Doodle: Mercy and Forgiveness

in #art7 years ago (edited)

MERCY.jpg

So whatever you say or whatever you do, remember that you will be judged by the law that sets you free. There will be no mercy for those who have not shown mercy to others. But if you have been merciful, God will be merciful when he judges you. ~ James 2: 12-13

People will offend us and, at times, downright outrage us. I was having some difficult moments dealing with people this year (who hasn't?). There were people who offended and caused me anger. They hurt me with their words. Some even criticized and insulted me without knowing me personally. In one case someone even insulted and made fun of someone dear to me who had passed away.

I admit in my mind I wanted to cause them harm and retaliate, maybe with greater insult and probably with cursing words.

But I didn't.

Not because I am a good and kind person but because whatever my intention was, my conscience wasn't clear and it was downright against my conviction; in what I professed to believe.

I am a Christian. I have lots of weaknesses and faults and I dare not raise my head in shame at times but God shows me undeserving grace and forgiven me.

If I am forgiven, who am I not to forgive?

If I have been shown mercy, who am I not to be merciful?

It's true that those people who wronged me do not deserve my kindness and forgiveness but I am no different. What makes me feel I deserve to receive God's grace?

Whether I like it or not, people will offend me till the day I die. Am I going to live a bitter life with vengeful spirit and forfeit what God had promised me in eternity?

Will my petty grievances worth it in the end?


Thank you for visiting!

My previous posts:


Doodle: While You Were Sleeping

Doodle: Wave Of The Sea

Doodle: Standing In the Rain

Someday I Will Participate In Stencil Art Prize

My Entry For Drawitbetter Contest #7 ~ Parrot


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship




APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created by @zord189

Sort:  

Hi @coloringship, I've found your blog through Steemit Bloggers! Thank you for your honest post, the topic of mercy and forgiveness is very interesting to me. You put it beautifully into words. And inspired by your reflections 'd like to wish us both peace! In 2018 and in general hah :) I also like your doodle! All the best, and see you around Steemit! Klaudia :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42