I Wish I Understand (Featuring My Autistic Son's Artwork And My Poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My last post was about my autistic son's artwork which was featured in a shopping complex Spring located in Kuching, the city where I lived. I did not expect the response to this article to be so good. There were so many praises about Jonathan's artwork, which I thought was just a simple piece of work. I must admit that both my wife Roselind and I do not know much about art. There were also so many messages of encouragement for me and my wife, and we are even more encouraged to do more work with Jonathan.

Today's artwork was drawn quite a few years back and it was framed and hung it my house. I am not sure whether it was a self-portrait. I think that I have yet to understand fully what Jonathan tried to convey in his painting. Based on that I have also written a poem to accompany the artwork. I hope that readers will enjoy reading my poem and appreciate Jonathan's work at the same time.

To me, this is a milestone as this is the first time I am collaborating with my son in a work of art. I would not believe this would have been possible many years back. Through this collaboration, I really do hope to understand Jonathan better and this desire is expressed in my poem.

I Wish I Understand

There is something you want to say
But the words just can’t come out
I wish I understand
What you are trying to convey

Your eyes are full of expression
There are mysteries deep inside you
I wish I understand
Just the way you feel

Your head is slightly tilted
Full of curiosity
I wish I understand
What you want to know

There is so much that you can teach us
But you are trapped within your world
I wish I understand
The lessons you want us to learn

Steeminly yours

Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, resteem and follow me

Sort:  

Heartwarming post, as one who took a course in Special Education and handled several children with autism, I sympathize on what you're going through. They are amazing and loveable kids! God bless your heart.

Thank you for your encouraging words. Autism is their superpower

Love the poem. And I can imagine how you always keep guessing.
We have language and we talk to each other, have more of an idea that we know what the other means. But as I look at myself (as if that's possible, lol) then, with all the words I hear, I make all kind of abstract images (story's) in my head and I then think I know what the other means. But not having language to exchange thoughts, makes it really complicated and I can imagine you wish to know what Jonathan thinks, want's or needs.

I don't know anything about art too. I just made an abstract something ;) in a contest but I have nothing with abstract art . I think you can find beauty or meaning in anything, not that you have to, but you can.
And it does not matter if something is a simple piece of work. You can look at anything and see something in it. It is all about attention.

What I see in the painting, and I'm just expressing what I see, is that the body and mouth, is drawn in, what looks to me like, vortexes......except the eyes they don't have the shadowy green part.
The head looks as if it comes forth, and wears a beret.
And what you say about a tilted head..... when I looked at the head in the painting, I realized I tilted my head, hihi , and remembered what you wrote, so......... maybe it's actually a self portrait of Jonathan. But like you express there is no way of knowing he could also have drawn a person who sits in front of him, maybe the way the head is tilted gives it away, I don't know, I'm only making this up in my head ;)
Liked the post, thank you :)

Yes, sometimes there is a lot of guesswork involved.
Thank you for putting so much effort and time to write the comments. Very much appreciated.

Absolutely wonderful....resteemed! I hope he keeps up the art, and you keep up the poetry! P.s my mother has learning difficulties and I am dyslexic...but we both love art and love poetry and writing. Sometimes when life blocks us in one way we find another to be extra creative !

It actually took me sometime to realize that I have talent for writing especially in poetry writing. I woul say now it's in my soul.
Thank you for much for your kind words and support.

I am sure that your collaboration with him will be sensed. Perhaps not so much by your words - touching and insightful as they are for us - but have you tried drawing your feelings back to him? Keep up your life's good works.

I have a way with words rather than with art. But this is a good suggestion, I will explore.

I only suggested this because some people react better to visual stimuli rather than words - or music, etc. Your words can still comfort your heart, as ours.

A lovely poem of longing and your son's artwork sparks my curiosity. I wonder what he is trying to convey as well. I like the contrasting colors of red and green. He is saying something very strong I think, red and green are contrasting colors. Sometimes when I create a painting I don't know it's true meaning until years later. Naked emotions are without words....

Jonathan has a message, he is communicating through his artwork

There is a lot of heart and deep felt emotions in this writing. I can imagine both you and our son have struggled greatly with communicating with one another, but it says a lot of you both that you continue to try! Thank you for sharing your heart with us. <3

I am very encouraged by your kind words. Do follow me for more.

It is a self-portrait, but not in the way you think. The picture is himself, you and your wife all as a single entity. That entity is him. He is as much you as he is your wife as he is himself, and he views himself this way. The three of you are extensions of each other, not truly separate beings; he is showing you that who he is is mother-father-him: all one, him. He is telling you that he loves you. That's what it means. He wants you to know he loves you.

The poem was beautiful and the Art work is cool , I would so hang it in my room. Does he have other art work he can share? and you could put another beautiful poem with it!! I would love to see more!! UPVOTED AND FOLLOWED

@halo, thanks so much for your encouragement. Yes, he has some more works and I will also share as well.

Thanks for the link ! Great post ! Upped and res teemed !👍👍👍

Thanks for the support

your welcome !👍

What a beautiful post! Really touching and uplifting. I wish all the best to you and Jonathan, Charles!

Thank you so much. Do follow me for more positive and uplifting posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54