Abstract Geometric Face (aka Terrible at naming things) - Collab - [watercolor]

in #art6 years ago

Hey guys, I've kind of taken a break from Steemit for a while, but I will have more tutorial video's coming in my "Learn Art with Me" series. I've been a bit under the weather and with that comes lots of lounging on the couch and, in this particular case, going down a dark hole of YouTube documentaries.

But before I go into that, let me explain what in the world this is:

abstractface.png

I'm part of an art "accountability" (and shaming) group with @kommienezuspadt and @bryan-imhoff; each week we have to provide progress we have made in our respective comics that are in the works; if we fail then we have to pay 25 Steem to the other members.

Personally I'm working on a comc that exists in the @steempunk-net world; which is being written by @Jedau and I'm really excited to see the story he creates, and of course I'm also excited to start the art for it! It will be interesting because I have never done the comic style before, so I'm currently practicing that. But I'm also not limiting myself and looking at the art of different graphic novels there are many art styles out there and so I look forward to finding my own style - even if it isn't traditional comic style.

So this week our group actually decided to do something a little bit different; @kommienezuspadt suggested we do something he referred to as "exquisite corpse"; I had never actually heard of it but it sounded fun; below is an example he provided:

As you can see it is divided up into different portions; each person takes a different section of the body and then they are compiled together. As you can see, I was given the head portion. @bryan-imhoff has the torso and @kommienezuspadt has the lower section. I'm excited to see what the other two guys come up with. I have a feeling it will be nothing like what I ended up doing, but hey, I think that makes it more fun. I will post the finished piece as well.

Back to the documentaries on YouTube. I have long been fascinated with ancient Egypt and also megalithic structures - primarily because we know so little about the megalithic structures but it seems to show evidence of an ancient civilization(s) that existed that were quite possibly more advanced than we were previously aware. The mainstream scientific option is that hunter gatherers created the megalithic sites and to that end it also means that they created the sites with the tools we know hunter/gatherers used, which is basically bronze chisels and saws and rocks as hammers. In my opinion, if you look at the megalithic sites, saying they created these huge structures with only bronze chisels and rocks as hammers doesn't pass the common sense test (and that isn't even taking into account that they were building with massive stones weighing between 10 and 90 tons). Now, to be very clear, I'm not one of those "ancient alien" type people.

Anyway, I can already tell i'm going to just have to make a separate post about all this; but before I close I want to show my inspiration from the megalithic buildings for the art I did for this project; here is a picture of one of the megalithic walls down in Cuzco, Peru.

I also have started an art tutorial series which you can find below:

 

 

 
 
   
   
   

Thanks for stoppping by!


If you'd like to see more like this, please follow me @ArtistChristian!


Please check out some of my other art:

@allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner

Sort:  

Ahh, Mr. Pizza Head! Looks like he can't wait for another slice! Hmmm...would that make him a cannibal?

I have to go cook dinner, I am coming back to read this later...just wanted you to know I stopped by <3

Look forward to your feedback! But the real question is: what did you cook for dinner??

I made a hamburger tomato sauce with butter garlic elbow noodles and a side dish of fried kale. A simple meal to cook that my grandkids love and my husband loves buttered garlic noodles of all shapes and kinds...

Love the art work on deanerys. I'm a big fan of Game of thrones. ☆Happy☆ ♡Valentine's♡ ☆Day☆

You got a 21.02% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @reddust!

You should've come to me when you needed help naming haha! Not because I'm any good, but at least you could share the burden of being terrible at naming things haha! I think I'll call this... Mosaic Face or Space-Age Visage.

Definitely excited to see what Kommie and The Imp has in store for the other parts. Sorry to hear that weather is hovering over you. Feel better, brother! Steemit needs to learn art!

As for your thoughts about the ancient megalithic structures, I'll reserve my thoughts for when you make that post. But, I will say this, people often just dismiss stuff because it's more convenient that way.

Congratulations @artistchristian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Did you know there are pyramids all over the world just as complex as the Egyptian pyramids? I'm fascinated by the monolithic culture that was destroyed by the last ice age...

Good luck on your comic series and have fun with your group sketches my friend.

Glad you're back! ☺

I love the exquisite corpse and the collaboration behind it. @gotmeens and I have teamed up on a bookmark, it was a lot of fun for me.

Your triangle face is cool too, I especially like how you matched the wild colors and mosaic pieces with the silly expression to create a fun theme overall.

I'm looking forward to seeing what comes from your new phase of work!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70