A Page in My Life | Illustration

in #art7 years ago (edited)

The Ritual Dance of the Brave

I attended college in a state university, effectively cutting off my 12 years worth of private schooling. The diversity astonished me - everyone was so liberated that I felt overwhelmed. There were kids with blue, red, green, and even rainbow-colored hair. There were those that didn't look like they even took a shower; they were wearing pajamas, for goodness' sake!

I didn't think I would get used to the environment, even when I was finally a junior student...



I thought it was an ordinary day. It wasn't.

I remember one day during my junior year being particularly bad. It started with me having only an hour of sleep, reviewing for some long exam in my chemistry course. Despite the long hours of review, the exam proved to be difficult, and I remember telling to myself, "Wow, what a merciless professor."

In hindsight, it was very well-known throughout the campus that Prof. X was a terror - both in terms of lecture and exams. I should have expected this level of slavery in the first place. In the end, I was still the sleepy, frustrated, and dead college student that my other classmates were.

I was on my way to the office where I worked as a student assistant when I heard a very loud BANG! - which was weird, because it was exactly 12 noon. During this time, the university police force would ring a loud alarm, not a gunshot.

A gunshot

It didn't really register in me, and I remember thinking, "What was that?"

I was literally a zombie then and could very well care less about the whole situation, but the students around me began creating a commotion and running past me. 

They were all squealing. Squealing. So I looked around, trying to find what the commotion was all about.



I wished for the earth to open up and swallow me whole.

"Shocked" was definitely an understatement. I was beyond flabbergasted. 

My friends tell me that I'm an open book because I turn red really easily; so I bet I was very, very red the moment I turned around to see what the commotion was about. 

Running just past me were boys. Naked boys. They were each holding up placards of political protests and a couple of roses in their otherwise free hands. 

In my dead state, I had completely forgotten that it was the day. The Oblation Run. The so-called "ritual dance of the brave." 

HAH. Very brave indeed. And embarrassing. I didn't even spend a single millisecond looking at them and immediately turned around to blindly run toward the building I was heading at.

Since then, I made sure to take note of the date for the Oblation always (it changes annually). 😂 That is, to prepare me in case of situations like this. Anyway, that was the first and last time I ever witnessed the run.


My In My Life illustrated stories:

Sort:  

Haha! Oblation run in UP. I haven't been to one. I bet it's scary! I like your illustration. I can imagine you running away from those small Tweety birds. :D

Haha. 😂 Now that I think of it, it is scary. They just pop up from nowhere, because their location before the run always changes every year. HAHAHAHA OMG SMALL TWEETY BIRDS. 😂 Needless to say, my friends made fun of how I looked after the event.

I will smash them if they pop up near me. lol! You should make more illustrations like this, I love it! :)

Looool that must of been one hell of a experience. I like the illustrations by the way. Very anime, I like it. :)

It is. ^_^;; HAHAHAHA. Thank you!

As usual, your art is great and post formatting is superb!

You're welcome!

Haha, great story! 😄 I love the illustrations you made!

LOL. Thank you so much, @artwithflo! :)

I just love what you did with your illustrations along with the story <3

Thanks a lot @aishwarya! ♥

Hahahaha... That's one heck of an experience! ^^ So you're from UP... hihi~ :D
I'm not sure, but I guess they also do oblation run here in UP-Cebu... I only go to their campus during the annual "Otakufest" or cosplay event though.. haha ^^

Love your illustrations!!! <3

I was embarrassed for them, good lords. ^_^;; When I told my roommate about this, she said that one of our friends was among the runners... I... didn't even want to know that one bit. T_T

I think UP Cebu has an oblation run, too. Should you decide to watch it this year, watch with caution. LOOOL!

Hahahaha... OMG!! It must have been awkward talking with that friend afterwards.. lol~

No thanks.. I've seen plenty in my first course.. haha :P

It creeps me out to think that he may be one of those that I saw running naked about the campus that day. 🙈 Never looked at him the same way again LOL.

OMG HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. 😂 That must have been real awkward the first time!

hahaha... xDDD Ohmyyyy~!!!!

Lol... it was, but kailangan ehh~ no room for malice... We had to look at everything with a serious face.. hahaha xDDD

lol .. i love this. thanks for sharing it @erangvee

Hahaha 😂 Thanks a lot, @bitrocker2020! 😊

Thanks - upvoted. You may be interested in a new project I have started to help minnows further: Minnows Accelerator Project [August 2017 Signups]

I saw you had great success when your article was promoted by Curie; I hope you can find similar success moving forward. Thanks for reading.

Hi, @rycharde! Thank you so much for dropping by. I will definitely check it out. 😊

Cute illustrations. :)
I have not witnessed that and no plans in the future. :P

Hahahah 😂 If you changed your mind, proceed with caution LOL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69