My Entry For Drawitbetter Contest #7 ~ Parrot

in #drawitbetter6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Here is my entry for @sirsensei 's Drawitbetter Contest #7. The theme for this week is PARROT. It has been a couple of months since I submitted an entry for a contest and painting this piece was a lot of fun. I had not been able to do much art for the past couple of months because I was ill and hospitalized twice. On top of that my little family and I were busy making arrangements to uprooting our lives and moving to Klang Valley. There really wasn't much time to do anything else.

This is my first time participating in Drawitbetter Contest. Since all types of painting techniques and styles are welcome, I decided to paint in my usual style - mixed media street art-inspired pop art painting. I used watercolors and markers for this painting.

The progress photos are shown below.

The background was splattered with watercolors - turquoise, vermillion, yellow and light green.

1.jpg

2.jpg

The reference image was taken from a public domain site, Pixabay. It was manipulated in an image editing software, GIMP, to create the stencil. The cut stencil was traced on the paper. However I just traced the main outline and hand drawn the details. It was extremely hard to cut every tiny piece with a limited amount of time. (It could take months to cut the tiny details for large stencils).

3.jpg

Finally, I used black markers and fine liners to color the parrot.

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

And here is the completed painting and my entry for the contest!


front.jpg


Thank you for visiting!

My previous posts:


Meeting One Of My Idols, Emila Yusof

Forever Young - Remembering My Best Friend, Delia

We Finally Moved to Klang Valley!


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship




APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Best drawing working these are absolutely nice

@coloringiship,nice to see You among the participants of this competition. I saw here a lot of talented works. Your parrot occupies a worthy place in this competitive collection. For me this is a very unusual technique. It's original. I wish You good luck in this contest and I hope to see Your other work.

Thank you so much @madlenfox . This is my first time participating and there are many wonderful pieces submitted by others :)

I like the concept, goodluck:)

Learn new skills,Thanks!

Glad you learn something from this @irisz ...thanks!

Very nice art!

Upvoted and followed!

OOOOH! I LOVE this style of painting. Fantastic job!

wow amazing. I wish i could do something like you.

Thank you @aikkhorn ...I am very sure you could do this too...art just involves a lot of practice :)

All the best sis... I hope u win... niceee!

Thank you bro...doubt it. I am just participating for the fun of it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66547.84
ETH 3525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54