Why You Should Consider Ditching Facebook Today.

in #inspiration7 years ago (edited)

A POST ABOUT THE HIDDEN DECENTRALISATION REVOLUTION THAT IS UNDERWAY AND AN OPEN INVITATION TO ALL MY FB COHORTS TO SPURN, LEARN AND EARN WITH STEEMIT

What follows is, to the uninitiated/newly initiated, (such as moi!), initially complicated stuff and so I have boiled it down to its very bare bones for ease of delivering the message.

For the message is of great importance and needs to be shared.

Far and wide.

Team spirit, in the ether, alerted Rick and I to all of this. They reliably inform us that the concepts of decentralisation which are the foundations for Bitcoin are of huge potential benefit for all of humanity as a means to undermine the dark world system which is corrupt to it’s very fetid core.

So, I am about to share what I have learnt in the last month with you.

It is a great opportunity for us all to grow and blossom and, it is my hope, to open your eyes to an exciting change that is going on, behind the scenes, in our world at this very moment.

sunflowers.jpg

In 2009 an anonymous individual, pseudonym Satoshi Nakamoto, invented Bitcoin which is a cryptocurrency allowing for the decentralization of banking. This concept relies upon an invention called ‘Blockchain’ which facilitates full transparency of all peer to peer transactions without the need for traditional banks. Blockchain are virtual ledgers which record all online activity and are maintained by a system of miners which, for now, kinda confuddles me. That said, I just about grasp the notion that all transactions are monitored and verified by the miners who also, through the process of solving complex computerised maths problems release new coin into the system!

A somewhat bonkers, blow ones’ mind ‘virtual reality system’ with solid and practical applications in our physical ‘real world.’

The key word and concept here being ‘Decentralisation’.

Bitcoin was the heroic first step towards the people reclaiming their (monetary) power and is an expanding and very real threat to the centralized banking system. The banks know this and are scared. Hence, the mainstream media servants of the elite are starting to scaremonger, scorn and down chat Bitcoin in an attempt to undermine its relevance – think recent talk of the ‘Bitcoin Bubble’. And hidden forces are buying into Bitcoin trying to destabilise the markets as the supremacy of the Rothschilds, and their many back-pocket cronies, is finally being successfully challenged.

However, even more exciting than all this is the concept of Blockchain upon which Bitcoin is built. This has many more practical and revolutionary applications in our world and many great minds are utilizing this concept and technology to great advantage. Blockchain truly has the potential to change the topography of the world as we know it today and reclaim from governments, institutions and corporations mans’ right to captain his own vessel.

Bitcoin has recently hit mainstream consciousness and remains, (for now at least), the hero currency but there are in fact over 1300 alternative cryptocurrencies in existence of varying and disparate credibility.

Each ‘Alt Coin’ champions a new business concept which utilizes Blockchain technology as it’s backbone and is then financed directly through the sale and trading of the cryptocurrency coin launched for said particular project. Think decentralised, legitimate business models beyond the immediate control of government and bank.

Steemit: The Thinking Mans’ Facebook.

In 2016 Ned Scott and Dan Larimer launched Steemit which is a self-financing, self-governed, peer to peer social media platform which utilizes Blockchain technology to save content. It has two alt coins or tokens: STEEM and Steem Dollars.

STEEM is the network's base coin and is openly traded on the cryptocurrency exchanges and markets. Its value also backs the value of Steem Dollars.

Steemit, long term, has the potential to outmanoeuvre and beat Facebook at the Social Media game. And here is why:

Using a blockchain enables Steemit to financially reward comments, posts and curation with secure tokens/coins of value.

An egalitarian social media platform Steemit, through a system of upvoting, rewards folks, through a pool of funds, for being the best that they can be. People literally earn money through interacting positively with the community and the more a person interacts positively the more they can earn. A person can even earn money if they don't actually create content but instead add value through commenting, upvoting, (the upvote total is actually shared amongst the Author and upvoters!) and curating.

Each member has voting power which is linked to their reputation and influence ranking. When a person signs up they are automatically ranked at 25 but through hard work and effort this goes up; conversely it can go down as people have the option of down voting or flagging bad attitude or content! This acts as an incentive to shine bright, play nice and not shit in the sandpit.

Each member gets rewarded with STEEM and the US dollar-linked coins called Steem Dollars and it is their market value which determines the value of the pool of rewards.

And then there is Steem Power, SP. This allows participants influence on the platform and can be bought or earned. SP is Steem which has been ‘invested long term’ via a contract into the network. The more SP a person/account has the more influential their vote is on comments and posts.

Steem Power also determines an accounts strength for witness approval voting. In simplistic terms witnesses are upstanding tech savvy members of the community who are voted to bear witness to and maintain the Blockchain – this is a little beyond my level of understanding at this point in time so - nuff said!

Facebook V Steemit.

Having been active on both platforms there are obvious differences between the two in terms of content management and posting, and for now, FB certainly has the upper hand with regard to facilitating live streaming and chat. Whilst it is possible to post long form content on Facebook it is probably fair to surmise that FB will remain, for the foreseeable future at least, the preferred social media platform of choice for cheery chit chat.

Steemit is a more serious affair where true discussion is encouraged and rewarded and instead of pages participants have individual blogs where it is suggested they create unique content. Plagiarism is not tolerated and is ruthlessly down voted. Steemit is not for everyone but for those who have a message to share, and a unique voice, it is in a league of its own.

On January 10th, 2017, Steemit had more than 125k registered users with 4,4k being active in the last 24 hours.*

Still relatively new Steemit, like the early days of the internet, offers boundless opportunities for committed individuals. The Steemit community is supportive, driven and invested in the platform and believes that Steemit will achieve great things in the not so distant future – I tend to agree. With the financial transparency afforded by Blockchain it is possible to view the virtual wallets of users and there are many successful folks with holdings of $100,000 plus which they have accumulated through their genuine efforts on Steemit.

So, Why Ditch Facebook?

Aside from the most obvious and convincing argument to ditch Facebook, the potential to earn significant cash on Steemit, I would encourage you to think about making the move as a stance against corporate control upon us all. Facebook is forever changing its’ algorithms and parameters confounding its users and forcing folks to pay for exposure. FB, despite the personal and generous stance of Mark Zuckerburg who gives generously of his personal wealth, is part of the global elite which wields undue power upon the masses. The same goes for Instagram et al. These are glossy social media platforms which devour our hours like Whales swilling krill. They have no true care for community and are, bottom line, self-serving greedy corporate beasts.

I joined Steemit only 28 days ago and in that short time have had many meaningful interactions with smart, switched on individuals. On Facebook I have a few friends who challenge, add to and enrich my life but for the majority of the time, with the majority of my contacts, we simply engage in idle chit chat. I may have only earnt a derisible $50.00 but I can clearly see the potential for earning much more as I broaden my appeal and reach and significantly, should I choose to take my Steem SBD to market it is actually worth a respectable £154.00 today! And finally, rather miraculously I have garnered more followers in a fortnight on Steemit than I have managed in a year on FB!

Blockchain and cryptocurrency allow for innovative business startups such as Steemit which hint at a decentralised and bright future for us all.

So folks, I invite you to join me over on Steemit – cos, as you already know, you gotta be in it to win it! And even if you choose to remain on FB, for now, it cannot harm to add another string to your bow.

With Love.

xox

*Source: https://www.steem.center/index.php?title=Steemit

(New to Steemit I have a lot to contribute to this vibrant community. All words, pictures and illustrations are my own work. I politely request that if you enjoyed this piece you spread the love and generously upvote/follow and even resteem so as, together, we can fly - with thanks).

http://www.lindadacey-laforge.com

I invite you to check out my recent posts. I'd love to hear your thoughts :)

https://steemit.com/life/@ldacey-laforge/impatience-is-a-form-of-self-sabotage

https://steemit.com/art/@ldacey-laforge/animal-spirit-guides-my-original-illustration-for-the-koi

https://steemit.com/spirituality/@ldacey-laforge/hindsight-is-indeed-a-wonderful-thing

Sort:  

Crypto is bringing decentralized technology but the power is still quite centralized within it. Check what percentage of btc is owned by a few whales. It seems to be a similar trend with each altcoin including steemit.

Also, This is information that most steemians know, you should link this on your Facebook and some Facebook groups, it’d be a fantastic introduction for them, one of the best I’ve seen. I’ll post it some places as well if you don’t mind.

And don’t shit I’m the sandbox!

Fantastic writeup.
"Bitcoin was the heroic first step towards the people reclaiming their (monetary) power and is an expanding and very real threat to the centralized banking system"
^ on point.

As far as Facebook, I barely use my personal account AT ALL. I am only on there for my steemit dreamit group. And a few other art related associations.

Steemit has fulfilled a deep chasm for me that years of trying to interact meaningfully on fb has not. Any real conversations or interactions are dismissed, looked down on, or ignored altogether. That's why I dislike fb so much. You get all that I was missing & more here on steemit. Well, except for those disingenuous types we discussed on my recent post.

Good info. I am still trying to learn more about Bitcoin.

Me too! :)

Happy learning throughout 2018!

xox

It could overtake Facebook Twitter You tube & E-bay. It has the makings, all that needs to grow is it's popularity. Hopefully we are all whales at the top of the pyramid when it finally does.

For what my opinion is worth - I agree :)

A social media giant where the participants have an interest financially to provide valuable content, encouragement and community has to be a long term winner.

Happy days!

xox

PS My animal spirit guide is an Eagle I have been reliably told.

An Eagle has great vision much better than a human. P.S I have a tent on a roundabout that nobody can see or will find. It's a great place to meditate, 30 miles ish South ish from you.

I thought I was pretty non mainstream having lived in touring caravans in fields and houses with no facilities but you are a far hardier beast than moi :)

My husband, Rick, has had several episodes of living under bridges in his time.

I wonder does the damp and cold not get to you? - I ask as, at the moment, we are unwelcome guests at my Fathers and we were discussing the possibility of buggering off in our tent!

The Eagle is also the bird closest to Spirit they say.

Keep warm and well.

xox

The damp & cold no I'm not even registered with a doctor. I put that down to the water I drink (See my post on Distilled water) my tent is hidden by trees & they keep it dry. It's finding that perfect pitch you don't need dog walkers finding it you need to find somewhere nobody will look. Mine is awesome it's in the middle of everywhere & the middle of nowhere. I can even light a fire at night & remain invisible.

I could not agree more. Facebook is also used by groups of bad guys to wage war on good guys - I was set up on Facebook once. I don't want to go into detail but in my experience they have teams of black ops experts who build psy op pages.

Whoah! The dark knows no bounds :(

xox

I've resteemed two of your posts already and am going to follow. :)

Great post and I completely agree with you. Facebook is obviously useful to keep in touch of people but in terms of content is getting so boring! Except for some funny memes and jokes I cant find anything interesting in it anymore. Plus, the way Facebook completely disregards people's privacy is scary.

The rate of adoption of Facebook was really slow for a lot of the people I interact with there. But I keep encouraging folks to switch to Steemit, or at least come check it out. Really hoping this catches on more! Thank you for this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28