A Charity in My Life | Illustration

in #art7 years ago (edited)

The Greatest Act of Grace

I had been involved in community service even as a kid. The school I attended then made every student participate in annual medical and dental missions, coastal cleanup, and outreach programs. As kids, what we were doing felt like a school activity more than service. Growing up, however, it felt better. We felt good about ourselves, and felt good for the people we got to help.

After all, giving is the greatest act of grace.

Along the streets

I knew very well that things would change upon entering college. I would not be required to participate in community service. I would not be required to join socio-civic organizations. But should I stop this greatest act of grace?

Once, on my way to university, I was getting down the footbridge leading to a public transport terminal. There was an old man leaning by the banisters and sitting on the steps of the stairs. I had been seeing him in the many times I had walked the same path before, but it was only then that I really took notice.


His clothes were muddy. He had no slippers on. His hands were dirty. More than anything, his eyes looked so sad and tragic. 

Many people passed him by, effectively ignoring him.

I could have been one of them.

It was a Monday. It was a busy morning. I traveled two hours from my parents' home and I was running late for my first class at 10 AM. I had a huge travel backpack weighing down on my shoulders, and I selfishly thought that I shouldn't bother with stopping for just three seconds and offering any help.

There were many other people out there, anyway.

Surely, a couple of these many people would spend three seconds and give him a penny or two. I was already quite under the bridge when I stopped, walked back up, and looked at the man.

None of these "many other people" stopped on their way.

Maybe they thought the same way I did? There are many other people out there, anyway. That thought eventually led to no one at all.

I searched for my purse for some loose change, got the breakfast that my mother woke up in the early hours of a Monday to prepare for me, got the bottle of water I always had with me, and handed them really quickly to the man. 

He was so happy.

He was so thankful. He repeatedly said his thanks: Salamat! Salamat! And I could only smile and run away - I was still getting late, after all. But you know what?

It was worth it.

A little charity for me

There are a lot of hearts everywhere.


The community lived near a large expanse of rice field with a beautiful view of Mt. Makiling.

I was tired another Monday morning - I was walking around this rural community with my classmates and conducting surveys in partnership with the government's Department of Trade and Industry. My groupmates and I decided to separate to do the job faster, but soon I ended up getting lost.

By the time I made it out to the main road, my other classmates were already nowhere in sight. I was tired, sweating, and my legs hurt, and then I'd find that I was left alone? I hated walking a couple of blocks alone just to get to our meeting place.

That was, until an old lady called out to me. 

She said, in Filipino, "You're one of those students conducting the survey? You must be tired. Here, I bought you a drink. And take this." (Non-verbatim)

She was literally handing me a 20-peso bill! And a bottle of soda! My heart felt warm. I had to refuse it, though. I thought that I didn't want to be such a bother.

The lady insisted. "No, no. You look tired. Take this. Consider this as payment for the effort you and your friends are doing. Use the 20 pesos to buy snacks to eat." (Non-verbatim)

I ended up smiling, thanking her, and walking back to the class' meeting place alone, even when it was a very long distance. I didn't mind anymore.

There are so many good in the world; I hope many knew.


My In My Life illustrated stories:

Sort:  

once an OLCAn, always an OLCAn. :D

Truth! ❤️️

You got my vote and a resteem :]

Hi @just-me! Thank you so much! 😊

Wow one moral taken from ur life story is that one doesn't always give but he will get in return too .
In this world there are many kind people but I don't think we'll ever take notice of them if we don't stop and be the first one , extend our help to the needy so that others may extend theirs to us.

We all have the ability to give and help, and I'm sure that when a problem strikes, many will be willing to extend their help back. (Sometimes, though, this help gets to be a bit conditional (i.e. "Make sure to give me back some!"), which kinda sucks.)

Thanks for dropping by! :)

you've got a lovely heart ! keep it up @erangvee

I try. 😊 Thanks for dropping by, @bitrocker2020!

Very nice life story. :)

Thanks!!! 💕

Such a lovely, inspiring and uplifting story!

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64078.16
ETH 3471.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52