Doodle: While You Were Sleeping

in #art7 years ago

sleep.jpg

One of the things I like to do as a self-taught artist is to look at other people sketchbooks! I would browse Pinterest looking for inspirations and recently I came across some sketchbook images from a well-known British artist, Henry Moore. This particular sketchbook contains his well-known sketches of people sleeping. In 1940, Moore was commissioned by War Artists Advisory Committee to draw images of people taking shelter from air raids in the London underground. These sketches were often interpreted as metaphors for the courage of the British people in the face of war.

A couple of sketches by Henry Moore.

art-museum-moore4.jpg

00b46d6b0be82796181034a53f7d06e2--henry-moore-drawings-art-drawings.jpg

Henry Moore's Shelter Sketches

Source

Inspired by these sketches I made a couple of drawings of a random someone in a state of peaceful, unmoving repose. While we are sleeping we are in one of our most vulnerable states, unguarded and weak.

25627352_10155838213744070_2036086184_n.jpg

25589790_10155838213659070_102420506_n.jpg

On these pages, I wrote a beautiful poem by Margaret Atwood, "Variation on the Word Sleep", because it suits the theme of my drawings. Here's the first verse...you can read the rest of the poem here.

"I would like to watch you sleeping,
which may not happen.
I would like to watch you,
sleeping. I would like to sleep
with you, to enter
your sleep as its smooth dark wave
slides over my head..."

The poem is not what you think it's about. It's not about wanting to get laid at all. Basically, the poem talks about wanting to help someone overcoming his fears in his dreams and being with him in his time of need and grief. A very beautiful poem. I wish I could write something like that!


Thank you for visiting!

My previous posts:


Doodle: Wave Of The Sea

Doodle: Standing In the Rain

Someday I Will Participate In Stencil Art Prize

My Entry For Drawitbetter Contest #7 ~ Parrot

Meeting One Of My Idols, Emila Yusof


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship




APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created by @zord189

Sort:  

I went the Henry Moore sculptures open-air exhibition when it was in London. I admire his work a lot, although I don't always understand it.

You are very fortunate to see his work exhibited. He was a prolific sculptor and very well known worldwide. His sketches and drawings have that 'sculpture feel' to them.

when I watch people sleeping... I really hope I can see their dream...
:) ... nice poem sis @coloringiship... your art is appealing to the soul... love it.

Thank you @sireh ...personally I would not want to see people dreams...sekali nampak nightmare jembalang baru tau hahaha

@coloringiship,

Your post made me think of the times during my military service when I had to sleep in a tree!

Happy Holidays.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Thank you @jaichai ...slept in a tree? I am sure that was very uncomfortable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51