A Snowflake By Any Other Name

in #parenting8 years ago (edited)

Your child is not a special snowflake. To you, of course he or she is. But the universe does not care. Parents, please realize something. Nothing about your child matters to the world quite yet. What your child can or cannot do is inconsequential unless it will have a major impact on humanity when he or she is older. But you cannot know that when your child is still young. It's impossible, no matter what the elite preschools' administration will tell you when you show up to the orientation, notebook in hand. (The panic is evident as all the new parents suspiciously eye their prodigies to make sure they are playing nicely with others. It's quite a spectacle.)

That’s a lot of pressure for parents. We want our children to feel empowered, not entitled. How do we do this? I can tell you how we don’t. We don’t cater to the child.   

When did child as equal parenting come into fashion? Children were always a part of life. If you were a woman and  managed to survive the trauma of childbirth, your child owed a debt of some sort. That debt was to grow up and be a contributing member of society, and until that time, to serve his parents for the greater good of the family. Children weren’t coddled to such an extent that they thought everything they did was noteworthy.   

Now, children are making decisions they have no business making, such as what restaurant to go to, where to take a vacation, and whether to go to a simple party with friends because it will interfere with nap time. Children can’t handle the responsibility of keeping the peace in the house. When people are given power they aren’t ready for, disaster ensues. God forbid a child has a tantrum in Target. It's unbelievable how many parents will cave to the demand that led to the meltdown to avoid embarrassment. Kids get mad; they snap and lose all sense of reason. As parents, it's our job to not give them the illusion of power. 

Why do kids act out when they appear to have it all? The answer is they don't have it all, not even close. What they lack is boundaries. We are so afraid of the idea that our children may dislike us that we cower to their demands like they are the puppet masters pulling the strings Don’t say no to the kids, don’t discipline or it’s abuse. Child Services are watching. Kids know this too. They know they have their parents living in fear. All it takes is one call from a jilted teen to DCS to get the parent arrested.   

Remember the Twilight Zone episode “It’s a Good Life?” Everyone was afraid of the little boy who could wish them into the cornfield if they thought bad thoughts.  At age six, this child ruled the roost.

It all started with baby proofing our house when we had our triplets after all the reading we did about how dangerous the house is for kids unless it is “taken care of.” We fell for it too. Every cabinet had those kid proof locks. Every toilet seat. So you really have to pee? Try unlatching that lid when every second counts. Each lamp was stabilized by fancy wires holding them in place keeping them from toppling over. Puffy elastic guards for the coffee table corners so they wouldn’t get hurt. We thought we were doing the right thing. I was wrong and soon learned. When in the history of humanity has baby proofing been a thing? God knows as a child my parents never did this sort of thing. No one else did either. Suddenly, it’s all about the child’s safety. But is it? Of course, be vigilant with little ones running around. Keep pots on back burners, don’t give them a fork to explore the electrical outlet, don't let them play with matches.  

Here’s what I found out. The real world is not childproof. People get hurt. People fall down and the ground isn’t padded. Off came those protective measures. Because if my child hits the corner of the coffee table and gets banged up, of course I’m sorry. But it won’t happen again. They learn that if you run into a corner, it will probably hurt. Lesson one -  avoid injury by being more careful. Not "Oh, don’t worry. It's padded." Because real life isn’t. How can you learn what to do or not to do if you always have a safety net of artificial protection taking the place of teaching common sense?   

I feel lucky. In my case I was outnumbered. I was never that parent who hovered over her children in a worried frenzy over the possibility of a knee getting scraped. It happens. Kids fall down. Here's an interesting phenomenon. Watch a child playing in the park. If he falls and skins a knee, before he reacts, he'll look to the parent to see how they react. That is how we learn to respond to life’s hiccups - 90% of the time, the parent is horrified and rushes in to sooth. At this, the child loses composure. The parent is reacting to the injury, and the child, alarmed, thinks “Hey, I must have done something pretty scary.” Wailing ensues. Parent and child comfort each other.  In my case, I had to make light of any low grade cuts or scrapes because I was outnumbered. An “Oh no- let’s get that cleaned up” was the extent of sympathy. They carried on with their play.  

And for any of you thinking I am a heartless mother, I assure you it’s quite the opposite. My children are growing up knowing their places in the house, namely that they aren’t all that important. Funny. In fact, they would tell you I say that and then laugh about it. 

I set limits when they were young. They had no choice but to go along with plans not always their own or to their liking. They learned how to be adaptable. They learned how to deal with disappointment when things didn’t go their way. They learned how to do without even when all their friends didn’t have to. I worried about it. I wanted them to have it all too. At first. But it was only after they had no choice but to share bedrooms and get along that I saw the fruits of my parenting labor begin to ripen. They now understand that they make their own futures. They are responsible for the good and the bad that may happen as a result of their choices. They have come through the other side knowing they are the captains of their own ships. The secret is to accept children as a part of life, not as life itself. They are humans that must be raised to step away from the "me mentality" that prevails.    

Kids expect the moon these days. And parents deliver. My children’s high school is littered with G class Benz tanks in the junior/senior parking lot - their OWN. Guess what? They aren’t happy. Contrary to popular belief, they can’t be bought. Sure, on the surface it may seem so. But they are still hungry for parents, real parents who will let them fall on their asses from time to time. How else will they learn to get back up? 

  

We all know what happened to Veruka.

One girl from their school was given a new Porsche 911 for her 16th birthday. Her parents told her to not let anyone drive it. Completely disregarding their wishes, she let a friend take it to pick up lunch a mile away; said friend totaled the car. The parents bought their daughter another brand new Porsche for her inconvenience. 

Where should I start? 

When kids call the shots we as a society need to be worried. Scores of kids grow up feeling special like the world owes them something just for being alive.    

Parents threaten college professors for giving their little angels less than perfect grades. They're horrified that someone would dare mark their child off for anything; it might be too stressful. And we never want our children to be disappointed. We want their lives to be easy. They come first, after all. 

Would you think it cute if your college aged “child” freaked out over a spider in his or her bed? Would you call the school and threaten to sue for the emotional trauma of inconveniencing your child by forcing them to find a solution to their problem?    

Let me make it easier. Tell me who this child is, and I will go there with a whole jar of spiders and release them just to toughen him up. That’s love. Well, my kids would think so. 

Your child’s soccer team came last for every game? No worries. Everyone gets a trophy because it might make the losing team feel bad. 

What’s the impetus to strive hard for success if you see mediocrity or sub-par performance rewarded enthusiastically for “effort?” 

Not where I come from. You aren’t that special. I love you. But you will learn about failure and I won’t come to the rescue in order to keep you from feeling the natural pangs of regret for not putting forth more effort into a project or sport. Disappointment sucks. 

Little Emily got into Harvard, Yale and Stanford. God damn it. Your child did not, so you raise a big stink by calling the school to let them know how much of a mistake they made. Hell, write a check for a million dollars and see if admissions will reconsider their unfortunate oversight; they will if they know what's good for them.  

Maybe, just maybe, Emily worked her butt off while your daughter spent her high school years feeling too special, entitled to the best university years money can buy. Which is better - gaining admission by merit or knowing mom and dad will pull some strings? Who benefits the most? (Hint: It's ok to let them find out.)

Frankly, most kids are probably ill-suited for life away from the insulated walls of home. Unless you have raised your children to be accountable for their actions and don't come to their aid to prevent exposure to life’s problems, I’m guessing you are unleashing another spoiled adult into the world who will cry and stomp feet if things don’t go as planned. The world needs problem solvers, not whiners. We need people who understand the value of working hard for what they have instead of the idea that the world owes them something. The greatest gift you can give your child is the ability to make his or her own way in the world and learn from their mistakes. Let them feel discomfort. Let them lose and feel what that’s like. Don’t reward them or make a big deal out of something that is a given, like cleaning up after themselves. Take scrapbooking, for example. Some of these parents think every flipping thing their kids do is worthy of celebration. 

I don’t want my kids growing up thinking that drinking out of a grown up cup is worthy of attention and celebration. That’s not too important to me. 

Standing up for a bullied child or helping an elderly person with his groceries is far more impressive.  

What do I want my kids to know? There are no shortcuts. Work hard for what you want, expect nothing. No one owes you anything in life simply because you were born. Real life doesn’t work like that. The most honorable people I know had limits growing up. They had consequences for their actions. And punishment. Yet they know they were loved. They weren’t so special that the rules didn’t apply to them.   You don’t get trophies in life for being ordinary. Seek extraordinary. And work for it. 

And to parents, don't be afraid to let your kids fail once in a while. They will be all the better for it in the long run.

I certainly don't presume to have all the answers. Parenting is the hardest job on the planet, and often I am guilty of losing my cool. It's pretty weird to be an only child and then suddenly have four kids to bring up. Most days I can't believe what I signed up for. But then I remember. And I am so proud to be the one in charge of their well being. It's an honor and huge responsibility, and it goes by in the blink of an eye. 

I know everyone says that. 


Illustrations © Johanna Westerman 2016

Willy Wonka gif from giphy.com

Sort:  

What an example you must set for your children. Your lucky children, I should say -- to have mother, such as yourself, who is willing to let the eyes of society, look at her unkindly -- judgmental. But they have a mother that knows, damn well .., society won't pick them up when they fall. The skills needed to survive as a functioning, contributing adult, in todays world, are not God given -- they are taught by insightful, knowledgeable, caring and loving parents, such as you, @fairytalelife. For you have chosen to take the road less traveled.., and raise actual human beings,, that will be able to confront whatever comes there way… Cheers, to you!

This comment is just as awesome as the OPs well written piece. Thank you for your comment Macksby! :0)

@macksby, you are too kind! I do know they will be better off not expecting anything. That way they can work hard and take credit for their own successes. I wish I had been taught more about how to thrive in the real world when I was young. But of course, I may not be in the place I am now raising these particular children, and I can't imagine my life without them. Thank you, my friend.

"Credulous at best, your desire to believe in angels in the hearts of men.
Pull your head on out your hippy haze and give a listen.
Shouldn't have to say it all again.
The universe is hostile. so Impersonal. devour to survive.
So it is. So it's always been." - Tool : Vicarious
Those lyrics pretty much sum it up hehe

@shredlord, you said it. That's the truth. Some people are in for a rude awakening.

Excellent post. The damage is done already since the trend to make the child the centre of the world began in the late 80's I believe. I base this on the fact that millennials were raised to be extremely entitled and now that they are having children, those children are even worse raised. The media isn't helping, with every show out there promoting the fiction that a child's opinion matters to anyone except the child.

Kids are taught that they should be financially rewarded for 'chores', which is pretty much doing anything, and that they 'should' have all the crap that they see the kids on TV have. Each Christmas there is a ton of parents on the brink of poverty asking strangers to help them buy gifts so they can make that giant pile of presents that kids expect to see under the tree. When I was a kid I got one or two toys and if I mentioned to my parents that I'd need "my allowance" for helping around the house I'd probably get that "allowance" across my backside. Don't think I've even thought of it once.

Yes, @saiku. You said it best here:
"The media isn't helping, with every show out there promoting the fiction that a child's opinion matters to anyone except the child."
And your last paragraph is so spot on. I think of the parents who will forego Thanksgiving here in the U.S. just to stand in line to buy more crap that no one needs. Not only that - the total buying frenzy where moms and dads fight other moms and dads for the last of the popular toys on their kids' holiday wish-lists is embarrassing. Thanks for your reply.

Great post and your kids are so cute :D

Watch a child playing in the park. If he falls and skins a knee, before he reacts, he'll look to the parent to see how they react. That is how we learn to respond to life’s hiccups - 90% of the time, the parent is horrified and rushes in to sooth.

That's were it all starts ^

I love my daughter more than anybody else in this world, but I believe I'm doing her a favour when not rushing to buy her everything she wants. Currently she earns her own money through excellent grades in the school. Then not me, but she buys herself something she really wants.

Thanks, @richman. They were pretty cute! (I guess they still are - haha)
You are doing her a favor by saying no. When a child earns what they have, they appreciate it so much more. They learn how easy it is to overspend, and how to be responsible enough to ask themselves if it was really worth it? I find they also take much better care of their things.

Very wise words for such a young lady :D

It's really freaking refreshing to read this, as a mother of a 7 year old boy. It's often why I don't do parent meetups, because I often see how differently other parents act in regards to their child's "safety". I'm so far removed from their over-bearing, coddling, control-freak approach that I sometimes wonder if they wouldn't attempt to police my life if they knew how laid back my parenting approach is (see "OMG that's NEGLECT!"). I see that my child is an adult free will, trapped in a child's lack of knowledge about how to use that will. I want to guide him to be able to use that, and give him as much responsibility as he can handle at each stage.

Well, letting him learn responsibility means not handling him with kid gloves and trying to control every aspect of his outcomes and environment.

Thank you for discussing how important it is to MODEL healthy emotions and reactions for our kids. They look to US to see what is something to be scared of and what isn't. Perhaps it's noteworthy that my son is always noted by others as being the most peaceful, calm, cheerful, kind-hearted little boy they know. :)

Well, @dragonanarchist, you are doing a stupendous job raising your little guy from what I can tell. I didn't do the parent meet ups for the same reason. And don't get me started on the PTA moms and room mothers. I tried that and stood on the sidelines watching each one try to outdo herself. That's a nice concept - an adult free will trapped in a child's body. We need to guide them. And it may be inconvenient, but we also need to remember to stand our ground with following through on consequences. I have had to cancel many exciting plans to show I mean business. And I wasn't happy about it either. Thanks for the comment. I wondered if I would make some enemies! ;)
It is noteworthy because it proves you are a damned good mom.

Funny you should say 'I wondered if i would make some enemies" - where are they, the baby-proofing parents? Not one negative ohmygurdyouresuchabadmother!! comment? But how? This is still the Internet, right? Perhaps their overprotection is borne of doubt and whilst those parents may happily look disapprovingly while gathered in a playground gaggle; alone in front of a screen maybe those choices dont feel so certain.

Great piece anyway. The message that we can care and still allow lifes shit to happen and that doesn't mean a complete return to Spartan parenting can't be aired enough.

This is a great read! I find myself falling into the over-worrying, coddling trap often because that is the norm in my very very suburban neighborhood these days. But I remember the freedom that I had in my childhood fondly, and know that helicopter parenting is a major disservice! This is my daily plight :)

It's hard not to, @storyseeker. Neurotic parents surround us. Sometimes it seems like they are on the lookout for the parents who let their kids take off on the swings without you holding on to them every second. If you aren't extra vigilant, they'll hunt you down and crucify you! I love the glares from mothers I used to get when my kid came down from a slide and I wasn't there to catch him. I probably wasn't even watching. :) Do you ever read scarymommy?
This is why I'm glad room parents aren't a part of high school. I never did well with those types.
Thank you for the comment!

I agree. There is nothing that annoys me more than going to my grandsons' T-League games where they don't keep score and everyone gets a trophy. When these kids go out into the world and lose for the first time they are so unprepared that it totally devastates them.

We have always made sure our children knew that, win or lose, we love them. But when they messed up, we made sure they owned up to it. All three of them are adults now, two of them with children of their own, but I think they are better adults for having been raised in the real world.

No kidding, @irenepsmith. My kids played soccer one year and it was insane. I was never aware of how badly parents were capable of behaving.
I agree with you 100%. Yes, we love them no matter what. But when they do something wrong, they must learn how to make it right. These are social skills, and everyone will make mistakes. I also make sure I apologize to them if I lose my temper because I'm more tired than usual. Yes, parents make mistakes too. And they feel more respected when we can own up to our own emotions. It sounds like you raised some truly good human beings. Thank you for commenting.

@fairytalelife, you bring up so many good points. I really do feel like this is a dialogue that we have to start having as a society. There’s a fine line between helping to build a child’s self-confidence and molding them into a fragile adult who can’t take the hard knocks that this world will inevitably give them. I feel like they call it “self-confidence” for a reason, we must build this for ourselves through trial and error. If our confidence is built up in childhood by people telling us how good we are it will just be a façade that will come crumbling down the first time we eancounter challenges.

About a year ago I heard a college professor being interviewed on public radio (NPR). She had been teaching for upwards of thirty years and said she’s very concerned with this generation of young people because by the time they make it to college many of them haven’t heard the word “no” or received any criticism whatsoever in their whole lives. She said many of them don’t have the psychological tools to deal with failure and it crushes them.

I don’t know if this is a coincidence or not but this kind of child-rearing seemed to start as wages stopping growing at the same pace as the cost of living. Households started requiring two incomes to survive. I think a lot of parents feel guilty about not being able to spend as much time with their children so they try to make up for this by showering their kids with material things and being their “friend” instead of a true parent/disciplinarian in the traditional sense. You’re so correct in that most children don’t want this, they want someone to “show them the way”, they want someone to lead and be the alpha. This is a carryover from humanity’s tribal roots. If they don’t find this alpha in their own family they seek it outside of the family or sometimes even try to fill the role themselves.

You have to wonder if there’s not some larger purpose behind this. Raising a whole generation of fragile “sheeple”, only makes them more easily manipulated and easier to lead/deceive. I don’t really want to put a conspiracy theory spin on it but it’s something to ponder. Being a child of the 1970’s I think back to what I’m most thankful for from my childhood and among them are discipline, learning the value of a dollar, being taught critical-thinking, and sometimes having to learn lessons the hard way.

What an awesome and thought-provoking post my friend! This is a gem.

Thank you so much, @ericvancewalton. Your comment was so inspiring and beautifully written, expressing even more of my own feelings. Your last paragraph offers a whole new insidious spin on what is taking place in our world these days. My husband and I also believe it is an effort to break apart the family unit with discord and chaos to further the agenda of the "man behind the curtain," so to speak. By that I mean the 1%.

Thanks for sharing. I wish I learned about boundaries at an earlier age.

@veryrico, thank you. Do you mean from your parents?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10