"Let's Get Better"- Drawing & Painting Fundamentals - Lesson 3 - Still Life

in #art7 years ago

still-life-14-b2.png
Hello Steemions!

To follow up on the previous 2 episodes we are now going to tackle drawing and painting a 'Still Life'.

If you practiced the negative-space exercises from lesson 1 and the perspective exercises from lesson 2...
This should be a piece of cake!! :P .. Although I imagine painting a piece of cake will be quite hard.. That texture will kill you!

So pick something more simple.. a lighter, a spoon (very good for negative space practice too!) a cup or as I did.. a lighter.

Place it in a fairly neutral environment, put a steady lightsource on it (daylight/natural light will make things three time as hard) and first draw the subject.
Take your time to do the drawing right and only start painting when you feel you understand what is going on with the subject you are trying to paint. ( perspective, forms you see in the color or shadow etc.)

Watch the video down here.. I run through the process of how I actually paint a still life with some tips and tricks along the way!

Here are some examples of still lifes I painted.
after-ifcc-35.png
Using color leds to help screw with my eyes and see if i can still find the right colors and make it believable.. harder than it looks! :P
still-life-14-1.jpg
still-life-14-3.jpg
still-life-14-4.jpgstill-life-14-2.jpg

Hope you'll practice some for yourself!
If you do,, Put it in the #Sketchbook thread! I'd love to see them! :D :D (feel free to tag me if you want me to look at stuff! )

Thank you
Have a great day!

Cheers
Rogier

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Great tutorials, i always have people asking me on my blog how to get started in art, i will start referring them to your videos :)

Thank you @juliaponsford :) that would be cool, sort of teamwork :P

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-12-26 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

This post has received a 0.61 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @beekart. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

greet post, o love my wacom tablet, greetings

haha awesome! :)

I was sent here by seeing the result of the Kaiju contest, congratulations! I'm a fan of ink art too. And what an amazing video up there. What device you have been using to create those arts?

Hey @fr3eze thanks! I use a Wacom Tablet. (pen tablet)

Congratulations @beekart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68627.76
ETH 3844.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63