Giving Up The Battle To Win The War

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A POST IN WHICH I EXPOSE MY FRAILTIES AND POSTULATE ON THE MERITS OF A VIRTUAL HONESTY BOX

HONESTY BOX LOGO.jpg

Sometimes in life hard decisions have to be made to allow space for new doings to expand and fill the void. (In my mind’s eye I am imagining that funny yellow, fuffy foam stuff builders use to fill holes).

This morning I am sad having had to make a painful decision.

In the 1990’s I was a successful Professional Illustrator, Artist and tutor for Illustration and Graphic Design, at the London College of Printing. I was living in my own house in London, with an agent and numerous galleries exhibiting my work. Heck, I even had work hung in the Royal Academy Summer Show! My work was going from strength to strength and the future looked bright.

12548854_894860797293593_8365980328707622685_n.jpg

And then divorce struck and I became a single parent to my son who, at the time, was two.

Illustration clients and galleries were super slow to settle their accounts and I discovered I had a penchant for picking up stylish delights for pennies, upcycling them, and making a killing in the bargain! The Vintage/Antiques business is a cash game and soon enough I found I had no time for my illustration or art.

Remnants.jpg

I used to load my car with my stock and ‘Run’ it around London; I would pull up outside clients’ shops, unload my legit swag, haggle on price, do the deal and return home with an empty car, full pocket and happy heart in the knowledge that the bills were paid for another month.

One night I met a French fella at The Ministry of Sound, a club in London, and soon I sold up and moved to France where together we opened a shop near Lille and continued to build the business.

After 9 years together we split up and, once again, I found myself alone with my boy.

We chose to remain in France where I worked 60 hour weeks to provide for us both. Until the 2008 financial crash caused my business to free fall. My income, literally overnight, plummeted by a hefty 60%. And never fully recovered.

Since 1989 I have actively refused to play by society rules. I could have easily got a ‘proper job’ as my Father ceaselessly repeats like an annoying parrot with chronic indigestion; but I will not be an asset for another man’s gain. I am a true free spirit and prefer to struggle on, standing in my own truth, rather than bend over and take one for the team!

Without getting distracted with the detritus and details I will simply tell you that since this time I have been trying to find a new way to survive/ultimately thrive.

It is said that every success is built upon failure and, oh boy, I can personally vouch for this having failed more times than I care to remember!

And God loves a tryer!

:)

Today, amongst other diddlings and doings, I am in the process of writing my first book, “Mama, Mama Are You There?”, but this remains a longterm project and meanwhile I have my way to pay.

Enter Digital Art.

My digital art is easily accessible for folks. Pretty much decorative it would hang nicely in most domestic environments and is an affordable alternative to original one-off works. With production developments images can be cheaply and speedily reproduced as quality canvas works. Ecetera.

Inspired I opened a shop and spent many hours building it and listing my works. I spent money and time on promotion and today, after 6 months and not one bleedin’sale, made the painful decision to close it on the erudite advice of my spiritual team who counsel me regularly and advise that it is blockchain technology and cryptocurrency which will pave my way to success!

Still I believe my digital art is viable and I have an idea :)

Whenever I post my work I do so with trust in my heart. Unlike many creatives I do not embed watermarks to deter right click save. Maybe this is foolish on my part but I prefer to believe that folks are true and respectful of an artist’s right to be rewarded for their work.

Turning my back on Facebook I am, after only a month, convinced of the potential for Steemit to be the giant social media platform for the thinking (wo)man.

And so to my idea!

Tadah!

A Virtual Honesty Box.

free-happy-face-clipart-20.jpg

Utilising the internal payment system here on Steemit I propose that, should a person like an image of mine, they right click, save and donate as they see fit and fair. They can then utilize said image for personal use as they wish. Of course I will never know if a person has actually downloaded my work and, rather like the guy selling Raspberries out front of his house, will rely on the upstanding character of others.

Koi.jpg

(Right click, save, donate - utilize as you wish for personal use only).
You can read more about this artwork here: https://steemit.com/art/@ldacey-laforge/animal-spirit-guides-my-original-illustration-for-the-koi

I am interested to know your thoughts on this; and wonder if you believe that it could work?

And finally - An example of one of my illustrations that I had printed on to canvas for under 30 bucks!

Fox and Moon Contest.jpg

Sorry competition closed.

With Love
xox

(Relatively new to Steemit I have a lot to contribute to this vibrant community. All words, pictures and illustrations are my own work. I politely request that if you enjoyed this piece you spread the love and generously upvote/follow and even resteem so as, together, we can fly - with thanks).

http://www.lindadacey-laforge.com

I also invite comment on my recent efforts:

https://steemit.com/life/@ldacey-laforge/impatience-is-a-form-of-self-sabotage

https://steemit.com/spirituality/@ldacey-laforge/wisdom-7

https://steemit.com/inspiration/@ldacey-laforge/why-you-should-consider-ditching-facebook-today

Sort:  

I don’t have a son but have also been in London doing photography and art and it’s defo a constant fight to stay afloat even when you are doing the “huge” things that make it look like your flying high. I love steemit and crypto it allows us to find some stability to go along with the art world to a degree it’s what I’ve been asking for for two years.

Crypto and Steemit look like they will also be my salvation.

Hoorah :)

I have been looking for a way to survive outside of the system for longer than I care to remember.

Our world is not geared for free spirits but with blockchain/crypto et al change is in the breeze.

I wish you a happily creative and successful year in my home town.

xox

“Be firm and flexible” I read that in @cabelindsay’s post yesterday, I think it works for people like us just nicely!
You will do well here but don’t expect it to be quick, it can be a long grind. I’ve moved relatively fast cause I Steem for a few hours a day.

Yeah I went in hard as well as had barely any work the first month I found it then second I somehow had to keep trying and was working so much too but I feel it pays off ! Will check your blog 💕

Since signing up here I pretty much split my time between creating content/commenting and day trading crypto - (all at the same time - aaaargh)! Easily 2 hours a day too.

I have noticed, and confirmed through research, that a persons credibility score gets harder to ameliorate the higher it goes. Getting from 25 to 45 was a breeze, not so 45 -46 :)

Heyho,

Onwards/Upwards.

xox

Yup! I have a feeling 59-60 will be rough. You’ll be here in no time though.

2 hours is nothing for me. I’m usually on here at least four hours a day. I’ve made more progress towards reaching my goals in a few months here than years in my 3d life. It’s slowly starting to cross over into 3d as well!

It would be nice to create some kind of directory of online services and art that accept steemit as payment. I am not sure I have anything to offer the development of such a project but I’d like to convince someone to go and do it

Leaving art hobbies alone for so many years sometimes is tough. When I revisit it, there is a sort of shame. I left it behind in a time in my life when I was too young to know what to do with it. Like a child I abandoned because I was barely an adult and could not possibly support it on my own. Thankfully it is always there waiting to be welcomed back home. Never does it blame for lost time.

Bit like riding a bicycle eh.

;)

xox

Congratulations @ldacey-laforge! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56036.67
ETH 2503.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26