Learn Art with Me - Watercolor Basics: The Paper, Brushes, and Paint

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hello friends, this is my second video in the "Learn Art with Me" series; a semi-comprehensive series for those who want to learn some traditional art. The first set of videos are all going to be the absolute most basic information you need to know when starting out with watercolor.

The videos will build off one another - as I continue the series, I will incorporate actual art pieces in which you can follow along with me.

Ultimately, I just hope that this series will be a good place for steemians to go who are interested in learning some traditional art.

p.s. I will get my bearings straight in the next video so i'm not hoovering off-screen ;)

Brief overview of the video:

The Paper

  • Make Sure to use actual watercolor paper (140 lbs)
    img
  • The Brushes

    • You only need two good watercolor brushes to get started - student grade.
      Windsor and Newton - Cotman - Size 12 round is a good utility brush
      img

    And one Flat Wash brush:
    img

    The Paint

    • Do NOT use super cheap watercolor paints like what is pictured below; you will never be able to get a smooth wash, the finished product will look splotchy.
      img

    • In order to ensure you are practicing your techniques properly to come to a smooth looking watercolor finish without splotches you need to use student grade paint, like Windsor and Newton Cotman brand:

    img

    Please leave any questions or comments below!

    Thanks for stoppping by!


    If you'd like to see more like this, please follow me @ArtistChristian!


    Please check out some of my other art:

    @allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner @allstarrunner

    ▶️ DTube
    ▶️ IPFS

    Sort:  

    Awesomes! Watercolor had always been a mystery to me. I want to show my daughter. I can show her your video!

    Yes, absolutely! I hope she can learn something from it! Parts of watercolor are still a mystery to me too!

    Don't say that, I've got you pegged as the master!

    You should give @meesterboom's bundle of joy a shoutout, man! I'm sure she would be so surprised by it haha!

    I haven't done watercolor since high school. Perhaps I should look into getting back into it.

    You should! I can be quite fun!

    I use anything, in my country is difficult to find material... I have some school brushes because I have not found more:(

    yeah, certain locations it can be difficult to find materials. When I was in Malaysia there was basically only one art store I could go to and if they didn't have something then it meant I wasn't getting it!

    Well here was all kinds of art, but to tell you that no canvases are achieved because of scarcity, I think I would tell you everything :(

    Windsor and Newton should really pay you for the endorsement haha! I'm on my quest to find a good set in a few days. Even if it's delayed, I still plan on posting result posts for your videos. I hope more and more people would be encouraged to do the same! Excited to improve with this!

    Also, I'm not that ashamed to admit it, I used to practice on Oslo paper way back when I was into doing watercolors before haha!

    I agree, Windsor and Newton should send me big checks for promoting their product to tens of people! ;)
    Yeah, I hope as I create videos that actually are meant for participating and as the series grows people will be involved! that would be great!

    With your passion and enthusiasm for the craft... I HAVE NO DOUBT, BROTHER!

    You went through everything I learned the hard way. I hope newbie watercolor artist watch this video, it will save them a lot of frustration and money. Good job @artistchristian!

    Thanks! I'm glad to hear it gets your stamp of approval, I'm sure you would have some great tips too that I failed to put in the video!

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64344.02
    ETH 3142.36
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.01