Pencil Pencil Portrait of My Mother - Madam Veronica G. Bedindang

in #art7 years ago

MOM header.jpg

This is a pencil portrait of my mom which I completed sometime in March. I am submitting this portrait for @juliakponsford 's ART EXPLOSION WEEK 3 challenge. The theme for this week's challenge is LOVE. I submitted my first entry, Pencil Portrait of My Husband and Son earlier today. I couldn't find a more perfect entry than portraits of my beloved ones.

My mom. Both of us don't always see things eye to eye. As someone with a choleric temperament she is a 'take charge' kind of person and her tenacity is such an admirable trait. She is strong and always able to persevere through whatever life throws at her. I take after my dad more than my mom in terms of personality. I am quiet and introverted like my dad. So these differences in temperament sometimes make it hard for me to accept my mom's ways of handling things. Regardless of our differences, I love her dearly and this portrait was my Mother's Day gift for her.

Here are the progress photos for this portrait...

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.JPG

5.jpeg

6.jpeg

7.JPG

What do you think of this portrait? Please leave your comments below. Thank you!

My Previous Posts

Upvote and resteem if you think they are worthy. Thank you!

Pencil Portrait of My Husband and Son

SAC: What's Up Dog Stencil Acrylic Painting

My One Month Anniversary On Steemit: 10 Tips for Fellow Newbies

My Flower Doodle for Doodle Challenge Week 1 - Second Entry

My Flower Collage Doodle for Doodle Challenge Week 1

TinyArtChallenge ~ Week #2: My Second Entry - Tiny Surfboards Painting

shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

Wow..family first! This is my winning art work...
Reminds me of my blog post on family versus office...
Very nice work!

Thank you for your kind words @kenhudoy :)

welcome dear
find time also to check out my latest blog post...a short story....support if you like it
thanks

Great detail. I love the realism. I would recommend using some slightly darker pencils to heighten the contrast, however. I use 8B to get a really rich value for the darkest areas. Upvoted and following. Best wishes in the contest!

Thank you for the feedback @mattphilleo . I agree about the darker shade and I am still struggling to achieve it. I think for this portrait I used 5B for the hair. The downside of using pencils is the graphite shine which I hate :( . I tried charcoal but I didn't like the outcome, I need more practice using it. I read about Staedtler Mars Lumograph Black pencils which is similar to charcoal but I haven't try it yet :)

try making graphite powder: just rotate the tip on the pencil sharpner blade...I use this trick to give tonality and shades...just press the powder with your finger and make black clouds :)) your mom is the strong type I have here, they learned to survive the stuffest way ;)

Thank you for the tip @kingyus . I will give it a try then :)

no pro go pro ;)

Great comment
Guess you an artists too

Waw!!! it so coll mabro.

Makes me inspired, and I will do the same

very nice. i think this should be the best gift for your mother. she will love this.

Right
..good gift for mother...

Thank you @dadhich.abhi007 . Yeah she loves it :)

Awesome art.I am voting you.Please check my post.

Great comment
Do you draw

Nice job . Keep it up

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love it.. U made a great potrait..😍😍

Check out my drawings too at my blog https://steemit.com/@asmartian

Thank you @asmartian . I checked out your art and they blown me away!

Do you also draw...nice comment

Love it!
please check out my stuff if you have a chance.
:)

Well done. The artwork is good. I especially love the hair. You brought it to life marvelously. Well done once again.

Thank you for your kind words @charliebee :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46