"Let's Get Better"- Drawing & Painting Fundamentals - Lesson 1 - Negative Space

in #art7 years ago

Hello Steemists!

Today I'd like to share with you a lesson I made for my Youtube channel about 'Negative Space'.

And some of you might ask,, 'Negative space?..' :)

Wikipedia says: "Negative space, in art, is the space around and between the subject(s) of an image. Negative space may be most evident when the space around a subject, not the subject itself, forms an interesting or artistically relevant shape, and such space occasionally is used to artistic effect as the "real" subject of an image."

So.. How is that useful for getting better at drawing and painting?

Well when you start seeing it and using it during your work you notice that it gets easier to draw the right proportion, how you place things in an environment, the compositions you create,, it all affects it.

I understand this sort of sounds abstract, so in the video below I show you some exercises that you can do to practice your skills in seeing and using 'negative space'.

Practicing these will train you to use your eyes differently, more like an artist.. Ugh! :)

Which will result in making it easier for you to make studies from life, be more critical of your own work and train your composition skills.

Especially anatomy / proportions will become much easier for you to spot and get right as you start to compare the subject to its surroundings.

Hope this is useful for you!
I have more lessons/tutorials that I'll be releasing here on Steemit soon.

Please let me know if you like, questions, comments or suggestions are always welcome!

Have a great evening!
Cheers

Rogier
@beekart

Sort:  

Heeey man ! Awesome video I resteemed for fellow artists =D
What I wanted to say, thanks for making these videos I've seen you have a whole bunch of them on Youtube and I really liked this one, I had (and still have btw) trouble to work with negative space so these are really helpful.
At the same time I couldn't find on your playlist a shape language video haha, are still doing these videos ? i'd love to have some insights about shape language and relations between shapes.

Also concerning this particular video, I find it perfect for studies (as you talk a lot about them in it) but how do you use negative shapes in a more practical way ? while creating an original piece let's say ? Thank you ! Cheers @beekart !

Hey dude thanks for resteeming ;D i hope people find them interesting/useful .. this was the first in the series that I did so it was a tough making a video like this for a first time.. i think in later episodes it gets a little better...

I dont have a shape relationship video, im not doing these regularly anymore. Youtube requires you to either do a video everyday.. or no video at all pretty much. Some of the videos have 100 views or less, so im making them for noone pretty much :D

As for negative space, you have to see it as a skill that you practice.. not so much something to go for when making a piece. It is a skill that lets you learn things faster as you are getting more aware of what you are looking at and thus the studies that you do will become more effective in a sense, thus you make more progress..

I think :D haha

Thanks for the reply ! No worries this one should be everywhere on steemitart =D, I asked about this as I know some artists and old masters (if I remember properly) use negative space as parts of their composition like "silences" in music composition which is something I find really interesting. (Sorry I don't know any names to back up my comment haha, I have seen a guy on levelup recently who used this but can't find it again ><)

Well yeah, it depends a bit on what you are painting, but your compositional skills and the way you make choices regarding backgrounds or stuff around the focal point is influenced by the negative space.

@alchemage has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This is just perfect for me! Your timing is great! thank You! I will check it out! :-)

Thank you! Hope it is useful ! :)

Hey, i watched it, i loved it, and i would like MORE !
How about a video on value .
Then later on , how to color from black and white to color .
I already know i will love your videos!
It was very helpful i actually did learn from it.
Thanks again ! I will look forward the upcoming ones !
:-)

Sounds good to me ;) Those videos are already on my YT channel if you want to see them now.
But I released them 1 every week,, so you have a week to practice this stuff ;)

Awesome post, Keep it up!

I learned about negative space from John Kricfalusi's blog. John Kricfalusi created the animated television show Ren and Stimpy.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

thanks! it will improve my drawing for this! very helpful!

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-12-26 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

this post is very nice . i like it.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68434.91
ETH 3745.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66