The pink river dolphin

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

The Amazon dolphin is famous for its pink colour and is the largest freshwater dolphin in the world. They are born grey and slowly turn pink with increasing age. Their colour is influenced by their behaviour, capillary placement, nutrition and exposure to sunlight. The dolphins can be anywhere from mostly grey with a few pink spots, to almost flamingo pink. The males are much larger than the females and usually have a stronger pink colouration.

There are also many legends about the pink dolphin in the Amazon region. Many people tell stories that the dolphins become handsome men during the night to seduce the women of the village.

Sadly, the dolphin is still being hunted and used as bait for fishing.

Boto Vermelho-2.jpg

Boto Vermelho-1.jpg

Sort:  

Cute dolphin ^.^ i love pink and i love animals XD

really strange creature! ) but nice!

Thank you philippbuxbaum for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.38% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Hey! I'm B² and you have been chosen by my automated assistant (B²Bot) to receive my announcement about a new challenge I'm hosting!
I just introduced "FIVE WORD STORIES" challenge in my Introduction post. You can read about the challenge HERE and participate by submitting your story in the comments section of the challenge entries which you can find HERE. You will have the chance to win SBD in this challenge.

I'd be happy to see you around my friend!
NOTE: Your participation is through commenting on the challenge photos I post, not posting photos
Happy Steeming!
5WS_icon copy.png

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 23:04:32
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 11.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It is one of my dreams to swim with dolphins :)

In Manaus you can swim with them! They only feed the dolphins on a few days so that they don't forget how to hunt. After I took the photos, I went into the water and there were three dolphins swimming around and under me. They are so agile and fast.

I am so jealous!! (: I am in fact looking for this kind of experience where the dolphins decide by themselves to swim with you or not. It doesn't look fair when they are captured and have no choice even if they don't like you :) It seems they are taken good care at the place you have been

Yes, but it is always good to inform yourself before visiting such a place. There are a lot of people out there who don't respect the days without food.

I see. I hope they realize that they do harm to the dolphins one day..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85