Daisy at the Castle Keep - High Contrast Black and White Photos

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Introduction: A very windy day in Newcastle

These were all taken at the Newcastle upon Tyne Castle Keep.  

I took a lot of photos outside too but most of those were not useful because there was a strong wind.  

This was bad for too reasons - it kept blowing Daisy's hair all over the place and it made it hard to keep the camera still enough to take a sharp photo.  

There were also a lot of people (mostly men) staring at Daisy because she is so tall and striking and though she didn't care because she was used to it, it was putting me off a bit.  

I'm one of these people who finds it hard to concentrate if people are watching me:)

We were near the Castle Keep so decided to see if we could get in and have some shelter from the wind and people watching.  

Sometimes you need to just improvise.  

The keep was quite dark but the main gate was open and allowed light in which became our main light source.  I also attempted to use my usual handheld reflector but I'm not sure it made a huge difference other than giving some catchlights to the eyes.


High Contrast Edits

I used my usual editing process with Lightroom to correct basic exposure etc.  

I thought I would try doing some high contrast black and white shots for change from my usual style as an experiment.  

Black and white conversion was done in Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 which you can get for free (along with all the other Nik Tools worth over $500) - link here.  

I used some tweaking of the contrast curves and a coffee toning filter (from the defaults selection) to achieve this particular look.  I hope you like them.  For useful tutorials on how to achieve more creative effects with Nik Tools I would recommend their Youtube channel here.

These are completely new edits from scratch and took me quite a bit of experimentation to get right.  At least I hope they look right please let me know what you think as this is not my usual style for black and white photos.


The Photos

1


2


3


4


5


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics too) -  @thecryptofiend 


I have also created a new channel in the chat dedicated to photography of people/portraits called "Photography-portraits-people".  Please check it out and post your photos there.


Technical Information:

  • Nikon D800 Camera
  • Sigma 24-70mm/2.8 lens
  • Adobe Lightroom CC, Photoshop CC, Nik Silver Efex Pro 2 plugin.
  • Model is Daisy Alyss Turnell
  • Location is the Castle Keep, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England.

(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my Previous Posts and Tutorials:

Sort:  

Pictures are great, she looks lovely But omg those heels lol :)

Those heels are hot! I remember doing a shoot with a girl a couple years ago. She brought heels to a shoot. We had to walk a couple miles to several location. She had no other shoes. I really felt bad for her. We had to walk almost all the way back downtown to find a place where she could buy some flipflops. So if I ever do shoots like that again, I make that one of the rules. Bring comfortable shoes in case we have to walk long distances to locations.

Good for you thinking about her poor feet, I would have walked on bare feet lol

She's really tall though so for her they are not that high.

I would break both ankles and probably my neck lol

Lol. I think they are maybe six inches:)

5 inches to high for me lol

Great work @thecryptofiend! You can't go wrong with a talented model and an old castle!

Thanks mate. Your praise means a lot for an amateur photographer like me:)

Awesome man. We took some wedding photos there last year, I can attest to the fact that it is indeed windy as hell! haha.

Yes definitely. Thanks:)

She be a-schemin' and a-creepin' into your heart, this fall!
=^_^= <3

Another set of great pictures of a beautiful woman! Upped!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43