My anger, rage and frustration in video games

in #archdruidcontest6 years ago


Source

Since I was very young and I've always been surrounded by some artifact related to the world of video games, my father and my older brother have always liked technology so they always bought things that caught their attention.

My first experience with a video game console was when I was 4 years old, in our house there was an Atari 2600 with a briefcase full of many of its games, also there was a PC 286 with a monochrome monitor where Prince of Persia played.

Source

One day my mother visited one of her friends and took me with her, on top of a shelf there was a box that caught my attention, and I kept asking my mother, "What is that? She didn't know what to say, but something told me it was some kind of entertainment.

When Christmas came around that same year I was completely surprised when one of the gifts was the box I saw at the time, it was the Nintendo Entertainment System, the amazing thing is that I didn't know it was a console in itself, but all those drawings in the box made me think it was something really fabulous.

My beloved NES

This console came to me with 4 video games, Super Mario Bros./Duck Hunt, The Simpsons Bart vs. The Space Mutants, Double Dragon 2 and 3, each of these titles represented a tough challenge to pass through, although my favorite was Double Dragon 2 which undoubtedly made me explode the most out of rage was Bart vs. The Space Mutants.

I was always a passionate gamer, I let myself spend hours trying to get past those difficult worlds, when I made a mistake my rage rose to heavenly levels, the one who paid the price was the NES command.

The level that helped to leave scars on this controller was the museum's, its ridiculously accurate jumps, how complicated it was and exploring unknown areas made it seem impossible, but it was a part that made me really nervous because I didn't know how to move forward and lost all my lives in the attempt, it was when you were fighting a REX Tyrannosaurus.

Source

When I died unjustly, I wanted to split the control in two, I heard the tension of the plastic (that's why they will be the most resistant controls forever) and when I couldn't break it, I would throw it on the floor, besides shouting like a madman, my mother would always come to the room to take the console away and hide it, when I calmed down she would give it to me again, but this story would be repeated many times.

Some time passed, and again in December I was surprised with a gift, this time it was a Super Nintendo, my passion for video games rose to inexplicable levels with all the games I could play with this game console, but one of them upset me so much that I almost threw everything out the window.

My beloved SNES

With the Super Nintendo I became a fan of fighting games, Street Fighter 2 was my teacher, but over time other video games came out such as Mortal Kombat, the one I played most of all was Mortal Kombat 2 who was responsible for hurting my SNES control for life.

This game had a good difficulty, if you lost 3 times you had to start from the beginning, I practiced for a long time (I remember my favorite character was Mileena) to get to the top of that tower and beat Kintaro, then I had to fight against Shao Kahn but being a rookie against him killed me quickly.

The process was repeated over and over again, the frustration was very high, until in a battle I could predict their movements, winning the first Round, the second Round did not let me do anything, so everything was decided in this fight, it is worth noting that I had no more continues, so if I won I was Game Over.

Source

My hands were totally cold, I was sweating as if I had run for miles, I was very nervous, but I was convinced that I could beat it, the fight was totally in my favor, I had practically a full life, I only needed to give three blows and I won, it was a bad jump that I took for the same nerves that turned out to be a total disaster, preventing me from defending myself correctly from those knockout attacks erasing my whole life in 3 seconds.

Source

My anger I couldn't control it, I pulled the console's remote with all my strength to the wall, I pulled out the cartridge in a very aggressive way, wanting to split it in two, my frustration was really great, this was where my control was marked by all his life.

But not only with the consoles I experienced moments of tension, when Half Life came out on a PC it was a really impressive game at the time, one of the things that caught my attention was its Multiplayer mode, several of us from my town joined together to form a Local Area Network (LAN) and be able to play for many hours in the deathmatch mode.

Source

My PC had the least power of all, so I decided to work and buy a video card (I remember it was a 32 MB ATI Diamond) to see if I could play at the same level.

The training was intensive to practice my aim, every day I played many hours, but it was almost impossible to beat them, feeling very frustrated, sometimes I didn't understand how with a few simple shots I was killed so fast, I was so unlucky that I appeared right next to them killing me instantly.

Source

Guess where I drained my anger? The mouse, I changed 5 more mice because of the damage I caused them myself, however, this was one of the best lessons I had for the FPS, although I have already lost some practice.

Over time this frustration or anger drained away in a different way, controlling myself, breathing deep, especially in online video games (League of Legends), although sometimes it is really difficult, but the important thing is that I still feel that passion for video games, I feel that I will be an old man playing with all my grandchildren and transmitting all my experiences of my life gamer.

See You!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Hi gabox,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Haha very cool! I recognize myself again. How many times my playstation controler has been twisted, or flew through the room.

... By the way, this is a funny other review than usual. 👍😀

Hahahahaha, we have to drain the rage somehow.

Ive thrown many controllers in my day but never actually broke one.

These controls are so good, it just broke down a little bit.

I can only imagine your anger and frustration back then. lol. But well you kept playing, that's what we do for passion, yeah?

I feel sorry for all the consoles and mice that ended up being ruined though. Their life didn't have to end that way. Hahahah..

Well, I am glad you have been able to take control over those frustrations, and enjoy that which you deeply have passion for. Hopefully someday, you will play with your kids and grand-kids, I believe that will be mad fun!!! You should keep playing!

That is my dream, to play with my future family and to transmit this humble feeling to them.

That might seem like a simple dream, but it really is a beautiful one!!

Thanks for putting into words most of us went through as kids @gabox. A few years ago, I bought a used SNES mini and noticed the controller had one broken shoulder button and it was exactly like the one in your picture. Maybe its previous owner got mad during a gaming session.

Upvoted and resteemed!

Thanks a lot for your support, maybe he got frustrated and the control paid the consequences, I'm glad you liked this post.

Great Post 😆

Thank you very much.

Seeing Prince of Persian and MK brings back memories! Haha, those frustrations come with the territory mate.... I remember battling to defeat Shao Khan..... When I finally did, felt like the king of the world

It's a satisfaction that's completely indescribable when you beat that bastard. Thank you so much for supporting me.

Indeed. You are welcome, my friend

I pictured your story like gamers rage quitting while live streaming especially when playing League of Legends. The toxicity in multiplayer games are real and you're doing fairly well accumulating that on single player (referencing your childhood experience). I can relate to the story so much that it was through video games I learned how to be curse a lot. :D

In League of Legend I control myself enough not to fall into that toxicity, very rarely do I get annoyed but I almost always think that I play with children and that I go through that stage, but in my case was totally alone.

I don't know if it's just nostalgia but it was Good. Times. When. Games were difficult. It was great when I wasn't knowing what I was doing and was just having fun without a strong desire to win.

While I was born in the next age (I'm sure PS1 wasn't the first console I played but it's the first I remember.) I relate to you completely with Half-Life, I played the blue shift expasnion as a child but I spent 10 hours on the tutorial level and the actual monsters destroyed me. (and I didn't know English.)


I decided in 2017 to play all Half-Life games, Steem was rising and they were cheap!! I'm still at HL1 though. Just how hard its control? it won't accept my X360 controller, well, I usually use mouse/KB for shooter games, but oh well.

I have to say though, the puzzles in the game are amazing, I spend howrs on each one (Usually they're hard but also because controls.)

I get excited every time I say that man staring at me and disappear when I get close, I forgot which chapter I'm still stuck in but your post reingited my will to play it again.

I don't last seconds in LAN/Internet
I only survive as long as I'm not seen.


I remember a really difficult game was Eghris (not sure of the name) story mode. As teenageers we (I, brother and cousins) took turns and many days trying to beat it. Half of that was grinding. But when we actually managed to win, we got Game Over screen, yes, the story ends with the hero dying in every case if I remember correctly.

Half Life I consider it one of the most amazing FPS of all times, I agree with you when you refer to their puzzles, it gives you a satisfaction to complete them, I also played their sequels and expansions, I loved their story and from time to time I play it, able to stream that wonderful game. Thanks for your support.

Agreed!!

Now I re-read my comment above, I found many typos, I will leave it for the funny effect... Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27