Beautiful Abstract Water Textures (for you to use in your own posts)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Following my post yesterday discussing "Steemit4free".  I decide to put out some of my favourite texture shots for use under the tag.  These have a very abstract appearance and are actually photos of turbulent water taken from a cable car in Canada near Niagra Falls.  

Although they were shot quite close together and look similar each one is subtly different due to the movement of the water.  Unfortunately due to the way I edited them they have ended up out of sequence although it doesn't really matter though.

I really love the abstract looking swirls and shapes that they create.  

Personally I find them quite beautiful to look at.  I hope you agree.

EDIT

It appears there are currently some issues with displaying images on Steemit.  If you are having problems please use the following links to view and/download the images directly:

My sincerest apologies for any inconvenience - @thecyptofiend :)


The Photos

These have had their colour altered to emphasise blue tones.  I prefer these to the originals.


What the original versions look like:

If you prefer these or you would like to use these for experimentation (they are also steemit4free photos) you can download them from this SteemImg folder here.


Cool ways to use these textures:

How you use these is up to you and your imagination.  They work well on their own or you can use Photoshop or a captioning site to add text if you like and use them as places to put your post headings:


Don't like the colours - well you can easily change them using Photoshop and plugins like Color Efex Pro can help speed up the process here are a few experiments for illustration:

Let me know if you like them and how you use them.  Thank you for reading.


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics too) -  @thecryptofiend 


I have also created a new channel in the chat dedicated to photography of people/portraits called "Photography-portraits-people".  Please check it out and post your photos there.


Technical Information:

  • Canon Eos 450D Camera with Canon EF 24mm/2.8 lens.
  • Adobe Lightroom CC, Photoshop CC, Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 plugin.

Image Credits:  All images are my own work and free for you to use as per the terms of Steemit4free.

(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my Previous Posts and Tutorials:



Sort:  

These are stunning and I will download them, thank you so much. Great iniative, anyone who uses them should offer a free image in return!

I like that idea @onetree - but some of us are not that talented.

I was thinking any original photo that we have taken ourselves will suffice?

I just thought of this, but there is the possibility of allowing the photo techs to tweak them before they become public? But that becomes extra voluntary work. I only mentioned "some of us are not that talented" because I have raw photos that I love, but they're not pixabay suitable...and if we want to compete with an image site like that, then our standards should be above par. Just my opinion. :)

Good point :)

Reminds me of the book (or the movies) "Solaris"

I love that movie - haven't read the book.

The older movie or the newer one?

The new version with George Clooney. I haven't seen the original yet.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

thank you! upvoted this and gonna use this as well

Great thank you:)

These are beautiful, and simply mesmerizing! Seems as if earth and heaven have merged. How generous to make them available here, thank you! LOVE!

Thank you for your kind words:)

Beautiful, and great idea!

Thank you for your support:)

I think the purple and black could work as a background texture because you really can't tell what it is in that color. Maybe I will use it in one of my next macro shots. Someone else just put up some abstract photography. I mentioned to her that I like it when I can't tell what it is, the mystery is what makes it different and appealing to me at least. Cheers

Yes you are right. Perhaps if I hadn't said they were water it would be harder to tell:)

They do not show up for me :( in fact no images in this post show up for some reason.

Yes that happens sometimes and I'm not sure if it is a site issue or a SteemImg issue. This normally fixes it for me:
https://steemit.com/photography/@thecryptofiend/beautiful-abstract-water-textures-for-you-to-use-in-your-own-posts

or select the post form my homepage: https://steemit.com/@thecryptofiend

Have checked and both those methods are working from me if I load from scratch.

Also if they are still not working you can check them out on the SteemImg pages directly:

This is the link to the colour altered versions: https://www.steemimg.com/album/p6vp

These are the originals: https://www.steemimg.com/album/pCex

Let me know if they work:)

Strangely enough for me, the two steemit links just don't display the images. The thumbnail shows up for your post, but when I view it through the link, or by clicking on the blog post in your profile no images. shrugs It's strange. Looks cool in the steeming link! Thanks for doing all of this man.

Thanks. It's a site problem on Steemit apparently. A lot of other people are having the same issue. As you can see by using the links for SteemImg there is no problem there and none of the other major hosts are down either.

Thanks anything we can do to help Steemit grow is good for all of us - you can also download them directly from SteemImg if you want to edit them and dm me if you want big versions for other purposes - most hosting sites have a limit on the size so they are very small compared to the actual originals.

They seem to be working again now. Looks like the issue may be sorted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09