"The Square" | Inspired by the Collaboration between @debart and @opheliafu

in #art6 years ago

A little while ago, I met @debart here on Steemit. We've since done three collaborations together (which you can see here, here, and here) and we're planning to do more.
 
This is another one of those collaborations, and I'm very pleased with how it came out. Instead of taking his image and manipulating/merging it with my own style, I created a piece from scratch using his and @opheliafu's collaboration as an inspiration. I quite surprised myself with this, I gotta say =)



"The Square"

Max. Print Size: 21" x 21"



What I did:

 
Here are the two pieces done by Daniel and Ophelia respectively:

"As One"

"The Triangle"

So the first thing I knew was, I have had zero experience in drawing figures. I could have even attempted it but I have yet to buy one of those digital drawing pens/boards, so all I have is my mouse. How did I get the figures...? I cheated ;P ... I did all sorts of googling, looking for contortionists, and then traced their outlines... After that, some puppet transform and wave filtering in Photoshop got me the twisted figures that I had had in mind.

The rest was just selection tool and 20% opacity eraser =) :

The main reason I ended up doing this was because when I saw Ophelia and Daniel collaboration, with the two pieces being a circle and a triangle, I was reminded of the symbolism of the square, triangle and circle... Pain, pleasure and eternity. So I just had to do the pain part of the triptych! =) ... I'm actually not sure anymore where I read that about these shapes' symbolism... I think it was in Frank Herbert's Dune. (My favourite science fiction series.)

Thank you, Eugene and Ophelia, for the inspiration to get out of my comfort zone for a bit. I actually almost gave up on this piece several times, which is why I'm posting this a few hours later than my usual time.




Thank you for your upvote 💖
I appreciate it more than can be expressed in one line at the end of a post.

~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Re-awakening" - Poems, 007 | "Abiogenesis" - Gallery: Fine Art | "My Earliest Memories" - Writing Mentorship
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

All Artwork Copyright, All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

This looks absolutely stunning man wow :)

Many thanks =) ... And thanks for the resteem too! ... Already can't wait to do another one ^^

Yea you really came up with something cool her :)

This is fascinating. I love the fluidity and movement of the figures - and your rendition is totally in sync with those of @debart and @opheliafu. Awesome!

Thank you!! <3 ... Since this is completely different to my usual thing, I'm quite proud, hehe.

This is a fantastic transition from the first two pieces.
It's hip to be SQUARE.

Thank you, Ophelia! =) I was very happy with it. Looking forward to having my comfort zone challenged in the future by @debart, and perhaps you too =)

Nice expression for gesture and form. Love to see art like this and hope to see more from you in the future :) Have you ever listened to Terence McKenna?

Thank you very much =) ... Not sure how much of this kinda thing I'll be doing as original pieces, but @debart and I will be doing collaborations together for sure ^^ ... All I know about Terence is that he was a huge psychedelics advocate =) .. Never read or listened to anything by him, though I have eaten magic mushrooms before and they are truly mind-bendingly awesome.

no problem my dude. Give this a listen sometime. Terence has influenced me quite a bit over the past few years and has given me a new goal in life. . Keep up the good work, realize the
imagination.

You've received an upvote from @slothicorn! Click Here to Learn More
(@ghulammujtaba)

As expected, you nailed it again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68