to upvote all comments. I did follow though. I've only done two posts so it's easy to go back and upvote!

Great post @positivesteem. This'll indeed be a great help to newbies. Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome. Steemit is a supportive platform and we should help each other whenever we can. Do follow me for more

I've been following you for quite a while already. 😁

Thank you for following me

You're welcome. I love the positivity of your account and content.

very informative , thank you for helping newbies, it will broaden their horizons ;-)

Glad that you find this useful, do follow for more

That was pretty helpful I've been on steemit for a little while now and I'd say your info here could help newcomers and people who have been on steemit for a while but may not be hitting the marks they wish to see.

This article was written for the newcomers in mind. Glad that you find it useful, and do follow for more.

And this is pretty much true wherever you write - not just on steem!

Correct. Since I am not blogging on any platform, I am sharing my experience at Steemit. Do follow me for more.

Excellent suggestions mate. I am happy to see that I already make use of quite a number of your items.

I hope that you are seeing the results of your efforts. Go for long term. Do follow me for more.

7 very good tips for a sucessful start, thanks for sharing it!

I am glad that you liked this article. Do follow me for more.

Thank you so much for this! Truly enlightening, upvoted!

Thank you for your kind words. Do follow me for more.

Already following you :DD

Thank you for following me

Nice tips, thank you

You are very welcome. Glad that I am able to help. Do follow me for more.

Great tips! Will be great for newcomers.

Newcomers need all the support and help they need. When newcomers grow, Steemit will also grow. Do follow me for more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65