Let's Get Better - Drawing & Painting Fundamentals - Lesson 6 - Color Studies

in #art7 years ago

Hello Steemers!

I hope you are still keeping up with the lessons/tutorials that I've been putting out here!
If not, you can always just tag along and paint with us/me..

Here are links to the previous lessons:

Lesson 1: Negative space
https://steemit.com/art/@beekart/let-s-get-better-drawing-and-painting-fundamentals-lesson-1-negative-space
Lesson 2: Perspective
https://steemit.com/art/@beekart/let-s-get-better-drawing-and-painting-fundamentals-lesson-2-perspective
Lesson 3: Still Lives
https://steemit.com/art/@beekart/let-s-get-better-drawing-and-painting-fundamentals-lesson-3-still-life
Lesson 4: Figures & Gestures
https://steemit.com/art/@beekart/let-s-get-better-drawing-and-painting-fundamentals-lesson-4-figures-and-gestures
Lesson 5: Asaro Heads
https://steemit.com/art/@beekart/let-s-get-better-drawing-and-painting-fundamentals-lesson-5-asaro-heads

Okay so here we are on Lesson 6 ! Color studies!

One of the things that make a painting or illustration stand out from the rest is the use of colors.
Learning how things look in the world and how colors responds to certain situations of light or atmosphere etc etc.. it is great when you have that knowledge so you can use/abuse it to your liking in your own paintings.

If your goal is to be an artist for games or films I think I cannot stress enough that doing these kind of studies are essential.
Doing color studies will teach you to make realistic looking representations of things that may not exist.
AD's can really appreciate that! ;)

Plus doing color studies will also train your negative space and visa versa.

See the video lesson on how I do these color studies and below this I will leave some examples of some color studies that i did in the last few years. ( i used to do 1 a day for quite a long time. Now with work I just can't keep that up :D )

Good luck practicing!
Thank you for watching!

Cheers
Rogier


after-ifcc-2.jpgafter-ifcc-5.jpgafter-ifcc-11.pngafter-ifcc-32.pngafter-ifcc-44.png

Sort:  

Well I cannot draw or paint, I have no creative flair whatsoever but I can appreciate someone who can, your work is amazing, i especially love that its based around game and film art. Great work pal 😁 I don't have much of an audience but Ill resteem your work anyway 😁

thanks bro :) i appreciate the gesture haha :D <3

No worries mate, youre work Is awesome 😃

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

God damn, jaw dropping work. and the second image, amazing piece!! I am scrolling down to the bottom thinking, I will get there lol. I hardly get my lineart done in 30 mins.

hehe ;) matter of practice mate U'll get there ! :)

Stunning studies mate! 2nd to the last is worth of hanging on the wall.

Thanks browww ;D I thinkthe snowy one was the hardest of them ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65