Guided by the Star. Art. Coloured Pencil Drawing. Christmas 2018.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Guided by the Star.


ORIGINAL.800-720.jpg


Star of wonder, star of night.
Star with royal beauty bright.
~John H. Hopkins Jr.


May you feel
The 'Star of Bethlehem'
Guiding your own life's journey.
Bringing many Blessings this Christmas.
~Ally.


Coloured Pencil Drawing: ©Alison Lee Cousland.




T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png


Posted from Earth ♥︎ Sand ♥︎ Water ♥︎ Ice with SteemPress : http://www.allyinspirit.info/2018/12/24/guided-by-the-star-art-coloured-pencil-drawing-christmas-2018/

Sort:  

What a beautiful artwork, Ally. I like that you made the sunray so stark and strong. You should show us more of your drawing definitely :).

I'm so pleased you like this drawing @scrawly.

It's hard to see in this photograph but directly under the star is the City of Bethlehem. I used to spend half my time sharpening my pencils when drawing.

I was a little 'shy' about sharing this drawing as it's quite unlike the ephemeral work I've been doing over the last few years. But now that I have ~ I'll definitely show more. !tip ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

What a very beautiful star, the rays and coloring wow Ally!!
And those shadows and shadowing is outstanding!

Merry Christmas 🎄 Happy Solstice & New Year ❤ @allyinspirit!

Thanks so very much @shasta. I'm so pleased you like it. I'm my harshest critic when it comes to my drawing.

Guided by the Star is a very old drawing: One of four, telling the Christmas story.

Sharing this drawing now is like preparation for doing new work.

I hope you're having a wonderful Christmas and Solstice season. And that your new year will be absolutely inspirational. !tip ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

This is very beautiful, @allyinspirit :) The colours are so soft and wonderful and the composition is lovely! I really like how you did the sun rays and the desert, undulating in the background <3 What a gorgeous picture :D

Happy Christmas!

I'm so pleased you like this drawing @veryspider. Thanks so much.

Guided by the Star tells the traditional story of the three wise men being guided by a 'star.' I try to imagine what it must have been like ~ Not knowing exactly where you were going, but knowing you were meant to be there, wherever it was.

I hope you've had a wonderful Christmas and are now looking forward to a bright new year. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Love your very talented drawing @allyinspirit and your title is perfect for this beautiful Christmas scene. It must have taken quite a while to complete?

Thanks so much Trudee. It was only a very small drawing and yes, many many hours went into building up the tones. I don't know if I'll have the luxury of spending so much time on a drawing ever again. !tip ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Howdy allinspirit! that is a gorgeous drawing! It amazes me what can be done with pencils and that is inspired.

Thanks so much @janton. Yes, drawing with coloured pencil is such a wonderful experience. I always like to use well-sharpened pencils and gradually build up from light to dark. !tip ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Howdy tonight allyinspirit! Thanks so much for getting back to me and for the tip! I have no idea how you do the drawings, it's an amazing gift. God bless you!

I'm sometimes a little slow in getting back to people @janton so I hope I'm forgiven.

I did a series of drawings based on the Christmas Story where I pretty much planned out the entire drawing first, using different sources from magazines etc for the different images. And then I start the colouring process.

When I start my new drawings, I'll show the different stages, so you'll be able to see how the tones and colours are built up. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Howdy again allyinspirit! well, it's such a wonderful way to demonstrate your process and you are a real blessing to the Steemit family!

It is. I really love seeing the processes involved in the work of other artists here at Steemit. It can kind of slow down the process a little ~ Stopping to take snaps ~ But it actually helps an artist when they do this. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Howdy there tipu! thank you and thank you for all you do to help others!

I love using the tipu service @janton. Such a lovely way to say: Thank you. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Yes Ma'am it sure is and it's greatly appreciated! There are quite a few wonderful Austalians on Steemit and I see that you are another one! I love Australia!

Have you been to Australia?

Yes, there are some great Aussies here at Steemit.

I kind of like it here too @janton.

Recently I've become really interested in the Homesteaders Coop at Steemit and there are some wonderful Aussie Homesteaders in it.
♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Howdy again allyinspirit! No I haven't been to Australia but I've always wanted to. Great homesteaders from there that's for sure, you follow buckaroo right?

There are so many areas in Oz that I haven't been to ~ Yet. I hope you can come here one day and experience some of the special places here.

No, I don't know buckaroo. Will have to look for him/her now. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I'm so happy to have this drawing shared in the Curation Collective Discord community. Thanks so much @c-squared. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.png

Congratulations @allyinspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3000 replies. Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81