My picture of Apollo and the story of Greek mythology

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Traveling in Greece is not only the enjoyment of ancient architecture and landscapes, but also an excursion into mythology. Three weeks we traveled around Greece by car and all this time we listened to stories about gods, muses, oracles. This is amazing, because you see Mount Olympus, where the gods live, you see the ruins of the temples dedicated to them, you see people who believe in God the only one, but they remember their history. You feel how much all this is real, because myths and legends left their physical incarnations literally at every step.

Apollo is the son of Zeus, one of the most revered and beloved by among people. Apollo is the patron of arts, divination and medicine.

According to ancient mythology, Apollo is the son of Zeus and the Titanide Latona (Summer). Zeus "officially" was Hera's husband, but his love gave the world a lot of children from other beautiful maidens. Hera, however, pursued and punished the insidious mistressr in every possible way. So it happened this time. Pregnant Latona was haunted by the terrible dragon Python. When Apollo was born and grew up, he decided to take revenge on the dragon. Found him in the mountains of Delphi and killed him with golden arrows. In honor of the victory, Apollo founded in Delphi an oracle, which announced to the people the messages of Zeus.

It is interesting that the Delphic Oracle really existed, it was the center of ancient Greece, the place where many temples were built in honor of Apollo. Millions of people came here to hear the oracles, they brought donations, thanks to which Delphi reached an unprecedented development. Today it is an architectural monument, a stunning open-air museum. I will tell you about this interesting place in one of the following posts.

Paper, pencil, A2

Apollo is dedicated not only to a huge number of temples, but also statues, miraculously preserved to the present day. Apollo Belvedersky's head was at least once painted by every student-artist. The marble statue is a copy of the lost bronze, created in 330 BC by Leohar, the court sculptor of Alexander the Great. Traditionally, Apollo is portrayed as a fine young man with a bow or lyre in his hands.

I will continue the stories about modern Greece, subscribe to my blog in order not to miss interesting posts.
My posts: How to buy your own "temple" in Greece, Flying monasteries of Greece.
Text, photos and good mood - ©Copyright @marymik23
Sort:  

Отлично получилось!!!

Благодарю! Завтра постараюсь про древний город Делфи опубликовать историю...

Думаю будет интересно 😉

Уфф... запостила часть первую. Очень рекомендую на первое фото кликнуть, чтобы открыть на весь экран, оно того стоит. Вэлкам!

Спасибо, прочитала!

Wonder shades.
I love the way you throw in gentle shades on the art work.
It does bring life to the piece.

Congrats @marymik23, You just won 50% upvote from @artzone.curators
Curated by @jacobite for @artzone

Мастер класс академический рисунок, это действительно круто. Рисование гипсовой головы

Вообще сначала рисуют череп. Потом отдельные части: губы, нос, глаз Давида. А уж потом головы разные.
Интересно кстати череп посмотреть?

Очень

Ого, красивая скульптурная голова! Давно рисовали? Вкратце пробежался по тексту, но наверное не заметил про историю как вы рисовали )) Я вчера на побережье сел рисовать. Ручка черная закончилась на половине рисунка. Пришлось дорисовывать синей ))). Один иностранец на электротележке остановилс и долго наблюдал, как я рисую. Чудак ))

Давно, это учебная работа, затёрлась уже вся. Расстроилась, что Зевса голову не нашла, видимо подарила кому-то. В тему Греции скульптурки как раз.

Забавно, что у меня в Тунисе тоже ручка черная неожиданно быстро закончилась ))) Я решила, что быстрее вытекают чернила из-за температуры...

Интересно, что в разных странах реакция на уличных художников отличается. В Италии например, это как само собой разумеющееся ) Хотя, зевак везде хватает...

Nice work, @marymik23, and interesting text accompanying it. Did you sketch your Apollo from a photo, or from a statue in real life somewhere?

Thank you @jaytaylor. I studied at the university to draw, there were sculptures, including Apollo, Socrates, Zeus, David, Venus. I drew from life of course. All the pictures in my blog are made from real nature.

How wonderful! I know a lot of people use photos for reference these days, but I'm with you on this one - on the (rare!) occasions that I sketch, it is always from real life, too. I need all 3 dimensions, or it just doesn't work!

I do not like drawing on a photo. This is a copy, not a drawing. It has little creativity. Sometimes it is necessary, when there is no nature. But in most cases I prefer to draw a real life.

Same here, @marymik23. Although I'm more of an abstract expressionist, I do still enjoy a bit of a skethc from time to time, and it's always either from life or straight from my imagination :o)

Very informative article about Greek Mythology. I love the Greek culture and their history. I will keep reading this series now. :) I did not know that you can draw as well. Very nice sketch to go with the beautifully written article.

I would also request you to join my discord channel. There you can meet a whole new community and learn a lot of things. :)

https://discord.me/SteemBulls

Yes, I have been publishing my drawings here for a long time. Here is a link to my first exhibition at Steemit.

Unfortunately, I can not translate quickly from spoken English, so I can not participate in discord. Thank you ) I gladly read your posts and I have something to discuss with you ;)

I am glad to know that you are a professional artist. I will visit the link to your first exhibition. Though I am an illiterate in this field and know a little about techniques used in the paintings, I am expressive enough to applause anything which I like.

I can uderstand linguic limitation is there on Discord. No worries! :)

Soon I will be doing the second exhibition on Steemit, I will invite you to its opening ;)

I ll be a little more than glad. :)

Fantastic drawing my friend. I am enchanted ;)

I am very pleased that the drawing made an impression on you. Thank you!

Very nice drawing, such a pleasure for the eye to wander over the lines and care. Peaceful.
I tried to show my sweetheart (also an artist) that amazing photo you took of the cut out climber on a cliff of salt, but I couldn't find it in your blog. That is so creative! It sounds a pure note of fun & skill. Could you send me a link or tell me which post it is in if you get a chance? Thanks.

I'm surprised that you remember this! This was my very first post here )

Thanks again, @marymik. Just posted some beginner's drawings of Greece. So much to learn!!

I'm amazed. I like your pencil sketch, i wish if i could make one. you did really good. And also, the best part is you gave a short history that makes the sketch more alive.
Thank you @marymik23

Thank you for leaving a comment @tanzil2020, I'm glad you liked it. This statue is painted when studying the construction of a person's face. It seems simple, but it's really hard to draw.

Amazing! Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the comment, it's very nice!
Are you interested in drawing a head? He is in the textbooks on drawing. When you learn how to draw Apollo from nature, you can draw any person! )

Congratulations @marymik23! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57087.02
ETH 3064.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19