You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Snowflake By Any Other Name

in #parenting8 years ago

I agree. There is nothing that annoys me more than going to my grandsons' T-League games where they don't keep score and everyone gets a trophy. When these kids go out into the world and lose for the first time they are so unprepared that it totally devastates them.

We have always made sure our children knew that, win or lose, we love them. But when they messed up, we made sure they owned up to it. All three of them are adults now, two of them with children of their own, but I think they are better adults for having been raised in the real world.

Sort:  

No kidding, @irenepsmith. My kids played soccer one year and it was insane. I was never aware of how badly parents were capable of behaving.
I agree with you 100%. Yes, we love them no matter what. But when they do something wrong, they must learn how to make it right. These are social skills, and everyone will make mistakes. I also make sure I apologize to them if I lose my temper because I'm more tired than usual. Yes, parents make mistakes too. And they feel more respected when we can own up to our own emotions. It sounds like you raised some truly good human beings. Thank you for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44