Meeting One Of My Idols, Emila Yusof

in #art7 years ago (edited)

17990986_10155138900924070_7748451899618459204_n.jpg

I had the privilege to meet the well-known award-winning Malaysian children book illustrator, Emila Yusof on Bookaroo Children’s Literature Festival which was held in Pustaka Negeri Sarawak on April 22 this year. It was a dream come true. You see, Emila is one of the illustrators that inspired me in my journey as a self-taught artist. She is self-taught because she couldn't afford to go to art school and after her SPM (national high school exam) had to work to support her younger siblings.

I came across Emila's picture books when I was searching for local coloring books for grown-ups. (Yes, you read it right. There is such thing as coloring books for adults. For those who are unaware, I am a coloring book illustrator too, but more about that in future posts.) So, I was in the midst of working on my first adult coloring book (Sarawak Tattoo Mandalas) and because adult coloring wasn't a trendy thing in Malaysia at that time, I was curious and wondered if I was the first Malaysian to publish coloring books for grown-ups. It turned out I wasn't. Emila and Rizal Paper Bag Head beat me to it. Rizal published his Bunga and Monster coloring book a couple of months before Emila's came out with her Colourart Series. So you could say that I am the third Malaysian to published coloring books for adults. We have several local artists who later published their own books and the most well known is of course, Marty Woods :)

Anyway back to my story of meeting Emila.

Initially, I was (tentatively) invited as one of Bookaroo's speakers but I declined because I felt I wasn't ready. To be honest I felt intimidated. There were some big names among the invited speakers such as Heidi Munan (researcher and Honorary Curator of Beads at the Sarawak Museum), Evi Shelvia (Indonesian illustrator), Siddhant Shah (Indian heritage architect) and so on. Sent shivers down my spine...I am nobody among these people LOL.

From her Facebook status, I knew Emila would be one of the speakers so I sent a personal message telling her I would like to meet up. She said yes and off I went.

I brought a copy of Emila's Mother Earth coloring book for her to sign. Yes, I am meeting a star and getting her autograph is a must.

When I reached the venue, Emila was having a doodling session with a group of children so I had to wait. It didn't take long though. I had a brief chat with her and Evi Shelvia (she's the one with gray blouse). I can't remember what we talked about though LOL. Both of them were very friendly and down to earth and it was a great honor to meet both of them. Even though I can't remember much what we talked about but I do remember one piece of advice Emila gave me - being self-taught we have to constantly learn and try new things. The journey is tough because we don't have paper credentials and that is why we have to be courageous and persevere.

Yes, yes. That's the kind of advice I need to hear - to have the courage to try and push beyond my limits.

Pictures below - a couple of Emila's book I owned and some coloring in I completed.

11896030_376703645872028_6835830497532659317_n.jpg

11889519_376703549205371_3597394477201848502_n.jpg

11892110_376703869205339_2275699398884125721_n.jpg

11954799_10153476448529070_8083241738467059546_n.jpg

25360373_10155820252619070_325080844_n.jpg


Thank you for visiting!

My previous posts:



Forever Young - Remembering My Best Friend, Delia

We Finally Moved to Klang Valley!


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

good posting !

I knew there's adult coloring book, but I never tried them because most of my friends couldn't finish them for a page... but if it's yours I would wanna keep one and colour them 😄😄😄

Hahahaha..many people tried it for the hype but later gave up because it could take a lot of time to finish a page XD

Yaaa... Emila Yusof ... I know her... great illustrator. Had the chance met and joined an exhibition in Bangsar with her yearss ago... nice lady.

Glad u met her... such an inspiration...

Yes I love her art ...her characters are too adorable :)

I can see how happy this made you! Good to see you up and about my friend. The colouring is beautiful. I don't know this author so will keep an eye out.

Thank you @deemarshall ...you can find her children's books on her publisher's site: http://www.oyezbookstore.com/ :)

Thank you :) I will look.

Thank you for visiting @shariarahammad :)

Welcome

Hopefully I'll get your posts all the time

As an artist its your privilege and honor to get an autograph from Emila Yosof.. and you had done a wonderful art that shown here for us.. Keep doing such a great stuff.. @coloringiship

Thank you @amrumk ... it was an honor to meet her in person. She is an amazing artist :)

It's always inspiring to meet people in your craft. Remember though that they are just that too, people. And these people used the same human ways to get to there they are, so you can too!

Thank you for your kind words @zeroooc . You are absolutely right :)

Keep on crafting! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39