"Dying with Cats" | A Collaboration Between @mandelsage and @debart

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A little while ago, I discovered @debart, and featured him in a curation post along with two more talented artists. I was especially happy to discover that he is also from South Africa! =) I highly recommend checking out his website - danieleugenebotha.co.za
 
I was very enthused when he got in contact and offered to do a collaboration with me. We sent each other an artpiece and were both meant to take them and modify them in our own styles. No rules were stipulated. He took my image "Self-observance" and created this.
 
Then it was my turn... I hope you like the somewhat different direction I took his piece into... ;)





What I did:

 
Here is the piece Daniel sent me, entitled "Flying With Cats":

Now, my process was a bit odd here... I started backwards, by trying to think of a different title first. When "Dying with Cats" popped into my mind, I had almost a complete idea of what I was going to do.

First, I needed to make those limbs look awkward. Easily done. (I left the cats alone... They already seemed kinda flattened to me, as though they'd fallen from a great height). I also grey-scaled the image.

I then used JWildFire to produce a few fractal blood splatters, chose two of them, and went to work, copy-pasting, and erasing with different levels of opacity. You can see the process here:

And voila.... "Dying with Cats" was done:

 

My only reservation was that, when I was done, it seemed like I had put maybe a bit too much blood. But every time I took any away, it just didn't look right, so I ended up leaving it all ;P

Thanks, Eugene, for offering to collaborate with me! It was a lot of fun. And it was also the first time I'd done a collaboration =) ... I'm hoping we'll do more in the future.




Thank you for your upvote 💖
I appreciate it more than can be expressed in one line at the end of a post.

~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"My Bedroom(s)" - Writing Mentorship | "Rosa" - Gallery: Designs | "The Woman Who Moved" - Story Writing Collaboration
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL
 
"Flying with Cats" Copyright - Eugene Daniel Botha, All Rights Reserved.
All other images, Creative Commons License.

Sort:  

Wow man you really made this into a beautiful piece :) Almost looks like they are flying over mars.

Thank you ^^ ... I'm also very happy with how it came out =) ... Uhm, Dying Over Mars, you mean! ;P

Well yea dying hahaha :)

@mandelsage it have a pop art feeling. I like the combined project :)

Thanks Mineopoly =) Twas fun to do.

I'm a zomie these days. Can't believe I wrote that. I must have thought better comment then no comment. You are one of my favorite posts to read bc of teaching and art.

lol, no worries ;) I thought it must have been one of those days. I've been having them myself. So difficult to keep up with steemit. I feel bad whenever I miss comments and posts by people I follow. Sometimes bandwidth runs out and I'm forced to say "will have to come back to this later" but then forget. With RL responsibilities, it gets crazy. Thank you for being one of my loyal followers! <3

I love both of the pieces you guys collaborated on! You have been making some really cool stuff with these Steemians, @mandelsage. Your guy's styles work so well together. Great job guys!!!!

I agree, our styles do gel quite nicely =) ... Thank you for your kinds words, man =)

That's a great and very creative result you've made there! The almost opposite of debart's original theme. I can imagine you're having lots of inpiration working on this kind of challenge/collaboration. Once again..Great piece of art! :)

Thank you @jey-blue! Yes indeed, it really has been awesome working with him. I just finished another one and he's done one more of mine ^^ ... It's great to get out of one's comfort zone every once and a while, especially as an artist.

Thank you!! Being recognised by you is an honour - I love the @slothicorn initiative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.93
ETH 3839.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67