Meet the family: Pony the Sheep

in #animals7 years ago (edited)

To get to know me a little better it's probably easiest to get to know my animals too. So I'll be doing a little series of photographs of my little collection of pets. And here we're starting with the newest addition to the family: Pony the sheep!

pony-8313.jpg

Pony is owned by myself and my friend Meghan - we bought her in April as a companion for Meghan's horse on her parents' farm outside a small city in the middle of South Africa. We ended up paying for her per kilogram - we sleep easy at night knowing we saved her from being somebodies dinner and have instead given her an amazing free life. Unfortunately she's quite a way away from where I live, but I like to fly up to visit her (and Meghan's family) whenever I can afford to.

pony-8315.jpg

Since owning my very own sheep I've learnt a lot about them and it's amazing how she has her own distinct personality - quite sassy - and how she likes some people over others. I must admit I haven't been able to stomach a lamb chop since we got her (I might slowly be turning vegetarian) which is probably a good thing!

pony-8312.jpg

Camera: Nikon D500
Lens: Nikkon 70-200mm f/2.8E
Editing: VSCO presets for Lightroom

Let me know if you have any interesting pets? Especially if you've also got a sheep!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @lauraflint :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome Laura thanks for the intro

Congratulations ! you just gained +1 follower ^^ feel free to follow me back @victorialuxx

nice post and upvoted
I m following you and eager to see your upcoming posts.

As a Hong Konger , it is unbelievable that a sheep can be kept as a pet . Surprised! Your photo is awesome.

Thank you! It is quite unusual where I live as well but I think it is worth it to have a pet that is so different!

Welcome to steemit @lauraflint! I look forward to seeing more of your babies :)

i need to ask my girl if we can addopt sheep because I fell in love haha :D i got German shepherd! :P

You never know, the dog and sheep might fall totally in love ;)

I LOVE naming animals other animals names. I think it's hilarious and cute. I once had a dog named "Ali" and called her "Alli-gator".

We do this so much! All our animals have either a food or an animal name/nickname. Like our cat 'Tigger' is also called 'Berry' sometimes, and my friends dog is called 'Shumba' (lion in Shona) or 'Noodle' when he's being cute!

Hi @lauraflint. We don't have any thing as exotic as sheep I'm afraid but we do have three dogs! I'm not sure what the neighbours would say about a sheep in our back garden, especially if it escaped and ate their veggies. :-)

Haha! Well I've had my horse in someones veggie patch and it didn't end so well! I would love a dog, unfortunately my cat won't tolerate other animals in the house - he's rather silly

Dogs are great companions. If you want to see some pics of them I have done a couple of posts in my blog. Looking forward to seeing your future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55