A Little Misadventure in My Life | Illustration

in #art7 years ago (edited)

The Millennial Kind of Concerts

I love attending band concerts - but only those that I could afford. In college, there were band concerts from time to time that I managed to attend with my friends. My most favorite would be the free admission ones, which happens every night for one whole week every month of February. 

We, students, called this week the UP Feb Fair. It has a fairly political significance to it, but at the end of the day, it is a fair, with kiosks here and there and concerts to brighten the night. 

Once upon a concert...

It was my freshman year and my first time to attend the fair. The night was warm due to increasing number of people in the audience and I cursed myself for even wearing a hoodie. We waited an unbelievably long time just for the band we were waiting for: a local band called Silent Sanctuary. Before this band, however, a couple of other bands played for everyone, but I did not enjoy them.

Suddenly, I hated the millennial kind of concerts. All for one reason: the phones.

It sucks when you're tiny... and when all you can do is watch from other people's phones.

It sucks, but I ended up relying on these phones to even get a glimpse of the artists. I am a tiny human being (don't ask about my height - it's sensitive topic 😂) and it disappoints me that all around me were tall students who made it harder to see the stage because of their phones.

My roommates - who were with me then - were enjoying themselves by singing along, but I was too disappointed to even enjoy (I was a party-pooper, I know). So guess what?

I fell asleep.

I fell asleep. Standing. In the middle of a noisy crowd. In the middle of a concert. With people around me screaming bloody murder.

I was honestly willing to stay that way for a long time. I possibly could. I was not enjoying the show anymore anyway. My roommates were enjoying themselves, but I was not that bad to force them to go home already. 

I was OK, I thought.

Apparently, the band's frontman decided that he didn't want barricades pushing the audience back, and urged the producers to please remove said barricades (which were humans, by the way... I mean, seriously?) so everyone could come closer to the stage and have more fun.

Somewhere along the pushing, the phone of the person behind me slipped from his hands and fell on top of my head and onto the ground. I wasn't sure what happened to the phone, but I was so sure that I hated that concert even more than I already did. 😭💔

Things I didn't like about millennial concerts

  1. The phones and cameras. People are so engrossed on capturing the moment with their cameras that they eventually fail to truly capture the whole event. I like the idea of hand-raising without phones and cameras, and nodding along to the music with the whole crowd. 
  2. Devices falling on innocent people's heads. Well, it did hurt! It happened only once, but I will certainly not forget it.

My In My Life illustrated stories:

Sort:  

I am not of significant stature myself @erangvee but I have always held to what my mother told me and that is that big things come in small packages.

Mobile phones are one of my pet hates in any circumstances but you are definitely right that they should not be used while attending a concert, at least not as much as they are. Most would be better served to stay at home and watch on TV if possible given that they end up seeing very little with through their own eyes. Life through a lens is the new norm these days. :(

Great post my friend!

Thanks! I will definitely hold onto that saying as well! 😊 Thanks for sharing.

You're right. Sadly, mobile phones have become such a constant in people's life that many begin to abuse them. 😐

Upvoted and also resteemed!

Nah, its not about being a party pooper or anything. If you felt that way in that moment, then you truly weren't enjoying it @erangvee, and seeing everyone else having fun and feeling left out isn't a good feeling. Don't feel subconscious about your height. I can tell you have a lot of heart, and a lot of people today lack that. Also in today's society people talk more on their phone's then talking to people face to face, well I mean that's how I feel anyway. I made a post on that not too long ago.

Luckily, even some of my friends are as short as I am. 😂 We pour our vexation over our heights together LOL. About the phone, that's so true. I imagine that its purpose has been thoroughly abused. 😐 Thanks for sharing! :)

Me: burst in laughters couple of times.

  1. The HEIGHT. Don't be too harsh on yourself. You're not too "pugo". Lol. You are a Villapando after all. 😂😂
  2. The phone on the head. I kinda anticipated it sometime earlier in the story-line. Errr, nope. I laughed coz u got hurt.

I love you, sistahhh! mwuahhh! 😙

YOU BULLY! 😭

  1. Another story: we were in a photo shoot for our institute's brochure, and they needed three "short people." Our professor instantly looked at me after calling out the shortest girl in the room and said, "O, Aira, go with them." 😂
  2. BULLY!

😘💕

How many times do you need to say "Bully" to convince me (or yourself) that I am not?! :D

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Totally agree.
They have the opportunity to watch it live but still chose to watch it or cover it with their phones.

Which is really sad and disappointing. :(

@erangvee apparently a large number of millennials who goes to these concerts are there purely for the novelty of being there. I'm sure a huge number of them felt the exact same was as you do, but expresses it otherwise. Love your story !

I'm sure a huge number of them felt the exact same was as you do

I'd have to agree with that. And I'd like to hold onto that thought. 😊 Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

I love the way you write your story and add these lovely drawings to illustrate the event. Totally agree about the phones. I see it a lot at weddings, people should just enjoy and really 'experience' the event. I bet they won't even watch the movie or photos they've made.

I bet they won't even watch the movie or photos they've made

True! I know someone who likes to take videos of concerts (or any other event), but at the end of the day, these videos end up just sitting in her computer and never watched again. :( Thanks for dropping byyy! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52