NIP THE CAT - Original Fiction Script - Episode 4

in #anarchy6 years ago

Dialogue with deadpan zip as Nip deals with his human companions.

It's been around 2 months since I posted episode 3, so for those who want to read previous episodes......

1

https://steemit.com/fiction/@steeminganarchy/nip-the-cat-new-original-fiction-series-premier 


2

https://steemit.com/fiction/@steeminganarchy/nip-the-cat-original-fiction-episode-2

3  

https://steemit.com/fiction/@steeminganarchy/nip-the-cat-original-fiction-episode-3 


Episode 4 - Scene 1

Rich is proudly tending to some tomato plants in his front yard.  Nip is patiently stalking a bird.    

Rich (examining tomatoes):  Almost ripe! I can’t wait!
Nip:  When chicken starts growing on trees, I’ll share your enthusiasm.

Rich:  And I know you don’t like tomato, so I’ll get the lion’s share.
Nip:  I have a sneaking suspicion that you won’t.

Rizzo approaches.

Rizzo:  Hey neighbor! (starts grabbing tomato)
Rich:  They’re not ready yet!

Nip:  Told ya.    
Rizzo:  Ok, ok, I can wait, I guess.

Nip:  In perpetuity, I hope…..preferably at your own house.
Rich:  So what brings you by?

Rizzo:  I just spent the last 48 hours winning a virtual reality game tournament!   
Nip:  I just spent the last 48 hours in real reality.  You should try it sometime.

Rich:  What kind of game?
Rizzo:  It’s called Galactic Haggler….

Nip:  Sounds right up your alley.
Rizzo:  You compete against other people to get the best prices in all kinds of places and time periods.    

Rich:  So what did ya win?
Rizzo:  Free entry into the next tournament.    

Nip:  What is this world coming to?

A shady looking character with a badge shows up.

Shady Character:  Hey, is this your place?
Nip:  None of your business.  And what’s with the badge? We’re not having a costume party.   

Rich:  Sure is.    
Shady Character:  I’m with city code enforcement, and it looks like you’ve got an illegal garden here.    

Rizzo:  Mind if I grab some grub inside? I’m starved.    

Nip (face-paw):  Great friend.  Why don’t you use your otherworldly haggling skills and get this badge-toting bully away from here?

Rizzo scurries into Rich’s house.

Rich:  Oh my, I didn’t know having a garden was a crime.
Nip:  It’s not, and this guy doesn’t seem to know that.    

Shady Character:  Ignorance is no excuse for breaking the law.  I’m afraid I’ll have to fine you.
Nip:  Speaking of ignorance….don't you know that coercing people is wrong?

Rich:  Are you joking?
Shady Character:  We don’t joke.

Nip:  Except for the sick joke of coercing people, stealing from them, and calling it legitimate.  There’s that…..
Shady Character:  What’s your name?

Nip:  Victim.    

Shady character hands ticket to Rich.  

Shady Character:  Before I go, mind if I grab a tomato?

Nip double-face-paws

Scene 2

The next day, at his office job, Rich is working diligently at his desk behind mountains of papers.    

Rich (shocked):  That can’t be right!

A nosy neighbor asks:  What’s that?
Rich:  These numbers are way off!

Nosy Neighbor:  How long have you worked here?
Rich:  Too long, apparently.  I’d better bring this up to Mr. Wash right away!

Nosy Neighbor:  I wouldn’t do that if I were you. 

Rich:  Why not?
Nosy Neighbor:  You’ll see.

Rich:  Is that supposed to be helpful?   
Nosy Neighbor (smug, feet on desk):  Not really.

Rich walks to the office of his supervisor, Mr. Wash, and knocks fervently.  Mr. Wash jolts awake from a nap, wipes drool from mouth, turns on pie charts on wall screen, walks over to door, cracks it open.

Mr. Wash (through door crack):  I’m terribly busy.    
Rich:  I understand that, sir, but I’ve got something urgent to bring to your attention.

Mr. Wash:  What’s your name?
Rich:  Rich.    

Mr. Wash (confused):  Are you sure?
Rich:  What?

Mr. Wash:  Oh, very well, come in and make it snappy.    

Rich walks in, glances at pie chart on wall screen, takes a seat opposite Mr. Wash at desk.

Rich:  Why are you looking at data from the 80s, sir?

Mr. Wash quickly grabs remote, shuts off wall screen.    

Mr. Wash (defensive):  That doesn’t concern you.  Now, what brings you by?

Rich:  Well, I was reviewing the numbers of some of our government contractor clients and I’m finding some discrepancies.
Mr. Wash (feigning shock, grasping chest):  Really? Do tell….

Rich:  At least a few billion discrepancies, and I’m not even halfway through.    
Mr. Wash:  And why do you think those discrepancies are there?

Rich:  Well, if I didn’t know any better, I’d say there was some money laundering going on, not to mention some skimming.    

Mr. Wash:  Well, thank you for bringing this to my attention.  I’ll look into it right away.  I must get going now, I’m terribly busy.

Rich:  Um, ok...don’t you wanna know who the clients are? 

Mr. Wash:  I’ll look into it, don’t worry. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention…..we won’t be using paper records anymore.  There will be a document disposal service coming today to start the transition to paperless.    

Rich:  Uh, but shouldn’t we have paper records, at least until these discrepancies get cleared up?
Mr. Wash (shrugs):  New company policy, what can I say?

Rich:  Ok, well, I won’t keep you any longer.    

Rich walks out.  Mr. Wash gets on his phone.   

Mr. Wash:  Pay Rich a visit.
Phone Voice:  I don’t know who that is.    

Mr. Wash:  That’s why there are name placards on desks…..get everything.

Click.    

Lays head on desk again.    

20 minutes later, Rich gets a visit at his desk from a guy with big red cart.

Cart Guy:  Document disposal service.
Rich:  I’m kind of busy.

Cart Guy:  Well, congratulations, now you’re not busy anymore.

Scene 3

A few days later, Rich and Nip are lounging on the couch, when the doorbell rings.

Nip:  Whoever it is, they’re using common courtesy, so we know it’s not Rizzo or a rights-violator.

Rich is pleasantly surprised to see Asha at the door.

Rich:  Asha, come on in!   
Asha:  I was in the neighborhood, so I thought I’d drop in.  How are you?

Rich:  It’s been kind of a weird week.
Asha:  Why’s that?

Nip:  A guy in a ridiculous costume is extorting him.
Rich:  Some code enforcer showed up and I got fined for having an illegal garden.    

Asha (jaw drops):  You’re joking. 


Nip:  Jokes should never be that cruel.
Asha:  You’re not gonna pay it, are you?

Rich:  What choice do I have?
Nip:  Freedom or slavery.

Asha:  Ya gotta fight this!
Rich:  How?

Asha:  There’s a voluntary group called Rights Vigilante that I’m a member of.  Whenever someone is being coerced by rights-violators, if you post a request for help, then people will show up and help you defend against the aggressors.  Just go fight it in court and have a swarm of people show up, demanding to throw the case out.    

Rich:  You’ve done this before?
Asha:  We just helped a guy get a speeding ticket thrown out last week.

Rich:  I’ll think about it.  Another thing that happened is that I found some really strange things at work.

Nip:  You work in a place where people sit in front of computers all day and don’t talk to each other.  Don’t you find that strange every day?

Rich:  There are billions of dollars that don’t add up.
Asha:  You do accounting for federal mob contractors, right?

Nip:  Well said.
Rich:  I don’t get the mob reference.   

Asha:  Cuz if you don’t pay the government, they attack you, just like any other organized crime.

Rich:  I never really looked at it like that…...Anyway, I brought this to my supervisor’s attention, and the next thing I know, all the documents from my desk are getting carted off….literally!

Asha:  I’ve got a solution for you.
Rich:  What’s that?

Asha:  Get a job that doesn’t involve the mob or other nefarious dealings.
Rich:  It’s not that easy.

Nip:  It’s cool….I’ll just go stay with Asha for a while while you sort things out.     

Asha:  Or….you could dig deeper and blow the whistle on them.  I’d help you get the word out, of course. 

Nip:  Any scenario where Asha comes over more often sounds good to me.    

To be continued…... 

Episode 5 coming soon!

Thanks for your time and attention!

Just say "NO" to slavery!

Top image is from pixnio.com


   
 

Sort:  

Congratulations @steeminganarchy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 9000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am not very fond of cats .. JAJAJAJA but this cat I like very well.

Thanks man. Cats tend to not obey so-called "authority", so I thought it could be an interesting angle to look at anarchy. If you want to translate and/or illustrate, please do. Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49