Today's Drawing during the Power Outage.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Having been without power and staring out at a cold sea, I did this sketch today imagining a gal and her animals in a cold huddle, bare feet, in the icy air.

march15snowsketch.jpg

I have been so chilly I just imagined a cool blue scene of a gal and her friends braving the ice and snow in her bare feet. I sketched it in pencil and then inked it. Here is the ink:

march15sketch.jpg

I'm thinking of incorporating it into my robot sketch I made during last storm when I make it into an oil.

Yesterday was the first day in months that I have not posted on Steemit. I felt so disconnected and frustrated. The good part was that though we still do not have power, a friend did have it and had me over for the night. @winstonalden still wanted to make the train to the city so he spent all morning shoveling us out so I could just manage to get out of our long very poorly plowed road. When I arrived at my friends, she had a yummy cheese plate waiting for me and hot coffee.

march15food.jpg

We played board games and visited (another friend also without power came over as well). Once @winstonalden was back at Toad Hall he called and said we were still without power. He stayed there and braved another cold night as he wanted to get up this morning and be closer to the train to get back to the city for work. I stayed over at my friends and we all stayed up late laughing and trying to make the best of a bad situation. It was nice to sleep in a warm house, I even slept by the fire, it was lovely.

So, this morning, after a stop at a cafe, I texted our neighbour back at Toad Hall and he said we would not have power back until this Saturday. My heart sank. However, we have a small cottage in a village here on Cape that we rent out in the Summer. I kept it open this winter (thank god) and last night I stopped and turned on lights (even though there was no power) so that today I could drive to it and if I saw the lights on (through the curtains) I'd know it would be a place to stay until Saturday. I was SO HAPPY to see the lights on.

I parked at the Inn next door (who always has a plowed drive) and trudged through the snow, turned on the heat, started coffee, shoveled the drive of the cottage (very deep snow) and parked the car.

Now, I am snug and warm, had a lovely hot shower, drinking piping hot coffee and just finished watercolouring this study. I have so much art to catch back up on, but it's such a relief to have a warm place with electricity and internet. I can't wait to catch back up on Steemit. I feel so out of the loop.



If you like my work please upvote, resteem and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

This drawing makes me a bit chilly, sitting here in my chair. Nice work, it has so much feeling in it. Even the chook and Monty look a bit negatively tepid. Glad that wasn't really you all, sitting on a rock out front in the elements.

Well, I did my job then, I wanted anyone viewing this to get a bit of a shiver, because boy oh boy did I shiver whilst drawing it. It WAS cold and with our wall of windows which are a clever way to view the sea in the height of Summer are a poor way to live in the midst of Winter with no heat and power and no hot coffee. But, when one lives in a drafty old place only meant to be used three HOT months out of the year, what do you expect. And poor Monty and the chooks were probably miserable too. Their heat lamp, which they don't need (chickens are pretty strong and mine are feather footed so good at staying warm) I still give it them and the same with the growing chicks they are old enough to not need the lamp, but I let them have it so they can enjoy their little lives so we ALL suffered those heatless cold days. I'm still a little gun shy now when I check the weather each morning.

Oh my, that sounds harsh! So long without electricity, how is that even possible?
How are all of your fluffy little ones doing in this freezing situation?

It has been trying. Lucking my chicks had reached the age where they have enough feathers to make it ok. They are still living with their fellow quail chicks but quail grow at an amazing rate, so they are fully feathered adults already and happily huddle with the chicks, keeping them warm. My other hens and roos are adults so they are fine. And today the weather is very warm high 40s F like Spring and all the snow is melting but the power is still out in many places as the storm was so bad it downed all sorts of wires and there are crews working non stop. Not an enviable job, that is for sure.

Crazy!
Glad to hear that the feathery ones are doing ok. How are your cats and dogs doing? My little senior dog would not have been able to handle such a thing, for sure!
Good thing it's finally warming up and hopefuly the power will be back soon <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47